Old 24th August 2011, 12:54   #3676

re: The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread

Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
During rainy season or after a drive through mud/slush if you park overnight or for few days with hand brakes on chances are due to surface corrosion the drum brakes can get stuck. The first run in the morning will break open the stuck part which may cause jerk with some snapping sound- it is normal. However, it could also be due to a faulty/leaky slave cylinder inside drum, but, it is less likely for a car only one year old with low KMs on odo.-BJ
Thanks for this . The exact thing that you described happens. Only I use parking brakes lot while at signals due to slopes and do not want to do the balancing with clutch and accelerator.

Originally Posted by bj96 View Post
Brakes will be hard unless engine is running (no engine vacuum and booster pressure). Are you comparing the hardness of brake lever when engine is stopped vs when it is idling?
-BJ
Will to be frank hardness only while starting the car at morning. During run/idling or when engine is toped after a run there is nothing. Only if the car is kept unused for a day in rains.

UPDATE

Just got the car back from TASS. They said that the mouse had ate the ABS wiring of front wheel. My questions.

1>I had this jerky feeling since last week when I had initially repaired my wiring as rats had ate through my injectors . So is it possible that while repair job they had not checked the ABS wiring for cuts . It may have been partially cut and with time be loose.
Also on the computer it showed abs wiriing open /short at rear wheel and after repairing the TASS guy says it was damaged on front wheel. Is that possible.
Third I had a tyre rotation this service. Can that cause a cut
2>I had decided to watch over the work and even waited for 3 hrs but due to load I could not wait further as per work commitments. Hence do not know if it was a fresh attack. My car was parked in same spot. For 2 weeks i had been regularly using tobacco but last week due to rains i got a bit lazy and did not change my pouch so these two factors are against my side complaining for TASS misjob if any

3.Just an advice. I have decided to change parking spots regularly now by keeping my car here and there on 4 -5 basis. will this help. Incidentally my car and my bros car are parked back to back , but his car never got attacked by rats anytime. Experts please guide

Last edited by lodhra : 24th August 2011 at 12:57.
Old 24th August 2011, 13:16   #3677

Just an advice. I have decided to change parking spots regularly now by keeping my car here and there on 4 -5 basis. will this help. Incidentally my car and my bros car are parked back to back , but his car never got attacked by rats anytime. Experts please guide
If there are rats in the parking lot, they are not confined to on particular parking slot, they can get into any car in any slot.
BTW, what car does your brother own? Maybe, the rats are employed by m&m to make Tata look bad
Old 24th August 2011, 13:24   #3678

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
If there are rats in the parking lot, they are not confined to on particular parking slot, they can get into any car in any slot.
BTW, what car does your brother own? Maybe, the rats are employed by m&m to make Tata look bad
My bro has a dezire. In my building the parking lots a re few and on opposite sides of the building like east and west .

However as suggested by some that since the car when not used remains at one place especially in rainy season the rats find it easy to go in and hide and then start chewing. So please keep changing spots regularly

Also I am planning to put tobacco pouches by tying them like LEd bulb design back and front and also in the bonnet.

My dad would be in a shocker as to why I am purchasing so much tobacco but I guess it helps than the pain to go to TASS everytime and pay xxxxx just to get the wiring taped

Hoping for the best
Old 24th August 2011, 13:42   #3679

I've heard Tobacco helps, but in my case I used to have the rat ingress problem as I would park my car in my farm late at night, so I would give the rats a free ride home to our garage, they would then make themselves comfortable enough to start a family, I usually would get rid of the problem in the old fashioned way of placing a rat trap with bait, worked most of the times. luckily, have not had this problem in the recent past.
Old 24th August 2011, 13:51   #3680

Originally Posted by lodhra View Post
Also I am planning to put tobacco pouches by tying them like LEd bulb design back and front and also in the bonnet.

My dad would be in a shocker as to why I am purchasing so much tobacco but I guess it helps than the pain to go to TASS everytime and pay xxxxx just to get the wiring taped
---
So you have addicted all rats in your area for Tobacco. That is why they come to your car each and every time regardless of parking spot.

I also suggest you use lots of rat killing tablets around your car. This way population of rats will become less.
Old 24th August 2011, 14:11   #3681

Originally Posted by anujmishra View Post
So you have addicted all rats in your area for Tobacco. That is why they come to your car each and every time regardless of parking spot.

