Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 27th October 2006, 15:32   #1

Here I go again with another very basic query which is of utmost importance to me. :-))
Folks,
As I have repeatedly pointed out in many other threads in this forum,I'm very new to the world of cars. I have just learnt to drive a car. This forum has been very encouraging and helping in many ways.

I would like to know if you guys can suggest me some best practices on driving a car to,

1. Avoid accidents :-)
2. Get a longer engine life
3. Get a longer clutch life
4. Get better mileage
etc.
Also other tips for dealing with situations like.
1. Someone rams his vehicle into yours and is in no mood to listen to you :-)
2. Dealing with police walahs in case of an accident etc.

Please add more points to this list.

Regs,
Melody
Old 27th October 2006, 17:06   #2
BHPian

Quote:
stop driving.. hehehe
well to avoid accidents.. do not drink and drive, while driving be alert and concentrate on driving, be confident in your driving, if you are tense and not in your control pleaseeeeee do not drive.
Quote:
get it serviced regularly from authorized service center.
Quote:
once you shift the gear please take your foot out of the clutch, touch the clutch only when shifting gear or when applying the breaks.
Quote:
4. Get better mileage
then use only good fuel and keep a check on your speed and how often you shift the gear.

well thats somethings as of my knowledge, team please correct me if anything is wrong..

cheers
Old 27th October 2006, 18:28   #3
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bangalore
touch the clutch only when shifting gear or when applying the breaks.
Isn't this dangerous as it freewheels the car ? Maybe at low speeds you do this to prevent engine stall but never at high speeds.

On one of the other threads there was a guy shifting Omni into neutral at 100 kph . Scary......
Old 27th October 2006, 19:08   #4
Senior - BHPian