View Poll Results: What is your Home to Office + Office to Home commute time?
Less than 30 minutes 113 27.63%
30 minutes to 60 minutes 102 24.94%
1 hour to 2 hours 109 26.65%
2 hours to 3 hours 54 13.20%
3 hours to 4 hours 24 5.87%
More than 4 hours 7 1.71%
Voters: 409. You may not vote on this poll

Old 15th August 2024, 15:49   #31

Re: What is your daily office commute like?

Daily commute - 45 kms

Mumbai (Chembur) - Navi Mumbai

I am a bit lucky in my current company where usually everybody travels from Navi Mumbai to Mumbai, I travel against the traffic. However, I have to goto office 5 days a week.
Usually it takes around 35 mins in the morning (I leave between 9:30-10) and 40 mins in the evening (between 8-8:30). During monsoon it has gone up by 5 mins each side. I do get the opportunity to push my Storme during these drives and usually listen to tech podcasts since I am in the tech industry.
puneetakhouri is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 16:19   #32

Travel time strictly depends when I leave the home/office.

Home to office is 6 kms. Office to home is 7 kms.

If I leave by 8 AM to 8:10 AM, travel time is just 15 minutes. But after 8:45 AM, travel time can be an hour! So the days that I can't leave by 8ish, I leave around 11 AM since the traffic gets better by then.

Return is also early to avoid the traffic.

My office is in BKC and these days the entry and exits get pretty chocked in peak hours so I try to get in early and leave early as well. Most of the people in our office to do that as well.

Travel distance being so limited results in another issue for me, the manual says that if the car is driven for less than 8 KMs each side, then I have to take extra care of the car while servicing it. So now every 45 days or so, I either try to take a longer route to office or drive around the place or go for long drives so that the car run without breaks/stops for at least 20-30 kms at a stretch if not more.. If anyone has a suggestion here, would love to implement.
Old 15th August 2024, 16:35   #33

Originally Posted by dean5545 View Post
My office commute is 36km each way(Malad-Vasai).
Out of which 20km is on the dreaded NH-8. Where construction work is perpetual.
Haha, same here. Malad - Vasai.

Daily Commute - 75km total.

Travel time is roughly 75 minutes each way. I've changed my travel time since the regular hours can be hellish. I travel to Vasai post 12pm (usually around 1pm) and leave for home post 11pm. Unfortunately, that means I reach home at around 12:30am.

FWIW, we have a massive Whatsapp group of 1200+ people who travel on NH48 daily, so constant updates are posted in case of any mishaps on the road (trucks breaking down, road construction bottlenecks, etc). People travelling ahead of us even recommend which lanes to take (newly constructed or old tar road) to skip bottlenecks. However, on the days when the drive looks unbearable (2+ hours), I just travel via train.

It used to take 50 minutes each way (before the roads were ruined), and the road surface was mostly good. Now, with the white-topping done, even the completed bits are atrocious to drive on.

Last edited by pranavt : 15th August 2024 at 16:37.
pranavt is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 17:42   #34

An ideal example of a 4:1 Multiplexer is Kadugodi flyover from 8 to 11 am. People who stay between Kadugodi to Hoskote know the pain of crossing a single lane bridge which gets flooded with all kind of traffic. And wait...if an auto rickshaw fails on the bridge the entire town goes WFH.

So, I have dropped the idea of putting myself and the car in this daily painful ordeal. Past 6 months commuting office in my B (Bus) M (Metro) W (Walk). It might not be luxurious and powerful but atleast helps me to reach office in a fixed 60 mins. Also helps me to walk for good 4 KM stretch daily and most importantly it's cheap and ecofirendly.
livetodrive is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 19:10   #35

Daily commute 150 kms daily I’m a doctor who consults at multiple places.

JP Nagar to Nelamangala

Nelamangala to Uttarahalli

Uttarahalli to Jigani

Jigani to JP Nagar

Evening I goto my own clinic. Which is in JP Nagar and is 1km from my house.

Car ODO : 1Lac kms in 2.5 years 😁
drhoneycake is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 19:20   #36

On my WagonR, I sit on my rear for a minimum of 1.5 hours which can go up to even 3.5 hours for covering 41 kms from Hosur to Indiranagar.
On my Bullet, I make it in either 1 hour or 2 hours. Never earlier.
And yeah no points for guessing which of the two I prefer.
And yeah, the return journey is the same grind, different time of the day.

Last edited by that_sedate_guy : 15th August 2024 at 19:22. Reason: Added text
Old 15th August 2024, 19:36   #37

I live in Pune and work in Hinjawadi. Given that there is so much euphoria about Pune's beautiful road conditions, particularly in monsoon, it's perfectly disciplined and overall sparse traffic , I don't want to add more fuel to the discussion (than what I already burn). So I have made the best case of 40min stretching to anything up to 2 hours on an average.

