Classic 25 18.38%
Signature 28 20.59%
Signature+ 41 30.15%
Prestige 42 30.88%
Voters: 136. You may not vote on this poll

Old 4th March 2025, 14:04   #1

Skoda Kylaq | Would you buy the base, mid or top variants?

Skoda Kylaq | Would you buy the base, mid or top variants?-2025_skoda_kylaq_exterior_01.jpg

Skoda entered the whirlpool segment of sub-compact SUVs in India with the Kylaq. It is available in a single turbo-petrol engine with manual and automatic transmission options. It is the most affordable entry into the brand. Here's a link to our full official review of the car - (Review Link).

Skoda Kylaq | Would you buy the base, mid or top variants?-screenshot-20250304-135415.png

There are a total of 4 variants on offer, of which only the base-spec trim is offered as a manual-only powertrain. Here's a deep dive into all the variants to help you identify the most valuable trim for your preferences.

Variants Breakdown

Classic

Top Features

- 16-inch Steel Wheels with Covers
- LED Headlights
- LED Taillights
- Roof Rails
- Roof-mounted Spoiler
- Fabric Seat Upholstery
- Height Adjustable Headrests
- Tilt & Telescopic Steering Wheel
- Power Windows
- 3.5-inch MID
- 2 Tweeters
- 6 Airbags
- ABS with EBD
- Electronic Stability Control (ESC)
- Traction Control System (TCS)
- Electronic Diffrential Lock
- 3-Point Seatbelts
- ISOFIX

Signature

Top Features Over Classic

- 16-inch Alloy Wheels
- Leatherette Steering Wheel
- Cruise Control
- Dual Type-C Charging Ports
- Rear AC Vents
- Cooled Glovebox
- 7-inch Infotainment
- Wired Android Auto & Apple Car Play
- 4 Speakers
- Steering Mounted Audio Controls
- TPMS
- Read Defogger

Signature+

Top Features Over Signature

- Shark-fin Antenna
- 60:40 Rear Seat Split
- Rear Center Armrest
- 8-inch Instrument Console
- 10.1-inch Infotainment
- Wireless Android Auto & Apple Car Play
- Climate Controls
- Connected Car Technology
- Hill Hold
- Rear-view Camera

Prestige

Top Features Signature+

- LED Projector Headlights
- 17-inch Alloy Wheels
- Leatherette Seats & Upholstery
- Ambient Lights
- Single-Pane Sunroof
- Powered Seats with Ventilation
- Auto-dimming IRVM
- Wireless Phone Charger

Conclusion

Although not completely loaded, the base variant of the Skoda Kylaq does come with a decent set of features. However, it is missing an infotainment, which is a bit of a let-down.

For Rs 1.7 Lakh more, the Signature trim offers a couple of more features above the base variant. Surprisingly, this variant does not offer a rear-view camera despite having decent infotainment. Rear AC vents, wired phone mirroring, and a cooled glove box are welcome features on this variant.

The Signature+ trim costs Rs 1.81 lakh more than the previous variant and offers more comfort and convenience features than the Signature. The top-spec variant costs almost Rs 2 lakh more than the previous trim. However, it offers all the bells and whistles, including ventilated seats, a sunroof, leatherette upholstery, and more.

We feel the mid-spec Signature offers the best value for money packed with all essential features. However, if you are considering making the jump, to get the most value, the Signature + is also a good option at Rs. 1.81 lakh more.

Do let us know what you think is the most value-for-money variant and also if you had to buy the Skoda Kylaq, which variant would you pick?

Last edited by Omkar : 4th March 2025 at 14:06.
Ripcord09 is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th March 2025, 14:06   #2

Re: Skoda Kylaq | Would you buy the base, mid or top variants?

Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing!
Omkar is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 4th March 2025, 17:06   #3
AYP

I always recommend going for either the top-spec or the variant which feels the most 'complete'. More often than not, the most complete variant in a car's lineup is also the most VFM variant. But, this is not always the case. Infact such cases are on the rise and many cars which have been launched in the last few years have a variant which feels complete but does not feel the most VFM in the lineup.

