Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 15th October 2020, 21:17   #1
Distinguished - BHPian

The story of a 1995 Maruti Esteem

Background

This story dates back to end 2000, when I graduated from my 1993 Premier Padmini to wanting a more modern car.

Acknowledgement

Thank You, bhpians @BeemerBug_06 and @porsche_guy for helping me out with some representative pictures for this thread.

Why did I want to sell the Padmini?

I’d narrated the story of my 1993 Premier Padmini to you all just a week ago.

Details here (1993 Premier Padmini - Ownership Experience & Flood Restoration)

The reasons I sold the Padmini were:

a) The market for the Padmini was dropping fast with the advent of the Zen, the Santro and the new kid off the block , Wagon-R; fans of Padminis were getting rarer.
b) The Padmini was a corrosion magnet, and this would have continued to need attention over years if I had retained the car
c) The Santro, then 2 years into the market, was a technologically “advanced” product with a 12 valve engine at a killer price of some INR 3.0 lacs; same with the Wagon-R with its MPFI 16 valve engine. Both these cars made me realise that investing in a technologically better car was a good option.

When I discussed this with my mentor, Chacha, he told me to first sell the Padmini before examining another option. He also understood market dynamics then and felt that there was nothing wrong in giving away the Padmini.

How I sold the Padmini?

Since the market for the Padmini was dropping, I realised that the best target segment for the Padmini would be company employees (first time car owners, especially), and then decided to set up notices on the notice boards of shopping centers of all major townships in the Surat -Hazira area; no newspaper ads, no word of mouth publicity, nothing.