Old 19th June 2019, 15:17   #31

Re: My BMW 520d breaks down

Both the link now showing
Originally Posted by Who_are_you View Post
Voluntary recall information is available on SIAM Portal. For BMW only entry is present for 2018 and 2019 models.

Link :http://www.siam.in/siam-voluntary-re...1&pgidtrail=84
Mine is 2011 model.
Originally Posted by Who_are_you View Post
Edit: You can also check for recall at below BMW India website using VIN
Link : https://bmwindia.com/bmw-campaign
This link I am getting message, "Please enter a valid VIN number."

I searched google and found this link https://www.mdecoder.com which shows below details
Name:  bmwenginetype1.png
Views: 4316
Size:  38.6 KB

according to this - Series is F10 (5 Series) and Engine is N47T. I again googled for the difference between N47 and N47T, and found that T is for technical upgrade and below information.

N47 is the one plagued by timing chain stretching because of strain imposed by HPFP. They also like running bearings, there was a recall for these at some point in time. '08 to early '10 cars - known as the 130kW version

N47T is the updated one. '10 onwards, carried over to F series with some small modifications. These are pretty bulletproof and don't suffer (as far as I'm aware) from timing chain issues. It has a much better ECU as well - known as the 135kW version.

Tomorrow I will ask them to open the engine head. Let's see what is the exact issue.
pawan_pullarwar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th June 2019, 20:40   #32

Today I read many online forums related to timing chain issue. I learnt that this issue is just not limited to N47 engine. So I decided to stick to my decision of getting it done as goodwill only. If they reject goodwill fix. I will put big stickers on my car and will tow it to major location in the city and park it with these stickers "I am died at 80,000 KMs", "My Life is just 80,000 KMs etc."

In this link, look like the issue is with many BMW cars. https://f10.5post.com/forums/showthr...1214477&page=2
Old 19th June 2019, 22:45   #33

Originally Posted by pawan_pullarwar View Post
Today I read many online forums related to timing chain issue. So I decided to stick to my decision of getting it done as goodwill only. If they reject goodwill fix.
I got a chance to speak to some guys at BMW Dealership locally, they do not rebuild the engines, they will simply change the components including cylinder block/ Crankshaft if damaged. So, they will dismantle the engine and then make a list of all the damaged part and give you an estimate. Since the car is from 2011, I don't think they will pass a warranty claim. Goodwill claims are normally passed to first owners who have regularly got the cars serviced at Dealership but don't expect them to foot the complete bill. Best case 50 % else 20-25 %.

Decide accordingly if you want to go ahead with repairs at BMW dealership or find out someone who can source parts from overseas and specialise in the engine re-work.
Turbanator is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 20th June 2019, 11:35   #34

Today first time I received mail from BMW India customer service. After I twitted to many BMW twitter account. Below is the communication from them -

Dear Mr. Pullawar,

This is further to your email dated June 19, 2019.

With reference to your concern, we wish to apprise you that either BMW India or the dealer can comment on the matter only post dismantling of the engine. As requested by the Dealer through various email communication, kindly accord your approval on the quotation so that the dealer can proceed with the next steps.

We look forward to your understanding and support in enabling us resolve the matter.

Just wondering what will happen if they dismantle the engine and then says they will not cover the expense. Is it possible to move dismantled engine to outside workshop ?
Old 24th June 2019, 07:07   #35

Today I will move my car from BMW workshop, but keep pushing BMW to fix it as goodwill for months. I have another car for daily use. I had bought BMW for occasional drive, so no issue if the car is laying in my parking.

Found this news on internet.

https://www.rte.ie/lifestyle/motors/...aulty-engines/
pawan_pullarwar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th June 2019, 07:12   #36

With reference to your concern, we wish to apprise you that either BMW India or the dealer can comment on the matter only post dismantling of the engine. As requested by the Dealer through various email communication, kindly accord your approval on the quotation so that the dealer can proceed with the next steps.
This part of their email clearly says that they can comment further only after opening up the engine. Considering this is a known fault with the engine, there is a chance you can (and should) get a fair part of the repairing costs covered. That the car has so far been serviced only at authorised dealers further strengthens your case.

My recommendation = let them open the engine, see what BMW is offering as part of the goodwill coverage and take it from there.
GTO is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th June 2019, 09:52   #37

This part of their email clearly says that they can comment further only after opening up the engine. Considering this is a known fault with the engine, there is a chance you can (and should) get a fair part of the repairing costs covered. That the car has so far been serviced only at authorised dealers further strengthens your case.

My recommendation = let them open the engine, see what BMW is offering as part of the goodwill coverage and take it from there.
Service adviser had offered 10% discount on bill which is I guess peanuts for such expensive car. I also received email from service adviser that if I have to take decision till Monday, otherwise they will start charging 1500 INR per day for parking and 2500 per day after a week. So yesterday I asked them to send the car to office and parked it there.

I tried to communicate BMW directly and received below response from BMW India.

Dear Mr. Pullarwar,

This is further to your email addressed to BMW Germany. We are the representatives of BMW Group in Indian market; hence your concern will be addressed by us.

