Old 9th August 2011, 16:17   #106

Re: Buying a used Mahindra Scorpio

Came across an online post for a mHawk Scorpio sale. This was a 2007 model and thus got me wondering. Got my answer on the official Mahindra Scorpio website. It was indeed launched in November 2007. More details and complete timeline here
Scorpio Vehicle Evolution | Mahindra Automobile | Mid Size Vehicle | Mahindra India
Old 28th May 2012, 07:03   #107

Supposed to buy Scorpio AT in 2010 but due to parking constraints at flat and parking constraints in chennai for big vehicles, went to i20 AT and has been 2 years now. After seeing skyrocket petrol and want to have a real SUV, thinking of going for Used Scorpio AT. Budget between 9-10 L. I am not planning to go for manual transmission as I got used to AT and comfortable with it in the City.

TIA
Old 28th May 2012, 15:37   #108

Originally Posted by carbhp View Post
After seeing skyrocket petrol and want to have a real SUV, thinking of going for Used Scorpio AT. Budget between 9-10 L. I am not planning to go for manual transmission as I got used to AT and comfortable with it in the City.
The Scorpio AT is a decent VFM SUV with good road presence and ease of driving in the city. Take a test drive and decide, however, it will cost you more than your budget of INR 10.00lac in Chennai and elsewhere, so you would need to look into that part.
Old 28th May 2012, 16:00   #109

Thanks. Even the used Scorpio AT of previous years would cost more? I did some search on gaadi.com and found few of them less than 10L?

Hope I can provide link to gaadi.com here Used Mahindra Scorpio Automatic Cars
Old 14th June 2012, 13:15   #110

I am getting a 2009 scorpio AT with 45k on odo for about 8 lakhs.

Please comment on the price nd if it would be a good proposition to buy it. Also let me know estimated expenses and what all things to look for.
Old 14th June 2012, 15:16   #111

I am also looking into switching from i20 AT to Used Scorpio AT, but couldn't find any sellers..
Old 14th June 2012, 17:36   #112

Originally Posted by sumannandy View Post
I am getting a 2009 scorpio AT with 45k on odo for about 8 lakhs.
The price seems to be ok but a few questions first:
Is this a dealer or an owner car?
Is he the first owner?
Where did you come across the vehicle?
Once we have these details I can get its history and current condition checked.

I am also looking into switching from i20 AT to Used Scorpio AT, but couldn't find any sellers..
Yeah, Scorpio ATs are tough to find since they haven't sold that many,at least in the early days.
Old 14th June 2012, 17:46   #113

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
The price seems to be ok but a few questions first:
Is this a dealer or an owner car?
Is he the first owner?
Where did you come across the vehicle?
Once we have these details I can get its history and current condition checked.
Its a dealer car. The owner is the first owner.

Heard that Mahindras don't have online history. And what all things to look for? I don't want to spend a fortune after buying the vehicle.
Old 14th June 2012, 17:50   #114

Its a dealer car. The owner is the first owner.

Heard that Mahindras don't have online history. And what all things to look for? I don't want to spend a fortune after buying the vehicle.
Which dealer? Give me the vehicle number and the showroom where it was sold from, over a PM and I ll dig out its history.

I smell something fishy already, since it is a dealer car.
Old 14th June 2012, 18:23   #115

..And what all things to look for? ...
Some of the automatic Scorpios had issues with the auto-trans...please try to verify this with the vehicle that you have zeroed in on.
Old 14th June 2012, 21:02   #116

Originally Posted by n.devdath View Post
Which dealer? Give me the vehicle number and the showroom where it was sold from, over a PM and I ll dig out its history.

I smell something fishy already, since it is a dealer car.
Thanks for the offer. Its a dealer in Frazer town. Let me get the vehicle number.

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder View Post
Some of the automatic Scorpios had issues with the auto-trans...please try to verify this with the vehicle that you have zeroed in on.
Do you happen to know about which year/batch scorpios had problems?

Last edited by sumannandy : 14th June 2012 at 21:32.
Old 14th June 2012, 21:05   #117

Its a dealer in Frazer town. Let me get the vehicle number.
Frazer Town, near the ITC Infotech park? I ve been to him a couple of times. Get the vehicle number and other details pl, let us then dig deeper.
Old 15th June 2012, 09:13   #118

...Do you happen to know about which year/batch scorpios had problems?
No.
If you have some contacts in any Mahindra dealership, I think they should be able to get you that info.
Old 24th July 2012, 16:17   #119

In case anyone is interested in buying a mint condition black SLE, PM me. Mine's for sale.
Old 1st August 2012, 13:12   #120

Be careful with Scorpio ATs as they used to have transmission heat up issues on hill rides.

What typically happens with First Choice is as follows:
They buy a vehicle from Private users for a price of say 4.6 lacs. They dont buy "iffy vehicles and are very clear that they prefer vehicles with proper service records, service history, proper insurance etc. They then spend about Rs 10,000/- to get it done up, serviced, checked completely etc.

They then offer it to potential buyers for about 20,000 up charge - say 4.8 lacs.

Their margin as I understand it is about 6000 on the vehicle, the remaining money having been absorbed by cost of inventory, cost of blocking the money after buying the vehicle and until it gets sold etc.

The advantage here is that you get a good vehicle, recently serviced, completely transparent paperwork, time taken for delivery of about 3-4 working days and the biggest plus - a One Year Guarantee from First Choice!

IMO, it is worth paying that small upcharge for peace of mind.

Hope this helps you find the vehicle of your choice.

I really doubt they still follow the same procedures.

When I tried to sell my Scorpio to the dealer they offered me some price which was half of what they were already selling for vehicles in a much worse condition, so I believe profit requirements have already overtaken the priorities with 'First Choice'. I was shocked with the price they offered and was very curt in asking them why they are trying to pull down the resale value of their own vehicles for profitability for which they did not have an answer.