Old 27th July 2011, 13:02   #91

Re: Mahindra Thar: How I made sure I didn't lose the forest for the trees !!

Before an impression is created that I hijacked DKG's ownership thread for some Thar bashing, I would like to clear something.

Please read my first post, and subsequent posts. I wished DKG all the best with the Thar and hoped that the vehicle with all it's shortcomings suits his needs. I did not nitpick on any of it's faults, etc. I have done plenty of that in the official review thread.

My bone to pick with DKG was his statement that this is the best vehicle Mahindra could have made for 7.5 lakhs, and that anything better would have cost us upwards of 10 lakhs. If ownership of a vehicle for three weeks can allow you to make statements like that, then ownership of some common sense for slightly longer than that allows me to say it aint so.

And invariably every defense of the Thar has to make a trip down to Mayapuri to make it look good.

You may please continue with your review of the Thar. I really dont care if your window winder breaks and Mr. BD and Spike helps you get the best window winder that the Thar could get which they wanted to put in the frst place, but CMVR didnt allow them or some cock and bull story like that. Makes interesting reading, that's for sure.

Peace out.
gthang is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 13:15   #92
AWD

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
Without driving a vehicle assessing it and its mfg is like someone writing off a dish, its cook, and a restaurant without ever dining there or eating the preparation !

And yes in light of your never having driven a Thar you just rendered your entire perspective on the issue "in-credible"
Really sad that we come across such comments/statements everywhere on the Board. Think my Signature here aptly fits the scene & does the talking.

Further clarifying on this, I for one do fully trust various TD reports on t-bhp & other members experiences hands on. So, in case if I haven't TD'ed a vehicle doesn't mean that I don't know of it.

FYI, TD reports on ACI Mag. or on tbhp are very authentic, neutral & weigh a product perfectly. I could blindly trust any of them & make a purchase if I like.

On the other hand I've myself tried the Thar & confirm to the views of Khan Sultan who carried out a full TD report on this Board.
AWD is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 13:41   #93

Thanks DKG

I understand there is, I think for the rear differential only.

Obviously the engine can be tweaked for more performance. However, stock the engine is a bomb I doubt if I would ever need more power.
Well it can add more grunt with more torque?

On the stock tyres your wheel travel is not limited on account of tyre size, so you will have no impact on articulation with smaller tyres.
I was reading the TD review done by khan_sultan and Tejas - and there were a couple of pics, where it was shown that while off roading the front tyre was rendered immovable because is was touching the body. My question is due to that

http://www.team-bhp.com/carpics/mahi...ah-thar-24.jpg
Old 27th July 2011, 13:57   #94
DKG

Originally Posted by sach.sri View Post
the front tyre was rendered immovable because is was touching the body. My question is due to that
My CJ3b rear tyre fouls withe inner fender wall and takes the paint off leaving a arc scar.

From the little offroading I did with the test Thar I didn't think this is a issue. However as and when I start using my Thar offroad will update on whether this is a issue to be bothered about.
DKG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 14:44   #95

Deepak,

Congratulations! on the Harley + Thar! Awesome twosome in your garage!

Now. if you're planning to let go of the cj3b...... ;-) ;-)

cheers!
smsrini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 18:14   #96

Originally Posted by gthang View Post
a working tow hook, etc, etc. Cheers.
Dear gthang - (here I go once again) - as per CMVR (I do not make CMVR, I just implement it), fuel tank is a regulated component which calls for it being where it is, so no "K" member on the chassis, so no tow hook in production. Period. If tow hook is in production, then we need to meet CMVR on it, which calls for a plethora of tests. Also, the fuel tank is common to Bolero VLX, so no development cost, no lead time, no problem. I have been saying this for a very long time, but somehow it does not seem to register. Therefore, please understand. Further, our great customers will complain if I don't give a footstep, so a rear footstep comes in. If you still want a tow hook, you can always do it on one car, it's no big deal, see the army MM540s out there, it is there on all of them and it works too. Go and buy one from the great Mayapuri, they will sell you the whole thing for around 1500 bucks. Paint it black and fit it, that's all.

If I had waited to meet your requirement and that of many others like you, there would have been lots of discussions on budget, CMVR, market analysis, benchmarking, product positioning etc but there would have been no Thar for Deepak to buy. Today, he has bought it, which is what I wanted, which I have achieved and I have absolutely no hesitancy in stating so. You understand? . I hope at least now you do!

