Team-BHP > Shifting gears > The Team-BHP Meet Section

Old 5th April 2009, 20:55   #226

How about for even less? Can't it be made as DIY?
Old 5th April 2009, 21:01   #227

Originally Posted by bharti22shresth View Post
Even i was thinking about it,will have to first enquire about the cost of the grille,not like the one on my car as sported later models,but the initial batch of balenos which had those plastic honey-comb pattern,as i have heard it to be much cheaper than the newer ones(with all that chrome). .If at all the grille comes in cheap,il get the basic frame and then work with the wire mesh (i have seen such grilles mostly on hatchbacks and recently on a NHC).
Old 5th April 2009, 22:23   #228

Originally Posted by bharti22shresth View Post
yes its possible but very time consuming i have one on my zen i thing i showed you if its a DIY it wouldn't cost more than rs 100
Old 5th April 2009, 22:29   #229

Originally Posted by manikjeet View Post
yes its possible but very time consuming i have one on my zen i thing i showed you if its a DIY it wouldn't cost more than rs 100
I will mostly be free after a few weeks,so doesnt matter if it takes time.But what all it takes to make one?
Old 6th April 2009, 06:18   #230

Hey guys here are a few pics clicked on the IC'Y day
Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01515.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01516.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01518.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01519.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01520.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01521.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01522.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01523.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01524.jpg  

Any Meets in Chandigarh-dsc01526.jpg  

Old 7th April 2009, 23:25   #231

Congrats Akshay!

Bulls and that Blau are looking good, which brand of cables have you used? They seem to be good. Audison?

By the way, which car (Reg. no. 0006) is that in the picture of the Blau 15"? Grand Vitara?

@manik: What happened to your arm man? Get well soon Bangy!

@bharti22shresth: Waiting for the MOM from your side.

Jaspreet Singh
Old 7th April 2009, 23:47   #232

Originally Posted by jsrakkar View Post
Congrats Akshay!

Bulls and that Blau are looking good, which brand of cables have you used? They seem to be good. Audison?

By the way, which car (Reg. no. 0006) is that in the picture of the Blau 15"? Grand Vitara?

Yes,that indeed is a vitara.Now will someone please explain me what this BULLS thing is ? What is its function?
Old 7th April 2009, 23:54   #233

@YC- Nice question man! BULL is the name of the audio company who's components Akshay's put in his ride.

@jsrakkar- Sorry guy! I just can't find time to finish this report! It's too long because a lot had happened. And add to that, that I'm spending 16 hrs a day for the past 3 days assignmenting

But I'll try my best to put it up by tomorrow evening.

bharti22shresth
Old 10th April 2009, 23:10   #234

4th April Meet report (sorry it's late this time)

Hey bhpians,
This time, gonna make it small story. Enough of the point system!

It all started with a certain ICE bug biting akshay. Poor guy was bitten so bad that he decided to ‘BULL’ the bug bite, the revving of which was done by abhishek(ICE-man). As the ordering of the bulls was done, transportation et al, came the news of our chirag bhai selling his GZ and getting a something big. All 15 inches of it! So, we had 2 ICE upgrades happening on the same day, at the same time(ofcourse through internal co-ordination of akshay and chirag), at the same place how on earth could I even think of missing it. Neither did Abhi, Manik, Mohit, Yathartha and his friend akshay, Chirag’s bro, Chirag’s another friend and a guest appearance by Ankit.

Date: 4th April, 2009
Time: 11:45 AM
Venue: Puri Autos sec-28, chd

12:30 PM on 4th April, 2009.
I call Chirag, “Dude! I’m standing in front of Car life-28 can’t find you guys.”
Chirag- “No clue man! We are in front of the BJP tent”.

12:45 PM
I call YC, “Dude! Did you reach the place?”
YC- “Yup! Where are you?”
Me-“on the 27-28 light point, in front of the Royal Enfield showroom”
YC- “Dude! You need to come in sector-28.”
Me-(realizing that I was hunting in the wrong sector for the past half hour) “Be there”.

Reach the place. Immediately greeted by the sight of a green getz with DEEEEEP dish rims(It belongs to Chirag). Park my ACTIBUSA. See a pretty bewildered Abhishek in his car, trying to locate any known faces. I greet him with a dipper in his face. . We proceed towards the shop dodging through the hullabaloo of cars there(BOY! This market is popular!). Meet up with YC, Chirag, his bro, and his friend. And then we meet the 15” Blaupunkt velocity pizza. YUMMY!

Abhi’s first question- Where’s the box?.
Chirag- (Pointing towards it).
Abhi- MDF or normal wood?
Chirag- Normal. Bhai! Nanga ho chukka hoon.
Me, Abhi, YC, his frnd beaming like arses.
Me- Where’s our BULL guy?
Chirag- On his way.

