Old 8th December 2007, 00:22   #1

Innova or anyother MPV/SUV Help

Need a 6 seater car and i have been doing quite a bit of research.

Requirements : -
Budget - 12 Lakhs
Need a car with minimum 6 seats
Has to be a diesel
Should have good resale, i might just sell the vehicle any time and should get a good price.

Now i went for a test drive of the Safari 2.2, felt in love with it. Fantastic machine, superbly comfortable, loaded to the brim with LCDs and all butttttttt the reason why i dont want to go for the Safari is

1) Resale Value
2) Not the most reliable around/Quality Issues
3) New one around the corner

Tavera is ruled out since it takes 28 seconds to reach 100, i might just run and still be faster to 100

Scorpio is not stable at high speeds and not even in cosideration. Its cramped and new gadgetry can be a suspect.

This leaves only one and only option that is the Innova 2.5 D4D V 7 seater.

I would like to know a few things about the Innova from its owners.

1) How much FE does it return, realistically in City driving.
2) How is the resale value. How much is a 2005 Innova being sold of for?
3) The most important question is : I have heard there is a new Innova coming soon, when is it expected and what is the new thing in it. Also what are the discounts on the Innova going around. I heard 1Lacs.

The additional costs on the car.

1) I will be changing the tyres to 225/60/15 Michelin MXV8 immediately. What do i need to pay.
2) Sun Film, Mats.
3) Petes Tunning Box & Green Filter - A must IMO.
4) Seat Covers - Leather? How much for 7 seats
5) Decent ICE & Damping
6) Reverse Sensors.
7) Strut Braces.
8) Head Light Upgrade
9) Turn Signals on Indicators

The engine is very noisy, can damping be done to make the cabin more silent?

Anything else. I was planing to go for 225/55/16 but the ride will go for a toss.

Mods : Please dont close this thread as i need to decide on this fast.

Last edited by BUSA : 8th December 2007 at 00:25.
Old 8th December 2007, 00:50   #2

3) The most important question is : I have heard there is a new Innova coming soon, when is it expected and what is the new thing in it. Also what are the discounts on the Innova going around. I heard 1Lacs.
1) 10 Kmpl in city and 11 on highways.
2) Dont know about resale value
3) Yes new Innova is coming in first quarter of 2008. There will be parking sensors and sporty bumpers afaik. Have not any idea about discount.

1) I will be changing the tyres to 225/60/15 Michelin MXV8 immediately. What do i need to pay.
2) Sun Film, Mats.
5) Decent ICE & Damping
6) Reverse Sensors.
7) Strut Braces.
8) Head Light Upgrade
1) Approx 6500 per tyre but you will get good prize of company fitted tyres.
2) Sun film depend upon which brand you go for.
You can get free Mats, Muffler tip, Spoiler as a discount.
3) For Tunning Box and filter contact Akshay1234.
4) I have got G-Sport Art leather seat covers for 12k. If you will buy Stanley it will cost you around 35k.
5) What is your budget for Ice and Damping ?
6) V-16 have reverse sensors in his Innova so check his thread.
7) why do you need strut braces ?
8) Do you want to fit Xenon ? or else Philips 90/100Watts 500 Rs for pair of lamps, Roots wiring kit for 400 Rs and 150 Rs for Roots ceramic holders.
9) ??

My two cents.. Hope it helps..
Old 8th December 2007, 01:00   #3

Thanks Mugen Power.

Yes new Innova is coming in first quarter of 2008.
If its only parking sensors and redesigned bumper then its not worth the wait, else new engine or something i would definately think its worth waiting.

1) I think V16 got his tyres changed for around 10k?
2) Sun Film i think Vkool is the best, albeit a bit expensive, since Innova has more glass area it will cost around 25k i am guessing.
Doesnot Muffler Tip come as stock in the V?
3) I have spoken to Peter regarind the Tunning Box, will surely get it, since i have it on my Swift and its just worth the money IMO.
4) Stanley is too expensive, do the G Sports get heated up when car stands in the sun?
5) Ice Budget 30k, not including HU, since i plan to keep it as stock.
6) I think its better to get a reverse guide Camera, reversing is not easy.
7) Struts for making the handling a little bit better.
8) I plan to go for 100/90 Philips, should cost around 1000 with relay.
9) I meant turn signals on ORVMs.
Old 8th December 2007, 01:10   #4

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
If its only parking sensors and redesigned bumper then its not worth the wait, else new engine or something i would definately think its worth waiting.
I think there is article in Aci, according to them there will be minor changes only.

