Team-BHP - Tata Nano Twist XT : Driven

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Tata Nano Twist XT : Driven (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/146600-tata-nano-twist-xt-driven-16.html)

Originally Posted by kutoos (Post 3459281)
I did not inquire about Filming from them as i had planned to do it at 3M, baner.
The quote I got from them was as follows

Front Wind shield CRE 70 : 7990. Another 15K if i use this film for the sides and back.

Regular RE70 Film (sides & back) : 5154

Congrats for your new car!
Why don't you check for V-Kool films. Considering size of front windshield of Nano, will suggest you to go for V-Kool. I am using it in my DZire for almost 6 years. It is bit expensive than 3M but very good in terms of heat reduction and visibility. 3M do not have as transparent film as V-Kool, especially for front.

Originally Posted by sameervg (Post 3459496)
3M do not have as transparent film as V-Kool, especially for front.

Not so - the CR90 is more transparent than any from V Kool, and just as good. Bear in mind though that all of them are illegal. 3M at Baner does an excellent job with everything that they do.

Originally Posted by sameervg (Post 3459496)
Congrats for your new car!
Why don't you check for V-Kool films. Considering size of front windshield of Nano, will suggest you to go for V-Kool. I am using it in my DZire for almost 6 years. It is bit expensive than 3M but very good in terms of heat reduction and visibility. 3M do not have as transparent film as V-Kool, especially for front.

Thanks sameervg for the tip. Will check on the Vkool offerings as well.

Probably!. The sad part is that I'm waiting on the RTO formalities to get over, and the Car is just parked at home. The sales exec has promised to resolve all this by tomorrow and keeping fingers crossed. Have you taken delivery of your vehicle?

My delivery is also delayed. The dealer has asked for several forms etc for the TATA employee discount to be applied. It seems he is sending the papers today to RTO for registration formalities, and I should get the car in 3-4 days.

I also suggest that you reset your ODO right at the dealership as later when you are doing the settings, you may accidentally reset the ODO as it was the case with me.

Sorry, did not understood this part. Can you actually reset the main ODO of the car back to zero by just pressing a few buttons ? I thought it was not possible in normal operation at least for the new generation digital ODO.

what was the ODO reading before you got this reset at dealership for your car ?

I did not inquire about Filming from them as i had planned to do it at 3M, baner.
The quote I got from them was as follows

Front Wind shield CRE 70 : 7990. Another 15K if i use this film for the sides and back.

Regular RE70 Film (sides & back) : 5154
Paint Sealant: 2316
Anti Rust : 3022

What is the difference between Paint Sealant and Teflon ? or are the 2 same ?

The other issue I'm having is for the new twist seat covers are not available this part of the town, checked with Carax as well as one on Baner Road. Plan to take it to Poona Motors or Deccan to see if there are better options.

I'm not going for alloys.

If you have not done this and planning any of the above we can both gang up on the accessories and wrangle more discount?

Cheers & Happy driving.:)

If you get some good seat covers, do provide me the pointer as well, or I will go for custom made fitted seat covers after monsoon.

My car's deliver is delayed so I would suggest you go ahead, if not already finished accessorizing the car.

Originally Posted by john doe (Post 3459389)
Use a relay , even if you want a smaller horn set. BTW, I have tried till date 3 different horns sets after the original toy horn. From the smallest Pulsar horns to the Megasonic Enfield horns to what I am using now, the Skoda type. I suggest the best horns for a car, especially a small car is the Skoda type. Not too loud and irritating, yet effective in this @#$%^*& Pune traffic:Frustrati

All brands are ok. I think you will find Minda trumpet / fanfare horns very reasonably priced.

I'll be surprised if the bigger tyres work out. Even my stock tyres scrape the wheel well when taking full turns on slopes, etc.

Yeah, will get the relay and not risk anything on the electrical.

BTW, scraping of stock tyres is a new issue, that I heard for the first time. Are you sure there is no issue with the suspensions or any other component that is causing this. TATA cars are famous (notorious) for having much larger wheel wells than required.

Originally Posted by mittal_v2002 (Post 3461513)
Sorry, did not understood this part. Can you actually reset the main ODO of the car back to zero by just pressing a few buttons ? I thought it was not possible in normal operation at least for the new generation digital ODO.

what was the ODO reading before you got this reset at dealership for your car

I was equally surprised. Yes you read my post right the ODO can be reset only Once in the Nano. Dealer Claims it to be a feature where it can be reset and given to the customer. When I took delivery, the ODO was read 15 KMS, after driving about a couple of days, the ODO stood at 33. Then when I was setting the date, I did a long press of the reset key when the MID was showing the ODO reading, all was rest to 0. I tried again but that did not work !

What is the difference between Paint Sealant and Teflon ? or are the 2 same ?

Paint Sealant or Paint protection is a protective coat which 3M applies over the factory finish. They say it enhances the original paint life. The anti-rust here refers to the under body coating or teflon coating as you mentioned.

Originally Posted by mshooli (Post 3417797)
i did check with the dealer today. no child safety lock feature in the Nano.

How on earth did TATA miss adding this. Its more a requirement than a feature.

An alternate would be to remove the cable release leading to the internal release handle. Its a mod that won't void warranty too. This disables the internal door open lever permanently. If you see yourself with children sitting there most of the time, this can work as a solution.

My wife is considering a Nano. We were looking at the full option Alto 800 with driver airbag. Thats a good one lac over the Nano XT and out of her budget.

...What is the difference between Paint Sealant and Teflon ? or are the 2 same ?