Next 10 minutes we stand outside the shop, literally blocking the entry way, discussing, about what kind of box that is, what are the sub specifications, Abhi studying (reading the sub manual), Chirag over excited about some looow bass, Yathartha(YC) and Akshay(his friend), super confused about what on earth are these blokes jabbering about shifting the topic to how akshay loves to drag his matiz with YC’s baleno and actually makes it pretty tough for him to beat. Then YC states in a mature manner that he’s pretty happy with the ICE in his baleno. Me and Abhi beaming like dogs. Poor guy’s got into the wrong surroundings then. In the middle of this, somehow, it strikes me, why not plonk a sub in the very useful boot of my ACTIBUSA. Thereby starting a string of suggestions of it being possible or not but the topic got closed when the BULL guys arrived.
Akshay came huffing and puffing and instead of the usual hi’s and hello’s said-“arre chhodo ICE-VICE! Mujhe to ek monster truck laka dedo!”. For a second, I could see that everyone was pretty confused till we understood the reason. Consider a parking made for 20 cars. Now, consider 35 cars in that very parking being worked upon at the same time (PURE HEAVEN!). Any ways, the unanimous question to akshay was, “Dude! Show us the bulls. We wanna see them. We wanna eat them. We wanna do things to them”. Scared like hell, akshay tried to buzz of the requests to stop us laying our greedy hands on his prized new possession but, at ICE-time, YOU HAVE TO GIVE IN! And there came the bulls.

Chirag-(jumped on them) “main dabba kholoonga! Main dabba kholoonga!”.
Abhi-(still beaming and trying to get a look at them amidst the short crowd the box containing them had gathered)
Maverick-(seemed lost)
YC & Akshay-(What on earth is this hullabaloo about!)
Akshay-(Beaming like a dog!) ”aaram se yaar! Bus todna matt”.
Me-(cursing my genes for my short height) “Lemme see them. Lemme touch them”.
Puri autos owner-(wide eyed) “That’s THE most well built speakers I’ve seen ever! They ARE good!”
Akshay-(still beaming)(I think that face didn’t stop beaming till a certain incident in the evening but later on that)

Anyways after the brief welcoming of the BULLS, touching them, Abhi immediately bent on the task of getting the crossovers to open, Chirag was to and froing the shop and his car. In the mean time, the excellent wiring was shown and boy, we were all impressed and deal for the installation and wiring was finalized. At this point of time, i.e. around 2, YC and Akshay said BYE BYE (NICE MEETING YOU GUYS). Then started the herculean task of parking the cars properly, so that the installs may commence. Took us a full 20 minutes of cursing a black safari(sigh!) to find a good parking spot but, finally we did. And so, started the installs. Both the cars were ripped open within half hour. Chirag’s was fully naked from the inside(so was his monetary condition because of this sub. ROFLOL!) while Akshay’s was semi-nude.While Abhi was busy auditioning Chirag’s setup without the sub, I was got a good bad pinch in my back only to see half broken BANGY! And even before he had greeted everyone I wrote those lovely words on his plaster. “GET WELL SOON BANGY!!!”

2:30PM
Everyone is in a big round circle indifferent to the installs going around, discussing manik’s accident. Advising him to start driving carefully and warning me to start keeping my speeds slow (Maine kya kiya?? Acha theek hai!) (P.S. To date haven’t broken my promise). Then We were all shown how TATA saves the day for SKODA. LONG LIVE THE TRUCK GUYS.
Moving towards Chirag’s car, installers and abhi are trying to decide which way to connect the sub. I suggest the “3RD METHOD”. Me and Abhi can’t stop rolling on the floor! We eventually go by the “2ND METHOD” (P.S. Don’t ask me explanations. I don’t understand all this stuff. I was just having fun).

4:00PM
Chirag –(comes with a huge, broad smile on his face) “Guys! We are going LOOOOOWWWWWW!!!!”
Everyone forgets about no where near complete Akshay’s install, and gathers around his car. Chirag puts in some BASS heavy track and along with the windows of the shops 10 feel away and the cars around everywhere, nicely breaks in my ear drums as well. BASS just got a whole new definition for me. Add to that, that Manik made a certain comment that had all of us on the crying for mercy from laughing.