Best regards,

Behram dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 18:23   #97

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
If I had waited to meet your requirement and that of many others like you, there would have been lots of discussions on budget, CMVR, market analysis, benchmarking, product positioning etc but there would have been no Thar for Deepak to buy. Today, he has bought it, which is what I wanted, which I have achieved and I have absolutely no hesitancy in stating so. You understand? . I hope at least now you do!
Sir, I earnestly believe that none of the above has been done.

Deepak has bought a THAR cos he did not have any other choice in the market and in that BUDGET. PERIOD
headers is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 18:31   #98

Originally Posted by headers View Post
Sir, I earnestly believe that none of the above has been done.

Deepak has bought a THAR cos he did not have any other choice in the market and in that BUDGET. PERIOD
Vikram, the bold part of your statement is the hard truth. We live in an unequal unjust world with their shortcomings.

So rather than continuously harping on "WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN", let us allow DKG to enjoy his THAR.

@gthang: I have been seeing your post on the THAR TD thread as well and to me it seems that you have a deep down hatred for this product. Nobody here is saying that you cannot have an opinion and the forum is definitely a place where we exchange ideas and opinions.

But spewing vile about a product based primarily on hearsay (since you have driven it) is JUST NOT ACCEPTABLE!

Last edited by MileCruncher : 27th July 2011 at 18:46.
MileCruncher is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 19:40   #99

Lovely looking Thar Deepak. Congratulations. A little later in the day but nonetheless.

The tyres id recommend are; (in no order of preference) Maxxis Big Horns, Cooper STs Hankooks but im sure you've already made up your mind in that direction. I suggest you dont upgrade to more than 10.5 x 31.
Anything larger just loads up the knuckles and joints and adds weight. Also Black Rocks are the rims to get. With the colour, the matt black colour of the rims will be a killer.

Im waiting to see your Thar with its add ons. Meanwhile enjoy the lovely engine.
V-16 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 22:27   #100
DKG

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
im sure you've already made up your mind in that direction
Actually I haven't ! and will consider your suggestions before I zero in on a good AT tyre. Interesting you recommend the matt black alloy as my thoughts are along the same lines as you can tell from what I've done till I get the alloys

Mahindra Thar: How I made sure I didn't lose the forest for the trees !!-img_0235.jpg

Mahindra Thar: How I made sure I didn't lose the forest for the trees !!-img_0238.jpg

Mahindra Thar: How I made sure I didn't lose the forest for the trees !!-img_0239.jpg

I kind of like the rocky beige and matt black theme with minimal chrome and aluminium accents so you'll notice I've had the side wall of the foot step painted a matt black too to reduce the visual arrest the bright large footstep otherwise caused. Now the aluminium strip visible from the side as a narrow strip doesn't draw your attention too much and the car side profile has balanced out visually.

Originally Posted by headers View Post
For a no nonsense go anywhere offroader I would have loved to buy a Toyota FJ Cruiser but they don't make it in RHD nor do they sell it in India and even if they did I wouldn't be able to afford it right now.

Defender or a Wrangler, both not available and I'm sure not less than 15 lacs.

Even if I were to compromise a little bit on the go anywhere factor the next most desirable vehicle for me was a Fortuner but at 24 lacs its too much of a stretch.

Further down even the Aria is something that looks interesting but its 16 lacs. Scorpio is at 13 lacs and Getaway at 10.5

So the Thar made tons of sense to me. It gives me what I want in a small and ideal sized package. Great on road driveability, very good offroad ability to take me places no other car will and all this at 7.5 lacs. Once the new car novelty wears off I know I will have a ball offroading with it without worrying too much !

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
So rather than continuously harping on "WHAT COULD HAVE BEEN", let us allow DKG to enjoy his THAR.
Actually MC the "what could have been" concept offroader has not been as dramatically compromised in the Thar as a lot of people wish to project. The Thar is a great offroader and in time more and more people will warm up to its offroad ability. Already in Hyderabad a whole bunch of diehard Jeep fans are planning to buy Thars. I feel you'll see this trend across the country.
DKG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th July 2011, 23:34   #101

Actually MC the "what could have been" concept offroader has not been as dramatically compromised in the Thar as a lot of people wish to project. The Thar is a great offroader and in time more and more people will warm up to its offroad ability. Already in Hyderabad a whole bunch of diehard Jeep fans are planning to buy Thars. I feel you'll see this trend across the country.
Actually DeepakJi, I'm still looking at procuring the THAR albeit without Bidisha's knowledge

Old 27th July 2011, 23:52   #102

So the Thar made tons of sense to me. It gives me what I want in a small and ideal sized package. Great on road driveability, very good offroad ability to take me places no other car will and all this at 7.5 lacs.