Last edited by fhdowntheline : 15th August 2024 at 19:38.
fhdowntheline is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 19:52   #38

Pre-Covid -
Daily office commute - 1.5hrs for one side journey of 25kms, used to cut across all city roads, and the only way to clam down was to watch good TV serials

Post Covid -
Daily office commute - 1.25hrs for one side journey of 30kms, I mostly now avoid peak traffic hours in evening
Old 15th August 2024, 20:00   #39

City: Hyderabad
Commute start: Financial District
Commute end: Near Raidurgam police station
Distance traveled: ~ 8 kms one-way

Mornings (@11 am) - 30 minutes
Route: Financial District - Wipro Circle - Nanakrramguda - Khajaguda - Raidurg PS

Evenings (@ 8:30 pm) - 30 minutes
Route: Raidurg PS - Telecom Nagar - Indira Nagar - DLF signal - Wipro Circle - Financial District

When I bought my flat here in 2017, the commute was flat 15 minutes for 8 kms.

After COVID and since the RTO mandate for IT companies, the commute can take upwards of an hour if I don't plan my commute start time well.

Luckily I can choose to start/end my day and choose my RTO days.

So for now, I have settled in a 12-8 pattern on 3 days a week.

Also, I don't go to office on Wednesdays unless it cannot be avoided.
SupMeteorStorme is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 21:02   #40

My one way commute is around 18 kms with an average travel time of 35 mins (parking to parking) which I shuffle between car and motorcycle. Being a North Bangalore signal free commute (long may that last!) there isn't a significant difference between 2 and 4 wheels with marginal savings in the former compensated by donning and removing the riding gear.

Last edited by GeeTee TSI : 15th August 2024 at 21:11.
Old 15th August 2024, 21:09   #41

Fortunately, due to a hybrid setup, I have to visit my office once or twice a week. Which is an unimaginable boon, because the commute is Dombivli to Dadar (46 x 2 = 92 km). And I know the obvious solution - "take the local train". But that's not an option because no way am I going to be presentable for the first client meeting, if I were to take the local train. So road trip it is, via one of three routes -> Mankoli-Thane-EEH, Airoli-EEH, or Vashi-Sion bridge. Both the routes are groaning under massive traffic blocks, compounded further by metro rail works, crater-like potholes, and recently, closure of the Sion flyover. All in all, it adds up to 1.5-2 hours either way. Colossal waste of time, fuel, and energy (not to mention patience!

Originally Posted by fhdowntheline View Post
I live in Pune and work in Hinjawadi. Given that there is so much euphoria about Pune's beautiful road conditions, particularly in monsoon, it's perfectly disciplined and overall sparse traffic ,
The sarcasm is strong with this one!
RoverX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 15th August 2024, 22:12   #42

My daily commute is minimum 3 hours a day (Sarjapur to Mahadevapura, approx 26 kms each side using ORR+Sarjapur rd in Blr).
Office has hybrid setup and I generally visit office 3 days a week, sometimes 2 days.

How do I cope up -
Time management:
Start from home really early: latest by 7:30 AM, and start from the office latest by 3:30 PM
5:00 PM to 8:30 PM is for workout, kids, family etc which helps balance out

Traffic trends:
Manageable on Mondays and Fridays so these are constant days to visit the ofc for me
Tuesdays and Wednesdays are terrible so wfh

Work management:
Keep the office days for meetings : 1:1s, conferences, brainstorming, interviews etc

What do I do during the commute:
Strictly no phone calls/conf calls during long commutes, instead I listen to music
Spotting some good (or latest) cars, nice mods on the way is very amusing
Absolutely no need to race on signals - I maintain a sustainable speed across the journey and try to keep calm with notorious drivers/long jams

My vehicles for the commute:
I prefer driving the Automatic Accord over the Manual Xuv500
Some fridays it is my Versys 1000, but usually I avoid the motorcycle rides to office
Old 15th August 2024, 22:51   #43

Daily Commute 5 hr 20 min. 3 days/week.

Home to station: 6 miles(20 mins due to traffic)
Train ride: 1 hr 40 min
Station to office: 40 min
2 hr 40 min 1 way.

I drove for 1 year. It's painful. It takes minimum 2 hrs 20 min while commuting to and from office. Its only 65 miles, normal time is 1 hr 15 mins. Traffic is horrible.
Old 15th August 2024, 22:55   #44

Wow! excellent topic to take out the frustration

So, I am traveling from Ravet in Pune to the Chakan industrial area. My daily office commute is around 50 km to and fro. I am driving through the cantonment area near Dehu where you will find the speed breaker every 100-200m which does not allow you to drive more than 40kmpl. Cross the cantonment area and the unnecessary and never-ending road construction await you.

It will take me around 50 minutes in the morning and in the evening at least 1 hour10 min.

Nowadays, I am really getting frustrated every single day due to traffic conditions which is causing not because number of vehicles on the road but due to bad (worst) road conditions.

It is an everyday habit now to check the traffic on the G map before leaving the office to decide which road to take.
satish.gawai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th August 2024, 00:55   #45

Commute -3 km in hyderabad.
To- 3 mins
Fro- 5-10 mins need to cross a signal..
Option of <5 mins should have been included

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com