Team-BHP > Motorbikes > Superbikes & Imports

Old 31st July 2021, 17:15   #46

Re: 2021 Honda CB650R and CBR650R launched at 8.67 & 8.88 lakhs

Originally Posted by Venkatesh View Post
Honda CBR650R, CB650R deliveries begin in India. Both middleweight bikes were launched in March 2021.
UPDATE : I went today to see a friend picking up the Africa Twin from Honda Big Wings in Lavelle Road, Bangalore and to check out the CBR 650R as a prospective buy.

CBR 650R, 2021, BS6 edition is sold out for this year as informed by the showroom team. End of story for this year. And delivery started just few weeks back. That's as fast as the bike itself. CB 650R units were available.
Old 23rd September 2021, 08:51   #47

I popped into the local Big Wing Honda dealership. The CBR650R makes a really solid first impression. Compared to the simple lines of the much loved CBR650F, it now looks purposeful and like a litre class bike. To me, this is the best looking middleweight bike in India.

2021 Honda CB650R and CBR650R launched at 8.67 & 8.88 lakhs-20210922_163100.jpg

The Cochin dealership has one CBR650R left. After that, new stocks will come in only in 2022. The on road price with extended warranty and RSA is Rs 11.2 L.
neil.jericho is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th July 2022, 20:43   #48

CB650R Accessories and Customization!

Hi.. I would like to know what accessories are available for the CB650R in India.

Im paranoid about the spray from the front mudguard over the radiator, so a radiator guard is the first accessory im looking for. The ones listed online are costing about 10k. Any alternatives? Can the radiator guard of the CB300R be fitted to the CB650R? Any custom fabrication ideas?

Then comes with windscreen to control wind blasts at about ~120-130kmph. I like the puig windscreen listed online which is also 10K. Im ok with it but i would like to know if there is someone who had tried other options? I wanna know if the xpulse's windshields can be custom fitted to CB if a clamp was fabricated?

Im also looking to extend the rear mudguard as well.

Please advise of the brand, cost and source for the products.

TBhpians who own CB650R kindly post pictures with your mods be it sliders, windshields, radiator guards, bar risers, etc..
Old 27th August 2022, 17:16   #49

Honda has increased the price of the CB650R by Rs.46735

Now i'm thinking of cancelling my booking.
Old 27th August 2022, 17:43   #50

CB is now priced directly against the Street Triple R and quite above Z900.

Trident 660, 660cc, 81hp - 7.45 lakhs

Z900, 948cc, 123hp - 8.93 lakhs
STriple R, 765cc, 116hp - 9.15 lakhs

CB 650R, 649cc, 85hp - 9.15 lakhs

For a non-Honda guy - it looks like Honda is doing to bikes what Toyota has been doing to the car segment!

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 27th August 2022 at 17:49.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2022, 10:18   #51

I am so stuck in deciding between the Street Triple R and CBR650R for over half a year now. I've been riding my Duke 390 for a while now. I just love the bike and plan to keep it for good. After going through tons of reviews and self assessment I am leaning towards the Street Triple R. Not a fan of the mantis eyes, it would have absolutely sealed my case if the CBR650R didn't look so awesome. Yet I know I'll always be on top of the bike and not in front of it.

However, considering my riding style which is primarily spirited suburban short half day rides, the STR checks all my boxes except that I still don't have a clear idea on how the triple cyliner stock exhaust note compares to the Honda inline-4, and which of the two have a more comfortable posture overall. Anyone who has either swears by their respective bikes so some unbiased feedback would greatly be appreciated.
Old 3rd September 2022, 12:24   #52

Originally Posted by Slash View Post
However, considering my riding style which is primarily spirited suburban short half day rides, the STR checks all my boxes except that I still don't have a clear idea on how the triple cyliner stock exhaust note compares to the Honda inline-4, and which of the two have a more comfortable posture overall. Anyone who has either swears by their respective bikes so some unbiased feedback would greatly be appreciated.
I have the 2022 Street Triple RS, haven’t seen the 650R in the flesh.

Riding position shouldn’t be too different because the Honda doesn’t seem to be a too committed riding position either. However, this can be easily fixed by risers.

Sound is subjective, I absolutely love my triple sound track. You need to listen to both to judge which you prefer.