1) I think V16 got his tyres changed for around 10k?
2) Sun Film i think Vkool is the best, albeit a bit expensive, since Innova has more glass area it will cost around 25k i am guessing.
Doesnot Muffler Tip come as stock in the V?
3) I have spoken to Peter regarind the Tunning Box, will surely get it, since i have it on my Swift and its just worth the money IMO.
4) Stanley is too expensive, do the G Sports get heated up when car stands in the sun?
5) Ice Budget 30k, not including HU, since i plan to keep it as stock.
6) I think its better to get a reverse guide Camera, reversing is not easy.
7) Struts for making the handling a little bit better.
8) I plan to go for 100/90 Philips, should cost around 1000 with relay.
9) I meant turn signals on ORVMs.
1) If he has got 4k per oem tyre than 2k x 5 = 10K.
2) Dont have any idea about Vkool pricing. Muffler tip doesnt come as stock in V.
3) No Comment.
4) Not to much. its value for money.
5) 30K is nice Budget for Ice without Hu. For Ice see you in Ice section.
6) I didnt have Reverse sensor or camera, So it depends upon you.
7) Havent seen Struts for Innova yet.
8) Correct.
9) They are available as a aftermarket fitment.

Two more ideas..

1) How about getting Illuminated door step plates ?
2) You forget Strobes.

Old 8th December 2007, 01:25   #5

Thanks Mugen_Power. Strobes remind me of your OHCwith street glows, which was a fantasticly modified car

I think there is article in Aci, according to them there will be minor changes only.
Which month ACI, i have all of them, but think i didnot read them carefully.
Old 8th December 2007, 02:23   #6

Fantastic! You've zeroed in on an Innova V. That's the best you can get.

Get the Pete's kit. It's definitely not avoidable. It won't do much of a performance boost in an Innova but the driveability is something worth every penny. Get a bigger air filter too. I like K&Ns more than Greens.
Old 8th December 2007, 08:56   #7

Need a 6 seater car and i have been doing quite a bit of research.
You are getting another car?
Originally Posted by speedzak View Post
Get the Pete's kit. It's definitely not avoidable. It won't do much of a performance boost in an Innova but the driveability is something worth every penny. Get a bigger air filter too. I like K&Ns more than Greens.
Zak, BUSA must have calculated all the figures and everything even before finalising on the car!
Old 8th December 2007, 09:21   #8

This leaves only one and only option that is the Innova 2.5 D4D V 7 seater.

I would like to know a few things about the Innova from its owners.

In bombay city traffic with the occasional(acutally quite frequent) flooring it gives between 9 and 10 in the city. i have got upto 16 on the doing bombay-pune on the expressway.(doing 100kmph all the while) average for highway would be between 12-14.

the resale value dosent go down fast. a 2005 should be for about 7-8lacs

if they get anything it wouldnt be very substantial. it think toyota would focus on getting the new corolla first. if they do get anything it wont be a new engine and will just be reverse sensors, optitron meters etc.(minor stuff)
The additional costs on the car.

i think the steering might get a but heavy with 225s. thats what i had read somewhere on tbhp. stick to 205s and get better tyres.
2) Sun Film, Mats.
look at 3m, llumar, vkool. my innova cost about 8k including the front windscreen in 3m.
definitely. id advise you to wait for the first service at least.
toyota offers them for 30k. they arent bad.
5) Decent ICE & Damping
the innova with a decent system dosent need damnping IMO. 20k kms still no rattles or squeaks. you can get damping at a later stage if need be.
6) Reverse Sensors.
should cost you 3-5k. you dont really need a camera just the distance meter and beeper.
7) Strut Braces.
rather than this go for bilstein shocks. contact peter for more details. they are bolt on.
8) Head Light Upgrade
get HIDs for about 6-8k.
dont get the ones with the blue leds. they look very cheap. get the TGAs.

The engine is very noisy, can damping be done to make the cabin more silent? i dont know where you get this from its actually not. put on music at even the lowest volume or just talk and you cant hear it.

Anything else. I was planing to go for 225/55/16 but the ride will go for a toss.

Mods : Please dont close this thread as i need to decide on this fast.

my answers in bold.

Last edited by Akshay1234 : 8th December 2007 at 09:29.
Old 8th December 2007, 09:22   #9

Fantastic! You've zeroed in on an Innova V. That's the best you can get.

zak bhai. if shaving 4 seconds on 0-100 is not much or a performance boost then what is?
Old 8th December 2007, 10:44   #10

Busa, Opt for the high end version with 6 captain seats all around. You couldnt be any happier with the Innova then.
Old 8th December 2007, 11:07   #11

Why is no one talking about the NEW TATA SUMO ?
from the look of it - it is better than the boxy current model....
probably the high end model would be a good option...
Old 8th December 2007, 11:54   #12

Does the Pete's box take out 4 seconds in 0-100? Then it's an unavoidable part of Innova. Get it! Get it! Get it!
Old 8th December 2007, 12:41   #13

Innova is having major discounts,right now.
Infact, a six figure discount if U put ur money on the table now.
Old 8th December 2007, 12:43   #14

Boxy is beautiful

Originally Posted by narayan View Post
Why is no one talking about the NEW TATA SUMO ?
from the look of it - it is better than the boxy current model....
probably the high end model would be a good option...
With a budget of 12 lac I guess everyone assumes that the man WANTS to spend most of it. He probably does.
Old 8th December 2007, 13:32   #15

Does the Pete's box take out 4 seconds in 0-100? Then it's an unavoidable part of Innova. Get it! Get it! Get it!
see my review in the accessories section or look at my garage for the link.