Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 5th January 2007, 12:04   #1

Kawasaki ZZR 400

Hello Friends,

Wish you a happy new year.

I am Gajakesari, i am a new member to this forum.

I need few clarifications.

I am interested in a superbike. I spoke to one of the dealer. He quotes

2.4 lac (nego) for Kawasaki ZZR 400 and 2.25 lac (nego) for Honda 1976 Classic bike.

He also does maintenace work of the superbikes. I am planning to buy Kawasaki ZZR 400. Is it worth paying (after negotiation). Please can you guyz throw some light on it. Or Do you guys have any nice bikes in that range.

cheers:
Gajakesari
Old 5th January 2007, 12:29   #2

whats that classic?cb750?
Old 5th January 2007, 12:32   #3

What model is the Kawasaki??

Godfather
Old 5th January 2007, 13:41   #4

Originally Posted by Godfather View Post
What model is the Kawasaki??

Godfather
didnt you see ??
its Kawasaki ZZR 400
Old 5th January 2007, 13:58   #5

Originally Posted by kkr2k2 View Post
didnt you see ??
its Kawasaki ZZR 400
I think he meant Year of Make.!!!!
Old 5th January 2007, 14:09   #6

didnt you see ??
its Kawasaki ZZR 400
Is the 2006 model, the one you are considering???

Also, if possible, look for any good deals on any of the 600s...

(does anybody feel that the front looks are like the good old CBZ??? )
Old 5th January 2007, 15:46   #7

Hi again,

I went and had a look at the bikes. Kawasaki ZZR 400 is 1997 model and maroon color. Has done 50,000 kms (May be not true). Bike looks neat.
There are few scratches. Engine sound is good. I dont have much knowledge on superbikes (infact Zero knowledge). Please can you guyz tell me what is better bet approx. Papers are clear and need not worry much about authenticity. He is from a known source.

Regarding Honda bike it is restored 750 cc bike, 1976 year make. It is not a sporty bike. It looks Honda cbr 400 1984...Any way i am not interested in that bike. Please throw some light on Kawasaki ZZR 400.
Old 5th January 2007, 16:32   #8

Is the 2006 model, the one you are considering???

Also, if possible, look for any good deals on any of the 600s...

Yes Sir I Feel
Old 5th January 2007, 17:17   #9

Originally Posted by gajakesari View Post
Hi again,
I went and had a look at the bikes. Kawasaki ZZR 400 is 1997 model and maroon color. Has done 50,000 kms (May be not true). Bike looks neat.
There are few scratches. Engine sound is good.
I am not an expert on bikes but I think for a high-mileage, decade old bike 2.4L is too much money.
Old 5th January 2007, 18:10   #10

hi,
I owned a Kawasaki ZXE 600 it was awesome bike the bike redlined at 16000 or 18000 RPM. I had 14000 miles on it (22000 odd kms) i sold it for $3800 last year it was a 1998 model. It looks exactly the same as the on you have pictured. Mail me if at mailkumar@yahoo.com if you need pics.
I agree that the price you got quoted is a little bit expensive.
Kumar
Old 5th January 2007, 18:55   #11

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
I am not an expert on bikes but I think for a high-mileage, decade old bike 2.4L is too much money.
.. the cost of brand new Ninja 500 R is $5,049 and 250 R is $2,999 in USA http://www.kawasaki.com/index2.asp .

Afer paying 120% import duty they come to 5 lakhs and 3 lakhs repectively.
In my opinion you better import a used Ninja 500R which would be relatively newer that zzr400. Super Bikes have higher depreciation in US, but if you are willing to through the 'time consuming' import process. I am sure you can get help from the fellow bhpians.
Old 5th January 2007, 21:08   #12

no, but it is often mistaken for a hero honda splendor.

rtech has a zzr400 i think and so does nitroxx mabey you can get in touch with them an get some info about that model in general.
heelntoe is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th January 2007, 23:54   #13

Gajakesari: zzr 400 at 2.4 L seems good enough, but see whatever price you could get him down to.
Look out for air dams below the headlight, these came in only in 1995, if the air dams (well carved gaps in the fairing) are missing, then you're looking at a 94 model if not older. Also the rear tal light and indicators are one integrated unit since 94 i think.
Use BikePics - Kawasaki ZZR 400 Home Page on BikePics.Com for more reference for verifying the paint scheme, graphics, etc and you could always pm rtech and nitroxx since they both own later models of the zzr 400.

Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
for a well maintained zzr 400, genuine 97 bike et all, 2.4 L is surely worth it!!

.. the cost of brand new Ninja 500 R is $5,049 and 250 R is $2,999 in USA http://www.kawasaki.com/index2.asp .

Afer paying 120% import duty they come to 5 lakhs and 3 lakhs repectively.
In my opinion you better import a used Ninja 500R which would be relatively newer that zzr400. Super Bikes have higher depreciation in US, but if you are willing to through the 'time consuming' import process. I am sure you can get help from the fellow bhpians.
a lot simpler said than done.

manson.
Old 6th January 2007, 00:16   #14

I feel since this is the first bike you've seen...DONT GO FOR IT...your new to bikes iam guessing....keep looking around...gather more knowledge..dont just go in for the first bike you see...the guy says its in good condition only because he MIGHT want to get rid of it...but actually it may have several problems...check out a few more bikes...by the way is it a 97' model or a 97 import..??
Old 6th January 2007, 07:40   #15

Thanks for the help. I will look for more bikes(keep my options open) and post here as and when i see. Can you guyz name any bikes in this range. So that i can look for it.

I am a novice in superbikes.

Thanx