Old 13th February 2006, 11:49   #1

Which new diesel SUV should I recommend?? Upto 20 Lakh

My uncle's TATA SAFARI which he bought brand new in 2001 has clocked 4,23,000 Km and he is happy with it.But of late he is facing problems day by day and hence he plans for a new diesel SUV.
My uncle is an Architect and therefore lot of visiting locations, sites, driving over potholes, broken tarmac etc etc.
He asks my help to decide on one...and keeps on checking with his friends about the HYUNDAI TUCSON !! How is this car?? or is TERRACAN better?? These are the only 2 diesel SUV's we could think of, or is something better coming?The outlander from Mitsubishi I am told has a petrol heart! The DICOR was considered but its now ruled out, 'cause its just another SAFARI with a bigger heart .
His Budget is 17 Lakhs which can be stretched to 20 MAX.
Waiting for your valuable sugestions...
Old 13th February 2006, 13:01   #2

4,23,000 kms!!!! wow. The detailed report of this vehicle, problems faced, tyre changes, service quality etc etc should be the definitive word for the Safari Do us the favour, please !
Old 13th February 2006, 13:51   #3

Both Terracan n Tucson are pretty good...
Terracan - monster looks with loads of space.....
Tucson - younger sibling with eye catching looks....
What can i say abt the CRDi engines..!!! Simply love them....they have so much raw T which give u so much G- force which can cause u neck pains too..
Old 13th February 2006, 13:54   #4

Tucson fits the bill perfectly.
Terracan is bigger but then its kinda overpriced too.
Old 13th February 2006, 15:18   #5

Tucson is nice, but the Terracan would be better since he has a fairly large budget. He could also consider the Nissan X-trail but its not drastically different from the Tucson and costs about 9 lakhs more.

I believe HM is pricing a Pajero in the 18 lakhs+ bracket - 2.8 litre Turbodiesel and all that. You should take a look at that one too.

BTW 423k on a Safari is SERIOUS mileage - can we have a report on that experience, please? Second hand chalega - your uncle can narrate and you can put it down for us....

Last edited by Steeroid : 13th February 2006 at 15:20.
Old 13th February 2006, 15:19   #6

Tucson, Terracan and Endeavour come to mind.
But I would suggest the Tucson, with the CRDi engine is prolly the best of the lot....also check out the review on it as there is a member who bought a Tucson sometime ago.
Old 14th February 2006, 10:48   #7

The Safari was big, comfortable and could be taken anywhere, ok performance was very poor. Now after having travelled in the safari for so long, the TUCSON looks small, feels small and light.but I agree performance is amazing.This is why I am more keen toward the TERRACAN..which itself is big.
But a friend who bought the TERRACAN sold it within 4 months of use, he says, it is not comfortable and you get serious BACKPAIN duriing your long drives..is this true?? anyone heard something like this??
I am keen toward the ENDEAVOUR also but, the driving experience + rear seat space worries me.
The 2.8 L pajero,any guesses how much is it ON ROAD??
Old 14th February 2006, 11:12   #8

Originally Posted by CaliforniaKnight
The 2.8 L pajero,any guesses how much is it ON ROAD??
Wait for the Mitsubishi Montero which is rumored to be in the 18-20 range, has more equipment and should be a whole lot better than the 2.8 Pajero; supposed to launch in the next couple of months
Old 14th February 2006, 11:40   #9

I agree with Suman. Wait for the Mitsu.
Old 14th February 2006, 12:20   #10

word from Hyundai dealers is that the Terracan has been withdrawn from the market by Hyundai.

if ur uncle drives over broken roads an upaved areas, avoid the tuscon. go for the Endeavour- it is custom built for such a purpose.

the 2.8 PAJ is euro II only so if ur uncle is a metro deweller, then he cant get it registered there.
Old 15th February 2006, 01:59   #11

terracan is not really a success in India. Maintainence would be on the higher side and resale will be close to tucson's.

Ford endeavour is also a good product if it is still available for sale.

Mitsubishi's new SUV is good but the looks are not as macho as Tucson or endeavour.
Old 15th February 2006, 04:31   #12

Originally Posted by suman
Wait for the Mitsubishi Montero which is rumored to be in the 18-20 range, has more equipment and should be a whole lot better than the 2.8 Pajero; supposed to launch in the next couple of months
Montero 3.2 diesel for 18 lakhs. No way! Its lined up with the Prado which is 32 lakhs. Montero will be in the 28-30 range.
Old 15th February 2006, 13:34   #13

Guyz the new MONTERo is making its way 2 our shores with subtle changes and will B pegged squarely at the Prado.I guess there R no changes under the hood.The only major changes R the Bold new corporate GRILL and of course the price tag...which is definitely arnd 28-32lacs...oh 4got 1 thing the new one hav delicious 17inch alloys and a better Spare wheel cover.

Last edited by Veelubai : 15th February 2006 at 13:35.
Old 15th February 2006, 13:49   #14

I did hear that HM is planning an 'SUV' in the 18 lakh range. Would that be the Outlander then? And would it come with a diesel? I guess it could come with the 2.8 litre turbodiesel that the older generation Pajero was sold here - that engine was 'localised' by HM so it should help keep costs down.
Old 15th February 2006, 13:50   #15

Originally Posted by Mpower
Montero 3.2 diesel for 18 lakhs. No way! Its lined up with the Prado which is 32 lakhs. Montero will be in the 28-30 range.
My apologies, I was mixing it up with the Outlander (rumored to be in the 15-18 category); although primarily a Petrol beast, they did talk about a Diesel option as well.

You are correct Montero would be in the 28-30 range! But I would still recommend highly over the Pajero 2.8