Power/performance wise the Honda just cannot match the power or responsiveness of the Street Triple. Fairing, naked, different again, you should ride both properly before putting your money down. After riding both, buy whichever bike makes your heart sing rather than what they sound like

Last edited by Cyborg : 3rd September 2022 at 12:26.
Cyborg is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd September 2022, 13:42   #53

Originally Posted by Cyborg View Post
I have the 2022 Street Triple RS, haven’t seen the 650R in the flesh.

Riding position shouldn’t be too different because the Honda doesn’t seem to be a too committed riding position either. However, this can be easily fixed by risers.

Sound is subjective, I absolutely love my triple sound track. You need to listen to both to judge which you prefer.

Power/performance wise the Honda just cannot match the power or responsiveness of the Street Triple. Fairing, naked, different again, you should ride both properly before putting your money down. After riding both, buy whichever bike makes your heart sing rather than what they sound like

Thanks Cyborg, I have the test ride for the speed triple lined up. I believe the Honda guys don't give the R650R for test rides here in Bangalore. Being a solo rider, I guess I'll have to find ways to explore groups with both the bikes to get a better perspective. I know that a test ride of the street triple will seal it for me somewhere in my heart. I just want to eliminate any recurring dreams of the Cbr650r so as to say
Slash is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th September 2022, 14:04   #54

Anyone who has either swears by their respective bikes so some unbiased feedback would greatly be appreciated.
Have neither.

Street Triple R’s rider triangle is a bit more relaxed than CBR.

However, windblast would be more (personally for me - unbearable) on STriple R.

One needs to be really passionate about a naked bike to make peace with wind-blast. It’s a subjective aspect - choose what works.
GoBlue is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2022, 18:54   #55

I am so stuck in deciding between the Street Triple R and CBR650R for over half a year now.
Rode both the bikes and considering your style, it's the Street Triple R for you.

+ Street Bike, Familiar experience from a duke
+ Exhaust Note is quite good
+ Quite comfortable to ride
- Mantis Headlight
- Service as heard from owners
- Wind blast in high speed runs
abhisheksircar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2022, 19:21   #56

Originally Posted by abhisheksircar View Post
Rode both the bikes and considering your style, it's the Street Triple R for you.

+ Street Bike, Familiar experience from a duke
+ Exhaust Note is quite good
+ Quite comfortable to ride
- Mantis Headlight
- Service as heard from owners
- Wind blast in high speed runs
Thanks Abhishek, I was hoping to get a reply from you. Have'nt been able to find a better review of the cbr650r anywhere other than from you. Really appreciate your posts, they are awesome and it helped me a lot.

I still haven't seen the R650R in person. Last I went in Feb to Lavelle Road there were no units in display and everything was sold out in any case. Saw the 650R though, but wasn't considering that. Build quality was top notch.

Dreading keerthi's service, I'm still heading towards the STR. I'm okay with the wind blasts, sometimes I enjoy it and other times keeps me sane and mellows me down
Slash is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2022, 20:47   #57

Dreading keerthi's service, I'm still heading towards the STR. I'm okay with the wind blasts, sometimes I enjoy it and other times keeps me sane and mellows me down
Street Triple is one complete package with 2 exceptions.
1. Wind blast - Considering you already have a duke, I assume you are covered here.
2. No pillion comfort - Just ignore Street triple and sign a cheque for Honda if this is important for you.

Triumph service experience differs(just as for most other OEM’s) as per region and franchise owner. So, no comments on this aspect.

Triumph is more technologically advanced than the current gen CBR650R and it definitely provides a richer ride experience especially if both come at same price.

However, as most people says, Honda’s can’t be compared when it comes to reliability aspect.

A cool conundrum to be in
abhi_tjet is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 7th September 2022, 07:27   #58

Thanks Abhi, your posts on the street triple are impressive too. Much appreciated for those. I'm pretty much heading towards the street triple. I'm ok with the wind blast and never ride pillion. Initially I started out planning for Trident 660 as it has a better rider's triangle and adequately loaded with tech just like the D390. But after sitting on the STR I actually found it more comfortable than the Trident. After so many reviews I am beginning to believe that the Street Triple really has character to make a deep man machine connection.
Slash is offline   (3) Thanks