Theres NO such thing as teflon coating for cars in India anymore. Please go through the multiple threads started by experts in the forum.

My friend just had this issue at Hyundai.

...BTW, scraping of stock tyres is a new issue, that I heard for the first time. Are you sure there is no issue with the suspensions or any other component that is causing this...
No issues for me in the last 4 years & 17k kms, my stock tyres have never scraped in any condition.

...TATA cars are famous (notorious) for having much larger wheel wells than required...
Really? any specific car?

Originally Posted by sandeepmohan (Post 3464672)

My wife is considering a Nano. We were looking at the full option Alto 800 with driver airbag. Thats a good one lac over the Nano XT and out of her budget.

I test drove both Tata Nano Twist and Alto 800. As a city car, Nano is leagues ahead of Alto in space, comfort and features. I found it difficult to get in and out of Alto but no such problems in Nano. So bought the Nano twist and am very happy with my decision. In my case also, this will be my wife's car for her to drop kids to school etc and driving is a breeze in Nano.

Yes if airbags is a mandatory requirement for you, then Alto is the only alternative in the below 4 lakh category. For me, I would have loved to have airbag in Nano. Since we plan to use it strictly as a city car, decided that airbag is not an absolute necessity.

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi;

Really? any specific car?

I particularly meant Indicas, they looked as if those were designed for 15 inch wheels and at the last moment were fitted with 13 inch :). It may be just my eyes that see it that way, but I feel the wheel arches are too big for the wheels fitted on the car. stupid:

But than only TATAs are not to be blamed here. Almost every car manufacturer in india is putting thinner/smaller tyres on the cars in the name of fuel economy.

Originally Posted by chennai-indian (Post 3465038)
I test drove both Tata Nano Twist and Alto 800. As a city car, Nano is leagues ahead of Alto in space, comfort and features. I found it difficult to get in and out of Alto but no such problems in Nano. So bought the Nano twist and am very happy with my decision. In my case also, this will be my wife's car for her to drop kids to school etc and driving is a breeze in Nano.

Yes if airbags is a mandatory requirement for you, then Alto is the only alternative in the below 4 lakh category. For me, I would have loved to have airbag in Nano. Since we plan to use it strictly as a city car, decided that airbag is not an absolute necessity.

Ditto... having disc on front and airbags would have been good. but in this price segment, I preferred Nano over Alto. Going to take the delivery of my car today. Hope everything goes well.

Originally Posted by chennai-indian (Post 3465038)

ABSOLUTELY true. I've even asked on the Alto Review thread why people chose it over the Nano, but haven't got a reply yet!

I've even driven my neighbours Alto and found it extremely cramped. Nano is ANYDAY better. I really wonder how come people are just buying the Alto without even considering the Nano.

Airbag being necessary or not doesn't depend on whether you drive in city or highway. Just that, in Highways you're always at a good pace. But its also useful in city. Infact TATA even tried to get airbags made for 10$ for the Nano! But then I guess the volumes didn't build for the scalability to work out.

Originally Posted by mittal_v2002 (Post 3465082)
I particularly meant Indicas,

OK, must be.

Ditto... having disc on front and airbags would have been good. but in this price segment, I preferred Nano over Alto. Going to take the delivery of my car today. Hope everything goes well.
True, even cycles have Dics nowadays, but don't worry the drums are quite good too. (They're just as reliable, even Fortuner has all-round drums *just saying* ).

:thumbs up All the best! Have a great time with the Nano. Looking forward to an initial ownership review soon! :)

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi (Post 3465104)
... even Fortuner has all-round drums *just saying* ).

:Shockked: Since when? The monster will behave like untamed barbarian without discs at least on the front. In fact, it is something which should ideally have discs all around but for the time being, it has front discs.

I am actually planning to drive in my 2011 Nano CX, done 29K+ Kms for an Nano Twist.The current car has served me well in city and highway rides and has no issues. The only reason I am looking for an change is for better interiors and comfort (Not PS but wife may start driving in a few months). Please advise if I can actually go in for change,Thanks.

Originally Posted by saket77 (Post 3465153)
:Shockked: Since when? The monster will behave like untamed barbarian without discs at least on the front. In fact, it is something which should ideally have discs all around but for the time being, it has front discs.

Oops, my bad. Yes, it has Discs in the front sorry:.

Originally Posted by GrammarNazi (Post 3465104)

Airbag being necessary or not doesn't depend on whether you drive in city or highway. Just that, in Highways you're always at a good pace. But its also useful in city.

Agree and that is why I mentioned that I would have loved to have airbag in the Nano and would have been willing to pay extra for it. I chose Nano over Alto 800 with airbag because the trade off was too much - more than a lakh of Rs more for the Alto and I get cramped interiors, a lower seating position etc in the bargain.

Took the delivery on Friday evening. So far the impression is good.

What I liked
- AC is superb... Have to switch the blower to lowest in a few minutes and turn the cooling nob by at least a point to avoid shivering. Pune is not too hot these days, so real test will come on a hotter day
- Power steering is very light. Feels way too light to e, and I guess it will be good for wifey. May not be too good for me as my Elantra's steering would start feeling heavy.
- The leg room on the rear is quite good. Rear seats will be mostly used by kids so seat width is not an issue.

What I didn't
- Not much on the list so far, but the driver seat lacks some under thigh support. Perhaps some extra padding while doing seat covers may be required, or it may be just getting used to of the seat.
- Steering wheel is too thin for my comfort level. Again I should get used to of the same. A leather wrapping will be done anyway and that will give it some fat :).

A few pics now, taken during PDI.