E.g. XUV 7OO and Scorpio N- While the XUV AX5, AX5 select and the Scorpio Z6 and the Z8 select may appear VFM, upon looking closely, it is not difficult to notice some basic features missing. Taking the example of the AX5, at least at launch, it was missing features like push buttons start, cruise control, leather wrap on steering, automatic climate control etc. It also had those cheap looking fabric seats(subjective) and black coloured inside door handles. Heck, it did not even have power folding mirrors. While Mahindra has added some of these features now, it is still an incomplete variant. Instead, Mahindra decided to focus on giving a panoramic sunroof. It is only the XUV AX7 and the Scorpio N Z8 which feel like the complete variants but the VFM quotient gets reduced. In contrast to the XUV 7OO AX5, the Safari Pure+ or the Pure+ S comes across as a complete variant.

I think it is the sunroof craze which has caused the manufacturers to resort to this. Instead of giving useful features like the ones listed above, manufacturers are adding variants with a sunroof as an add-on.

There's a similar case with the Kylaq as well. The top end feels too expensive for what it offers but it is the only variant which feels 'complete'. The Signature+ still misses out on a basic feature such as rear wipers. The base Classic is priced well but is too basic. A steering swap along with a Pioneer stereo may work though. The Signature is better equipped but is still missing features like rear wiper, power adjustable ORVMs etc. Also, that 7 inch touchscreen looks very odd/low res and has no support for rear camera.

Ideally speaking, I'd go for the Prestige but from a VFM perspective, I'd say that Signature is the one to go for.
AYP is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 4th March 2025, 17:36   #4

Originally Posted by AYP View Post
I think it is the sunroof craze which has caused the manufacturers to resort to this. Instead of giving useful features like the ones listed above, manufacturers are adding variants with a sunroof as an add-on.

The Signature+ still misses out on a basic feature such as rear wipers. The base Classic is priced well but is too basic
My personal choice in a hatchback or SUV always used to be the lowest variant which has a rear wiper & washer - which always used to be adequately specced. However of late, models like the Kylaq have given up on such a useful feature like the rear wiper!!

Bling >> function!
Geo_Ipe is online now   (6) Thanks
Old 4th March 2025, 17:48   #5

I voted for the Prestige variant, because I bought one

Is the premium over Signature+, fair ? Definitely not. It should be at least 25,000 less, in my opinion.

Can the Prestige features be retrofitted easily on lower variants? Some yes, But not all.

Is the premium significant if you would keep the car for say 5 years +? Compared to the convenience they bring, no.

Thats why I went for the Prestige variant.
Raghav_K is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 09:36   #6

For Kylaq I feel that either you buy the Signature and upgrade the infotainment and rear camera (official accessories), or you upgrade to Prestige and get everything.

The Signature+ is unnecessarily expensive and doesn’t even add basics like rear washer + wiper or ventilated seats or projector headlamps.

Skoda should at least add the rear wiper and projector lamps to Signature+. It should only lack luxuries like powered seats or sunroof.
darkgamer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 09:43   #7

Usually the best variant is always the Top Spec one.

Its always a combination of most of the things one wants and needs plus a few things one simply doesnt need or want.

But thats the thing- the manufacturer will always work on the lowest common denominator - for the greatest good of the greatest number (and for their own profits).
Old 5th March 2025, 10:37   #8

As per me, considering the overall car as a package and its intended purpose, the base classic is the most vfm for someone looking for a fun to drive, powerful and solid car around 10L(Compared to the most of other hatchbacks and sub 4 mt in the price bracket). Just needs an infotainment installation to make it a nice car. The glaring omissions would be rear defogger and wash-wipers. Steering mounted control might feel like another miss. Alloy upgrade down the line would make it a nice little car.

All the other variants do not seem VFM at all, be it as a standalone car or comparing with whats available in the price bracket of the higher trims. They make sense only if you are dead set on having a kylaq and are ok with its size.

