re: YetiBlog® - TheOne® buys a car. (VW Polo 1.2 ) ... and the Zxi has a stereo system too.
I give the lady a look. I don't really need the stereo system, I'm going to throw it out anyway.
And so it comes to pass that on a Sunday morning at 11am, I am sitting in the front seat of a Maruti Ritz with my wife as she drives it straight to the seaface.
As she drives i take a good look at the car. As does the other car lover in our household, Akbar. Kaisa dikhta hai gaadi. Jaisa uska kamar tootela hai. (The car looks like its back is broken). He stands behind the rear dicky door with one hand on his back, bending backwards like an old man with a broken back and does his best imitation of the rather unique rear styling. Clearly Akbar doesn't like the car. But this isn't about Akbar, is it?
The dashboard is covered in some kind of strange blue stuff. It looks sporty I guess, but I'm rather used to seeing greys and black moulded ABS dashboards.
Nice sporty like tachometer poised on top.
She;s driving merrily, taking turns and yes, honking. Madam bahut solid gaadi chaalati hai says a grinning Akbar from the back seat. Clearly he has decided to join in the test drive. And? I ask her in German. Yeah.
She replies in a kind of yeah that only a married man would understand. It starts rather positively and somewhere towards the middle of the yeah the tone rises slightly making it more interrogative and ends in a question.
After about 20 minutes of zippy driving along the coast she asks Akbar to drive so she can sit in the back.
Ummm OK I guess.
As we both sit in the back, the sales lady is singing paeans about the amazing little Ritz.
Me, I'm pretty sold on the car and ready to take the cheque book out.
And so? I ask, grinning. A knowing question, what can possibly go wrong with this car. All she has to do is choose the colour. I don't like it. She says in German.
CRASH! No this is not Akbar driving. This is my little bubble bursting. You don't like it?
No. I don't like it at all.
You don't like it at all?
It looks cheap. Cheap?
Will you stop repeating every last word with a question?
What is cheap with this car?
Oh the... she looks around. Just the feel. The upholstery, the seats, the seat belt, the dashboard, the door plastic, the window switches the way the door closes with this tin sound, the...
What's wrong with you? Are you comparing this to the superb? No. I don't like this car.
Well this is what you get in India for 5 lacs something.
I don't want it. I will not buy this car. So sir when shall I send somebody to collect the cheque?
I turn to the lady oblivious to the German veto.
I need some more days to decide, say I.
Oh dear.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Once again, I mean no offense to any Ritz owners or disrespect to the car itself. The Ritz is a great car. This is a European opinion and the European standard of vehicles and their expectation levels of interior trim is very different from japanese/korean counterparts.
This is all only the opinion of my wife. Who is a picky woman.
Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 21st December 2011 at 13:43.
|