Old 7th January 2014, 21:02   #106

re: Skoda Yeti. 4.5 lakh repair bill! EDIT: Fuel system replaced under warranty

Catamaran what was the damages to engine as reported by the A$$.

This could definitely not a case of water in fuel issue. if it is the case, there will be a clear indication of water in fuel warning on the dashboard. with the help of a diagnostic tester, it can also retrieve info like the duration of engine ran with water in fuel exceeding the filter capacity. if the problem was due to water in fuel, then SKODA would have already proved it with help of these info stored in the ECM.
water in air filter will damage the engine, water in fuel filter will not damage the engine but can damage the fuel injection system in a long run.
star_aqua is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th January 2014, 21:34   #107

Originally Posted by star_aqua View Post
Catamaran what was the damages to engine as reported by the A$$.

This could definitely not a case of water in fuel issue. if it is the case, there will be a clear indication of water in fuel warning on the dashboard. with the help of a diagnostic tester, it can also retrieve info like the duration of engine ran with water in fuel exceeding the filter capacity. if the problem was due to water in fuel, then SKODA would have already proved it with help of these info stored in the ECM.
water in air filter will damage the engine, water in fuel filter will not damage the engine but can damage the fuel injection system in a long run.

Skoda Engineer had done the check as he was available in the service centre on that day. He has recommended on complete change of the fuel system including HP pump, LP pump injectors etc. The car was serviced in Tafe and only ran a Bangalore kochi run ( around 550 kms) and some miscellaneous another 300 kms approx and then it stopped.

Old 9th January 2014, 16:50   #108

Hi Skoda Engineers are in today at Marikar and doing the checks. I was told that the decision will be made soon. Will update the thread when I have a feedback.

Regards.
Catamaran is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 10th January 2014, 16:52   #109

Originally Posted by Catamaran View Post
Hi Skoda Engineers are in today at Marikar and doing the checks. I was told that the decision will be made soon. Will update the thread when I have a feedback.

Regards.
Why do they have to replace everything ? Water ingress in diesel is not uncommon and that is the reason why almost every diesel vehicle has a diesel-water separator. I mean your car did not suffer from a hydrostatic lock or sudden engine seizure or dumped tons of white smoke as exhaust right..??

Why can't Skoda open up the fuel system (including FIP) and the associated plumbing, purge it thoroughly and re-assemble?

My cousin's Cruze suffered a similar fate, that too in North Bihar-UP border. I do not remember which dealer he went to - but the above mentioned purging activity restored the car to its former glory and it's absolutely fine now (and mind you the VM Motori diesel in the Cruze is in no way inferior to the VW 2.0L diesel in the Yeti)
arjab is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2014, 20:29   #110

Obviously the diesel-water drama is just an excuse, and the issue lies with some faulty Skoda part. Yeh to sirf bahana hain, customer ko bewakoof banana hain.
lurker is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th January 2014, 22:54   #111

Still no reply from Skoda. Their rep has come and checked the car at Marikar. No report/reply given so far. More than a month now. Hoping to get a positive reply soon..

Regards.

Originally Posted by arjab View Post

Why do they have to replace everything ? Water ingress in diesel is not uncommon and that is the reason why almost every diesel vehicle has a diesel-water separator. I mean your car did not suffer from a hydrostatic lock or sudden engine seizure or dumped tons of white smoke as exhaust right..??)
The car did not stop suddenly, nor was any huge white smoke noted. A sound started coming from the engine which was like proportional to the acceleration. I am generally a cautious driver and having driven few European cars before, has the habit of looking at the console in between for any warning lights / temp gauge. There was no warning lights and everything was well and good till then.

As my aunt had just joined before, I was talking with her and luckily the music system was off, thus could hear the sound as soon as it started. After may be driving 100 Meters or so with the sound the glow plug symbol started flashing and I pulled to the side immediately. I stopped the car and when I turned the ignition again the car displayed "Engine check - Workshop"

Regards.

Last edited by Eddy : 10th January 2014 at 23:35. Reason: Merged
Old 13th January 2014, 12:09   #112

Hello all

Just to update, Skoda has confirmed to revert back with a positive reply by Tuesday (tomorrow). A gentlemen from their after sales department has called up my brother. Will update as soon as I receive the feedback

Old 14th January 2014, 11:20   #113

One could make a movie out of your experience.

Every car company has a techno-legal team that reviews cases and decides to either stiff the customer or decide in the customers favor. Don't you think a company that engineered the car would know in an instant what the real issue is, as in your case?

All the best to you..!
Old 14th January 2014, 16:21   #114

Dear all

Finally some good news. Mr. Shakeel from Skoda had called. He has confirmed Skoda's decision to repair the car under warranty terms and maximum we may have to spend from our side will be 30,000 Rs. Think it's a fair deal and I am awaiting official confirmation from Skoda /
Dealer. The support from Marikar Engineering has so far been excellent. Although a little late Skoda has finally agreed and I am happy with their support. They were calling us regularly and updating and sent their expert to check the car again.

As I work in Dubai I had the chance of owning and driving many Japanese and European cars and the Yeti had always been one of my favourites. I loved to take it for a spin the moment I land in India and driving the yeti has been one of the reasons for coming to Indian rather than taking a vacation outside. That's the sole reason I was heartbroken when the issue took place. I will still recommend the yeti simply due to it's practicality and performance.

I wish to thank all BHPians especially Shankar Balan, for the wholehearted support throughout. Will wait for their written confirmation and update further.

Catamaran is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 14th January 2014, 16:32   #115

Finally some good news.
Happy that the troubles are finally getting over, and the negotiations finally ended up in your favour. If the car is going to continue in Bangalore, it maybe a better idea to avoid the service centre from where it all started.
vb-saan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2014, 16:37   #116

Infractions: 0/3 (13)

Glad that the resolution is coming through from Skoda and their dealer. Take care and enjoy your Yeti in 2014 and beyond.
May all the troubles vanish completely!
Good luck.
shankar.balan is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 14th January 2014, 16:38   #117

Dear all

Finally some good news. Mr. Shakeel from Skoda had called. He has confirmed Skoda's decision to repair the car under warranty terms and maximum we may have to spend from our side will be 30,000 Rs.

Good to know that, good move from Skoda. Gives confidence to people who owns/booked Skoda vehicles.

Last edited by B747 : 14th January 2014 at 16:42.
Old 14th January 2014, 17:05   #118

Rs.30,000 from your pocket? For what???
How is this a good news? Am I missing something?
anandpadhye is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th January 2014, 17:20   #119

Originally Posted by anandpadhye View Post
Rs.30,000 from your pocket? For what???
How is this a good news? Am I missing something?
It could be good news that Skoda is solving the problem under warranty but if warranty it is then why the customer should spend the buck?

I'm happy for you Catamaran and thanks to Team BHP and shankar.balan fit the work behind the scenes.

Anurag.
Old 14th January 2014, 17:26   #120

Indeed good news to pay 30k instead of 450k BUT! what was the actual issue? and what all is being done to rectify the same? Has Skoda/Dealer given you clear info about the problem and the work that is being done? Do get this in writing to cover any future issues with the car.

I still cant believe water in fuel can cause such issues, for simple reason that there are enough safety mechanisms built in will ensure vehicle shut downs before water can do damage to the systems. If not it is a very badly designed system and we would see scores of unhappy yeti owners running around in the country.
Jaggu is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com