In regards to your below email, we understand that Mr. XXXX - Service Manager from the dealership has contacted you through email earlier today and provided you necessary explanation on the matter. As informed by the dealership, below bulletin is not pertain to Indian Market. However, as requested by the Dealer, kindly accord your approval on the quotation so that the dealer can proceed with the next steps.

We look forward your reply.

In case I agree to let them open the engine first, and if they offered just 10% discount, I don't know whether it is possible to move the open car to outside garage. Also they might charge us for keeping the car at BMW workshop if we do not take decision soon after opening the engine.

BMW asking 23700 for opening engine head while my known outside garage offered 15000 for engine work.

My car was running until I parked the car and ignition was switched off. So I am assuming there should not be major damage.

Car was sent back to my office -
My BMW 520d breaks down-img20190624wa0018.jpg

EDIT : I sent them below reply

I am sure that my car engine is seized. We have done the routine service at 84000 KM and engine seizes at 87000 KMs, that is not acceptable. Also car has all the service and maintenance at BMW workshop only.

I am looking for support from BMW to fix it as goodwill. Engine seize at such small mileage with all the maintenance at BMW workshop is not acceptable.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 26th June 2019 at 07:31. Reason: Typo.
pawan_pullarwar is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th June 2019, 11:11   #38

Service adviser had offered 10% discount on bill which is I guess peanuts for such expensive car.
As GTO had suggested, you should have gone via Dealership route. Without assessing the actual damage, no one could have helped. There is a reason why there are warranties and beyond that, one has to be dependent on the manufacturer and cannot force them. Since BMW India was involved, I am sure Dealer could not have taken you for a ride.

Your car looks neat and has much life, better get this done at Dealership unless you are absolutely sure of the local mechanic. Most of these guys won't even have tools to open some of the special parts.
Turbanator is online now   (4) Thanks
Old 26th June 2019, 07:28   #39

The 23k charge was a small risk to take for the potential benefits of BMW's goodwill. Anyway, what's happened has happened. If you don't intend to send it back to BMW (that would still be my FIRST choice), get it fixed outside, but don't let her just stand in one place. These cars aren't built for that & she will start deteriorating, especially since the engine isn't running.
GTO is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 30th July 2020, 14:09   #40

Any update on what happened next?
Old 19th November 2020, 17:37   #41

I am also waiting for the update as I'm facing the same issue in my 2012 530d. Some noise is coming from the engine. I had this checked from an outside garage and as per them, the timing chain has to be changed. They gave me an estimate of 1 lakh cost for changing the timing belt.

So trying to get a second opinion before I take the plunge of replacing the timing change as I was advised . Haven't taken an opinion from the authorized BMW service center till now. Will take it soon. As my car is out of warranty I never relied on the authorized BMW service centers. Also Had a bad experience with them and hence for the last 3 years I always do the works from an outside garage (whom I trust more than the ASS)
lancer_maniac is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2020, 20:13   #42

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

Originally Posted by lancer_maniac View Post
Some noise is coming from the engine. I had this checked from an outside garage and as per them, the timing chain has to be changed. They gave me an estimate of 1 lakh cost for changing the timing belt.
Greetings. A ticking chain is a ticking timebomb, I know from a personal experience with my superb. Any update on the situation? Did you get it replaced? That aside, 1L is way too much, even if it is a BMW. Even scoundrels like Skoda will charge about 30 grand plus change.

Last edited by vredesbyrd : 2nd December 2020 at 20:15.
vredesbyrd is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 2nd December 2020, 23:12   #43

Well after further diagnosis I have been told that the sound is in fact coming from the crankshaft and bearings. The crankshaft is on the way to lathe from the industry as a little crack is formed on the crankshaft and even though it was not the timing chain issue they recommended changing the timing chain as well along with this. The Local Garage that is doing the work is somebody whom I trust more than the ASS.So followed their advice and told them to change the Timing chain too as my car has clocked more than 1 lakh km. As for the cost of the repair, I have not yet received the correct quote from them.
But I'm expecting around 1 lakh. Just for the Timing chain, I got a quote of 25k (FEBI Brand) Rest Labour charges I will get to know soon. Hope everything goes well.

Last edited by lancer_maniac : 2nd December 2020 at 23:13.
lancer_maniac is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2020, 08:28   #44

But I'm expecting around 1 lakh. Just for the Timing chain, I got a quote of 25k (FEBI Brand) Rest Labour charges I will get to know soon. Hope everything goes well.
Make sure that you change the timing chain guides as well
ajmat is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd December 2020, 10:23   #45

Infractions: 0/2 (9)

The crankshaft is on the way to lathe from the industry as a little crack is formed on the crankshaft and even though it was not the timing chain issue they recommended changing the timing chain as well along with this.
Oh well, glad to know that the issue was identified and preventive measures have been taken care of. 25k for a TC + additional labour sounds reasonable enough for an N57 engine (rear mounted chain, ouch!). Hope you get a final quote much less than 1L and the car becomes new again.
vredesbyrd is offline   (2) Thanks