Old 2nd September 2006, 13:10   #1

Victim of Mumbai's Famous Roads

Was driving along the Thane Belapur Road in the Octy, from Airoli towards Vashi. Near Nocil I was overtaking a tanker when the tanker hit a bad patch of road , went into a pothole filled up by stones by the civic authorities - and 2 stones flew from under the trucks wheels and came towards my car.

CRASH ! BANG ! - one small one hit the windscreen - no damage.
The other one hit somewhere near left bumper - I drove a little ahead and then got down to check the damage - and VOILA - the glass of the left signal / turn light was shattered.

And I can do nothing except fume and fret - and I think shell out an shocking amount of money to get it replaced ! BTW any idea how much it costs ?
Old 2nd September 2006, 13:19   #2

Thats too bad NC.

But, don't fret, the indicators are cheap. About 200 bucks or thereabouts. Be thankful it wasn't the headlight plastic, as that would set you back a good Rs.9K !

Edit: Bad news NC. I confused the small side indicator for what you were refering to. The price of the turn signal is a typically Skoda ripoff - Rs.2,500!!

However, you can get it from the market outside for Rs.1,500/-. Or from chor bazaar for the original 200 I told you

Last edited by Rtech : 2nd September 2006 at 13:22.
Old 2nd September 2006, 13:27   #3

Sad to hear that NC but you can't do much about these things except curse the Municiapality b******s.

Happened to me a few months back was behind a dumper at about 50kmph & the rear pair of tyres caught a small brick in between them & flew towards my car, smashing the windshield & what could I do nothing but frown over the damage:-(
Old 2nd September 2006, 13:38   #4
Ram

Oof Gtm! Was it the Spanish Red Ikon 1.6sexy or the silver Octy?

Edit:Just saw Rtech's post. It was the Octy!

Long ago, I had a similar situation between Kanjur and Powai. There was no Powai flyover back then. A SEEPZ contract bus going up the Powai slope, dislodged a roadside boulder. The football-sized boulder rolled 12-feet downhill, picking up momentum and struck my brand new Padmini S1 amidships. She got a good dent in the rocker panel below the door. The car was parked and all I could do was stand and gape.

normally_crazy: too many unfortunate things have happened to you, recently.
A Satyanarayan Pooja would help. serious!

Ram

Last edited by Ram : 2nd September 2006 at 13:41.
Old 2nd September 2006, 14:11   #5

Originally Posted by ram
normally_crazy: too many unfortunate things have happened to you, recently.
Ram
I completely agree with Ram here, you seem to have run into a run of constant bad luck, a pooja would certainly help. Take care & be careful.
Old 2nd September 2006, 14:48   #6

Heck, I recently replaced a bent tierods because of the potholes that crop up on seemingly well paved roads. And I was doing only around 60!

As for NC, I think you need to visit the local bar to undo your bad luck. Alchohol is gods own tonic for shani cure
Old 2nd September 2006, 18:50   #7

Originally Posted by ram
May be you should change the color of your octie to midnight blue or neptune blue.

(Seriously) mods, shouldnt we have a horoscope/pooja thread?

@NC, dont feel bad about this loss..especially since your windscreen managed to get thru unscathed.

Last edited by sandeepmdas : 2nd September 2006 at 18:51.
Old 2nd September 2006, 20:16   #8

hi nc if ur coming for tomorrows meet we can do the pooja with alcohol
Old 2nd September 2006, 21:12   #9

Sorry to hear about that NC.
OT.. is RT now becoming the 'OFFICIAL CHOR BAZAAR SPECIALIST" of T-BHP for Skoda parts??
Old 2nd September 2006, 22:51   #10

very sad to hear even it happened with my innova juss few days while going to pune...
Old 3rd September 2006, 10:29   #11

Originally Posted by ram
normally_crazy: too many unfortunate things have happened to you, recently
Was thinking of the same thing when I was reading your post NC...
Old 5th September 2006, 16:24   #12

An auto comes and bangs into me yesterday evening when I wait for the signal light to turn green. A small dent and a bit of paint peel off is the damage i have to live with.

And the guy tells me - aap ne brake maara emergency - arre @@#%^ when the lights are red , we are supposed to stop. Did he expect me to accelerate ??
Old 5th September 2006, 16:27   #13

NC! You need to go to a pilgrimage soon. Man your Shani munni bunny whatever is seriously pissed off at you.
Old 5th September 2006, 16:28   #14

Originally Posted by normally_crazy

An auto comes and bangs into me yesterday evening when I wait for the signal light to turn green. A small dent and a bit of paint peel off is the damage i have to live with.

And the guy tells me - aap ne brake maara emergency - arre @@#%^ when the lights are red , we are supposed to stop. Did he expect me to accelerate ??
See NC you are actually going through a bad patch some relaxation, patience and some offers of gifts to your favourite deity should help you out. Take care dude & be careful.
Old 5th September 2006, 17:16   #15

Actually I am going through the same bad patch so i can empathise with you.

Every tom,dick and harry on the road it seems wants to bang into my car.One motorbike actually created a dent on my leftside rear door while i was waiting for the signal to turn green.He hit me sideways I just dont know how he got into such a postion.The guy just sped of immediately before i could do anything.
The other times i have been lucky since they keep banging the mirrors.

all this due to no fault of yours hey man i am kindof becoming nervous in doing what i love best, driving.