Team-BHP > Street Experiences
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 29th October 2011, 10:47   #1
Senior - BHPian

Living with bald tyres? Don't!

For the first three years of car ownership, i was trying to get my S322's replaced with some better tyres, and my dad used to veto it every time as per the if it ain't broke, dont fix it school of thought. 4 years, 40K Kms and plenty of bad wheel alignment, I'm running on a set of partially bald tyres which have a tendency to lock up on anything above medium braking, especially with heavy loads. For normal driving, the tyres are fine, but ...

Now unfortunately at this time I'm a broke student, for whom the price of a replacement set of tyres is well beyond my means, at least for another 6 months. Of course, the prudent option would be to drive sensibly and cautiously, but if you knew bhubaneswar roads, and being the hoon that i am, it's not going to happen. If i had a rear wheel drive car, this might have been a recipe for fun, but in a diesel indica, not so much.

So what can i do then? braking techniques, other workarounds to this problem, those of you with experience of making those tyres last, please pour them out
Old 29th October 2011, 11:12   #2
Senior - BHPian

re: Living with bald tyres? Don't!

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 29th October 2011 at 14:52.
rajeev k is offline   Received Infraction
Old 29th October 2011, 11:33   #3
Team-BHP Support

Greenhorn - I think the main thing you should avoid is locking up the tyres. No sudden braking, no spirited driving. No sharp steering movements at medium and higher speeds. I guess they will last but you can reduce the wear by doing these.