Hopefully the tobacco I use is so noxious one would vomit straight away. But maybe these Mumbai rats can digest anything.

Yeah thinking of rat kill too

Old 24th August 2011, 22:20   #3682

Don't know whether its right thread to express or not but just saying my heart...
After reading and going through quite a number of issues regarding the new safaris, I go back to the dilemma of deciding which SUV....
I sincerely think that the lack of "Do Right at First Time" is discouraging the potential costumers and scorpio cashing on the same despite lacking much...
I wonder even after staying in market for so long TATA is simply not able to give fellow Indians a reliable niggle free car.
If ever got a chance, would humbly request Ratan Tata to please share and use some technical expertize from Jaguar and L Rover, not to redesign but only to improve the reliability of Safaris in honest way.
Honda Monk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 26th August 2011, 16:44   #3683

Originally Posted by shams_4x4 View Post
Can you please post a picture of this (where exactly one has to place the pieces of CC) for everybody's benefit.

Shams
The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread-remscrew.jpg

Remove these screws and cut the pad in same size as its bottom.

The Tata Safari 2.2L Technical / Problems Thread-insert-pad.jpg

Insert these cut out paddings and tighten the OEM rubber pad on top of them.
dadu is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 11:44   #3684

My safari went in for 4th free service (30K service) today; She is at 29,600kms.
No major complaints; SA at KHT Motors Ramesh said he'll check the brake pads and let me know if they need replacement.

I had read in this thread that someone had replaced their brake pads with pads procured from JC Road.. Can someone confirm if this is under warranty? If I procure the pads myself and provice to KHT, will they fit it without any impact on warranty? I"m asking this because if I remember right the same pads are available in JC road for half the price... correct me if I'm wrong...
Old 29th August 2011, 12:01   #3685

@verditer, it was me who got the TVS brake pad from JC road. I got it for 1400/- and got it replaced from a local garage, never bothered to inform the TASS.
Old 29th August 2011, 12:28   #3686

Originally Posted by LionX View Post
@verditer, it was me who got the TVS brake pad from JC road. I got it for 1400/- and got it replaced from a local garage, never bothered to inform the TASS.
Thanks, LionX.. I just went back and read your old posts on this subject.

Originally Posted by Lukeskywalker View Post
My Safari brake pads also need to be changed soon I guess (36k on the odo as of now), the price difference from Tata and outside is too tempting.
Lukeskywalker - What did you do? :-)

Ofcourse, the 3k price difference is tempting. KHT Service Advisor quoted Rs.4300 for the brake pads.
Old 29th August 2011, 12:45   #3687

Originally Posted by dadu View Post
Attachment 600004

Remove these screws and cut the pad in same size as its bottom.

Attachment 600005

Insert these cut out paddings and tighten the OEM rubber pad on top of them.
If this does not work, Change the tailgate lock to the Sumo type. Rs 750/- at any TASS. complete peace of mind.
Old 29th August 2011, 15:19   #3688

Lukeskywalker - What did you do? :-)
I have bought a set of TVS Girling brake pads for 1350/- and had given it to the SA at Prerana when I the vehicle was in for service, he said the current brake pads still have life, so the brake pads I bought are lying in the car.
Old 29th August 2011, 22:35   #3689

Need some information regarding my Safari Dicor 3 Litre. It has done about 1 Lac kilometers with regular servicing etc and is in perfect running condition. The only thing which has never been done till date is the "timing belt" change. So the question is when do I get it done as I did not find any information regarding the same in the manual.

If need be, I would want to get it done proactively. Please advise.
Old 29th August 2011, 23:02   #3690

Originally Posted by Dragonov View Post
It has done about 1 Lac kilometers with regular servicing etc and is in perfect running condition.
Its reports like this that I love to read

Originally Posted by Dragonov View Post

If need be, I would want to get it done proactively. Please advise.
Its good to change the timing belt and check the pulleys now that the truck has reached 1 lac kms. I remember this conversation with a TASS SA that they recommend a "check and replace" of the timing belt at around 50k kms. So even if it has not given you any trouble, its due for a replacement I guess. It costs around Rs. 1000/-

Last edited by Kairalee : 29th August 2011 at 23:04. Reason: typo

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com