Team-BHP > Technical Stuff
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 22nd July 2021, 15:43   #1

VW Goofup : MID only shows speed warning & nothing else at 80 kmph

Hello all,

Warm greetings!!!
I am a newbie to this great community of auto enthusiasts. I am super excited to be interacting with many like minded people in this community. This will make me stay energetic and my love for cars and 2 wheelers will not tapper.

I own a BS6 GT TSI. This machine is the top pick for any auto enthusiast. Perhaps I had zeroed down with this little hot hatch based on few criteria.

1. Powerful engine
2. Automatic transmission (with Hill hold)
3. Handling
4. Safety.
5. Build quality

Two compromises which I did was

1. Rear leg room space
2. Low slung ingress and egress for my dad who is in early 70s.

In the automatics there were very little options with hill hold feature

1. DZIRE
2. AMAZE CVT (brochure does not mention this specifically but CVTs can hold inclines)

Dzire was off due to its safety but now I feel its a very good package.
Amaze was off due to the looks and ingress and egress was even lower. The boot was large and I am sure if the boot swallows more luggage, the car tends to be very closer to ground and may take a hit on its belly.

This pandemic and lockdowns has given me very little space to be behind the wheels. Once I had to take for a long distance drive on my GTTSI and I found a peculiar issue. When I cross 80 kmph speed, you get a alarm chime which is mandatory as per govt rules. However the MID displays only 80 kmph and I cant see any other information like DTE, Mileage, Engine running time, etc. It is in a state of locked situation and I have reduce the speed to glance through those other information which is of interest. This is something I am sure will be in all BS6 VW SKODA cars.