4:30PM
Chirag’s setup is pretty much done and in the final stages of going LOW and LOUD. While Akshay’s is still nowhere close. I am getting seriously bored so the mischief bharti comes out. I go hide Akshay’s amp kept in a very unsafe place in Abhi’s car. Akshay hasn’t a bit of a clue. Seriously guys, It was pretty tough controlling the laughter. Anycase, we get busy transferring data to and fro Abhi’s laptop. Some konrnography, something about meeting with a mother, some ‘flac’ thing(????? Forgot). Then everyone had short audition of maverick’s setup. I was gasping like anything! BLODDY HELL! THIS GUY’S GOT A SETUP THAT IS ABSOLUTELY AS PER MY REQUIREMENTS (more like the requirements I’ll be having once I strike a partnership with Mr. Green), but all things come to an end. Mav had to go home and sleep. Totally understand man. That’s what holidays are for. Bye MAV, It was fun meeting you.

5:00PM
Installer asks Akshay-“Sir, amp dena.” Akshay seemed have to have a snake rolled on his chest. Poor guy got a serious shock! You guys should have seen how he reacted! Poor chap was just plain out of words. Anyways, after mustering up some courage came some real, nice sounding hindi curses stating that someone seems to have stolen the darn amp! I, Abhi and Manik were trying not to burst out laughing to the extent that I wasn’t looking Akshay even directly in his eyes. After 15 minutes of Akshay getting mad, sad, shocked, dumb founded together, I went to take the amp as Abhi told him about the prank. That was the loudest Bala Chala I’ve ever heard in my life. But darn it was fun.

6:00PM
Had a short visit from ankit. Alongside which, each of us was having a cricket match of rats being played in our stomachs. And then we heard some music and to the utter astonishment that music was some of the BRIGHTEST AND HARSHEST I’ve ever heard. Sorry to all those JBL 607(or 608c) owners but guys, those compos are too darn bright. And so were the bulls sounding at that time, maybe a little more. I was under my breath trying to analyse Abhi’s expressions as never have I seen him so out of words. Immediately he called up and cursed a few guys which included the one who sold the BULLS to the one who were using them and liked them. Every one was plain dumb founded. But thank goodness we after spending another hour, turned out that the RCA was screwed up, so was the installation which was PATHETIC, and so was the sony HU which gave only one output- HAAARRRSSSHHHH!!!! But somehow Abhi was able to push some magic into those BULLS and boy it was good.

7:00PM
It was dark by the time we got free. The cricket matches which earlier were ODIs turned to TESTS. The mere mention of the word FOOD made us sulk. Believe me, we could have eaten a human at that time had we not found a place was serving proper food. We sat at CHAWLA’s and the moment kept our arses on the seats, the lights went out. Imagine the desperation of being feeded something, I even said “Lagta hai aaj ladkon ke saath hii candle light dinner karna padega”. But the light came, the food came, the discussions ranged from marriage, relationships, dogs(duh!??!!), food to of course cars. AND A HUGE HUGE HUGE THANKS TO AKSHAY FOR THE TREAT!! NEXT TIME, IT IS ON US!

All in all an awesome ICE meet we had. One of those experiences that one doesn’t forget easily. Friends + fellow car lovers+ a good load of goofiness=ICE. I kind of like this combo. Anyone else wanna get an ICE upgrade??????

bharti22shresth

(P.S. Please ignore the typos guys. My fingers hurt from the typing now)
Old 10th April 2009, 23:24   #235

@shresth
Well written bro,pity that I missed most of the action.
And yes,my ICEology is very weak.And no,akshay180 never gives me a tough time in his matiz,its just that I pity him and let him pass unless he self-destructs.hehe,anyways looking forward to attend the full meet nex time.Also shall check out all that ICE in both the hyundais and the alto,maybe will get a hang of it.
Oh,and before i forget,you really read mine and akshay180's expressions very well.

Old 10th April 2009, 23:42   #236

Amazing write up shreshth,relived the moments from your write up

And I guess we need to get the thread title to be changed from Any meets in chd to Many meets in chd
Old 11th April 2009, 22:53   #237

Missed the meet ..... My bad luck as i was in sec 28 on 04th . at SK motors
Old 12th April 2009, 00:02   #238

Originally Posted by Sivia View Post
Missed the meet ..... My bad luck as i was in sec 28 on 04th . at SK motors
I and akshay happened to have crossed SK at one point of time in search for a ATM. By the way, what upgrades were you getting?

bharti22shresth
Old 12th April 2009, 11:24   #239

Had an appointment with webasto guy for servicing of the sunroof .
Old 13th April 2009, 04:18   #240

Originally Posted by Sivia View Post
Had an appointment with webasto guy for servicing of the sunroof .
Whats the model of the sunroof you are installing/have installed in your car?
Further,if you havent got it installed yet,better avoid it,because after about a couple of years,it starts rattling like hell.Its been troubling me for almost a week now and despite taking it to webasto guys twice in that period,they haven't solved the problem yet.

Regards.