Note to Skoda: consider making defogger, washer and wiper as standard. There is also a need to drastically improve the rear camera and infotainment unit of the signature variant.
kedar3223 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 11:05   #9

Voted for the Signature, with an added aftermarket Skoda DHC infotainment plus rear view camera for about 27k. This would still be nearly 2L less than the Signature+ on the road, and has most of what you need. Also the stock RVC is pretty poorly executed on the higher variants, so you're not really missing out on much. With the money saved, I'd also get much better speakers (without voiding warranty)

If you want all the feel-good nice-to-haves, I'd recommend the 3XO AX7 instead since those features are better executed there. (Panoramic sunroof instead of a small hole in the roof, Harman Kardon sound system with a subwoofer etc)

Last edited by Sudarshan42 : 5th March 2025 at 11:09.
Sudarshan42 is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 11:42   #10

Selection of variant depends on the usage of the car. If this is my only car in the garage, which I will use for city and highway both, I will go with Signature+ with most required bells and whistles. So I voted for Signature+.

But, if I have another better equipped car in the garage and this car will be used just for daily core and as a beater, I will go with Signature.

Prestige variant is Complete car, but for this price I will not buy. Will add some more bucks and go for bigger car like KUSHAQ /SELTOS mid model.
Old 5th March 2025, 13:20   #11

I recently got the Slavia Prestige variant. I was going to get the Sportline variant, but sales salesperson offered me the Prestige variant with only 1.0 lacs more (on-road), and my wife insisted.
Most of the features I got in Prestige above Sportline are not that much useful for me.
Wireless chargers are non-functional. It rarely charges the phone and does more harm than good by heating the phone.
Digital IC is also one useless feature, that doesn’t provide much except graphics above the traditional IC.
In the case of Kylaq, considering the features Prestige variant offers, 2.0 lacs ex-showroom for Prestige is too much above the signature+ variant.
itsbaman is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 15:19   #12

Voted for Classic as I feel it is the most VFM variant, even though it doesn't have a music system.

That said, I like the Signature AT variant. Only if it had Hill hold, rear view camera and 60:40 split rear seats.

Or the Signature+ AT would be great if it had manual controls for the AC and normal instrument cluster instead of the half baked for sake digital one. But the prices become less and less sensible. That said, weird for Skoda to offer the rear wiper only in the topmost variant.

If manual, then Classic in Candy white.

If need automatic, then Signature AT and pay extra for the Deep black or Lava blue.
DicKy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 15:23   #13

My answer would be Prestige- rather begrudgingly.
IMO, a hatch/SUV body should have a rear wiper/washer at the very least. It's an essential safety which is extremely overlooked. A solace would have been having serviceable cameras instead, but even that's out of the question for the Kylaq.

It's quite overpriced for the features additions over the Signature+, though.
Old 5th March 2025, 15:48   #14

I feel that Signature AT presents best VFM among the lot or Skoda has discounted the Classic and the Signature which makes the Plus and Prestige look expensive

If factory fit and feel or say you feel Sunroof is a necessity, then VFM score, or choice of variant will be different for you

• We Pay (Bangalore) 2 Lakh more for the Signature plus and get only around 1 Lakh worth of extra features
  • We pay 4.7 Lakh for the Prestige, over the Signature and get around 1.6 lakh worth extra features

If we feel that the wireless charger does not charge, or ventilated seats are too noisy, or 17 inchers are harsh then the value will go down further

On the signature some features are manual instead of being Auto (Headlamps, AC, RVM,) hence partial value is adjusted. If there was no AC or Lights or only steel wheels full value would have been considered.

Comments are added to assess if the feature does not fully justify the price.

I hence agree with V3 Cars Valuation score of 87% for Signature AT

https://www.v3cars.com/variant-expla...ich-one-to-buy
Skoda Kylaq | Would you buy the base, mid or top variants?-kylaq.jpg  

Last edited by BSASLR : 5th March 2025 at 16:10.
BSASLR is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2025, 16:34   #15

Voted Signature + by mistake. As I was under the impression cruise control is on the Signature +. Now that I see it's available on the Signature trim, I feel most essential features ( barring ACC, 60/40 rear seat split, rear parking camera) are there on the Signature variant making it VFM in my books.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com