MY 2cs -

IMHO it is the lack of competition that is causing a lot of these negative reactions about the Thar packaging and it not being what was expected in the money, etc.

If we had an option - then we could have compared what we are getting at the same price.

I guess - we could try to do a comparison with the cost of wranglers et all in the price they are available abroad with the Thar price here, but it is not a direct conversion. However i guess it could still give us some general idea and then we could see the "value Vs price" ot Thar.

On second thoughts - maybe it is good that we dont have another option, else M&M would not have launched it at this price point? Something to ponder?

@BD sir -any advice on how to get more articulation in Thar? I was reading some posts by SA Thar owners and they seem to have lifted their Thar and it is handling w/o issue? Your comments pls.

Last edited by sach.sri : 27th July 2011 at 23:55.
Old 28th July 2011, 09:13   #103

Sorry Mate,Have been following this thread and respect your feelings but my take on this is that--Mahindra has been the only company to offer us a jalopy which is affordable and rugged.It's a fact that no other company here in India has ventured to dole out a 4 wd product in this price range-so I don't think we can accuse Mahindra of taking a huge profit.I owned a mahindra jeep for around 10 years and I must say that I enjoyed every moment of it.I still regret having sold my classic for a swift( A sacrifice for my wife who preferred the comforts of a car) and was extremely disappointed when M&M stopped producing their soft-tops,just before the Thar was brought into the Indian market. I cannot afford a Pajero or a Wrangler or even a Xenon and even if I could I will not enjoy having to dole out a fancy amount for maintenance,spare parts etc.For people like me who love vehicles like the old cast iron bullet and the Mahindra jeep, any salvo against a company which has kept this good thing going and within reach of those with a limited budget is hard to stomach--but no offence to you mate--you might have your reasons and I respect them. Take care. Cheers.
Originally Posted by gthang View Post

Before an impression is created that I hijacked DKG's ownership thread for some Thar bashing, I would like to clear something.

Please read my first post, and subsequent posts. I wished DKG all the best with the Thar and hoped that the vehicle with all it's shortcomings suits his needs. I did not nitpick on any of it's faults, etc. I have done plenty of that in the official review thread.

My bone to pick with DKG was his statement that this is the best vehicle Mahindra could have made for 7.5 lakhs, and that anything better would have cost us upwards of 10 lakhs. If ownership of a vehicle for three weeks can allow you to make statements like that, then ownership of some common sense for slightly longer than that allows me to say it aint so.

And invariably every defense of the Thar has to make a trip down to Mayapuri to make it look good.

You may please continue with your review of the Thar. I really dont care if your window winder breaks and Mr. BD and Spike helps you get the best window winder that the Thar could get which they wanted to put in the frst place, but CMVR didnt allow them or some cock and bull story like that. Makes interesting reading, that's for sure.

Peace out.
Old 28th July 2011, 10:29   #104
DKG

Originally Posted by sach.sri View Post
we could try to do a comparison with the cost of wranglers et all in the price they are available abroad with the Thar price here, but it is not a direct conversion. However i guess it could still give us so
The Wrangler Sport, which is the least expensive would cost a whopping 20 lacs in India with an onroad price close to the Fortuner if it were imported CBU. Even if they were to assemble the car here it won't cost you anything less than 15-17 lacs. So at 7.5 I personally feel the Thar is super value.
Old 28th July 2011, 10:35   #105

DKG, thank you for sharing your experiences with the Thar. I know you will keep updating this thread for the benefit of everyone.

I too believe that the Thar could have been much better. And I sincerely hope that Mahindra is working on improving this vehicle now that they know that the Thar sells. And I agree with BD. Had it been a boardroom decision, after deliberating over the whole vehicle design process, we might have never seen this vehicle.

There is the Thar and there is hope...

And stop posting these awesome pictures DKG. How can you keep tempting someone? Very unfair.
pjbiju is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com