Old 11th July 2016, 21:13   #16

Re: Look ma, no clutch! My Maruti Dzire ZDi AMT

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post messages that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further. We request you to post ONLY when you have something substantial to add to a discussion.

Last edited by GTO : 14th July 2016 at 09:32.
ALTIMAed is offline   Received Infraction
Old 11th July 2016, 21:28   #17

Update - 5000km up and 2nd free service done.

I insisted on an oil change (regular mineral oil) this time as well as I have been revving it to hit just 1000 rpm short of the red line in the 1-2-3 gears as a part of the run-in process.

Issues noticed :-
- One of the wiper spray nozzles was not working. Culprit was sediment in the water. SA advised to go with drinking water while topping the wiper spray container
- The rear left blind came off when my son's friend pulled it hard. It was replaced under warranty
- The fuel filter was replaced under the recall program
- I did ask them about slowing down the reverse speed and I was informed nothing can be done about it

The car has become very smooth. Driving in the traffic is a breeze and the M mode is a big help when you want quick power.

Recently we did a road trip to Coonoor and Bandipur (~800kms) and the car performed well in the ghats too. The fact that it does not automatically upshift at high rpm's (unlike the Tata Zest AMT) helped to control speed when descending the ghats.
Old 30th December 2016, 14:41   #18

My Dzire AMT has done 4800 kms, second service done. I am very happy with the performance. Daily running is about 30 kms in city traffic, as per the MID I am getting a mileage of 15 kmpl. Two out of town trips, the maximum mileage I could get was 22 kmpl.

Driving this car in town, I can say, without doubt my stress levels, tendency to abuse (to fellow drivers who break the law), irritation level all are at a very controlled level. To be honest, I am actually enjoying the 'stop go traffic' as the creep function nudges the car forward, with my right foot just playing with the B pedal.

What really surprises me is that there is just one review about the Dzire AMT - are we to assume it is a flop
Old 13th January 2017, 13:44   #19

This post is 2 months overdue. I started in a new job, then lost my father and life has been hard.

Update - 10000km up and 3rd free service done.

Oil change was done this time as well.

- Sometimes there is a slight thud once you engage the reverse gear and before the car starts moving. The SA did some adjusting and it is smoother now
- The AGS badge was removed by someone. Got that fixed too

Couple of months before the service, the car met with an accident (An Avenger rider who came onto my line from between parked cars without looking). The front bumper, and the rear right door was replaced. Maruti Insurance covered nearly the entire amount. In the bill, they charged for the "S" badge in the front. On closer inspection I found that it was the old badge and when I pointed it out, they apologized and refunded the amount.

The fuel economy has improved after I up-shift above 2000 rpm. So most of the running is in M mode. There is a jerk at slow speeds (rarely), in the 1st gear. It is a boon in the Bangalore traffic and I am loving it. Sadly the small scratches on the bumpers from the 2 wheeler riders have started increasing.

I don't know if its only me but the exhaust fumes compared to my earlier Swift VDi smell different. The current fumes linger for a longer time and smells kind of "toxic". Anyone noticed this with the current set of DDiS engines?

Originally Posted by ALTIMAed View Post
What really surprises me is that there is just one review about the Dzire AMT - are we to assume it is a flop
The Pratham sales guy tells me that whoever has bought the car is very happy with it. I cannot say if it's a flop, but I do see more of them on the road. But the number is trivial when compared to the number of new Dzire's out there.

Last edited by Eddy : 13th January 2017 at 13:51. Reason: Please use the EDIT or MULTI-QUOTE buttons instead of typing one post after another on the SAME THREAD!
jusgetgoing is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th January 2017, 17:07   #20

Originally Posted by jusgetgoing View Post
This post is 2 months overdue. I started in a new job, then lost my father and life has been hard.

Update - 10000km up and 3rd free service done.

Oil change was done this time as well.

- Sometimes there is a slight thud once you engage the reverse gear and before the car starts moving. The SA did some adjusting and it is smoother now
- The AGS badge was removed by someone. Got that fixed too

Couple of months before the service, the car met with an accident (An Avenger rider who came onto my line from between parked cars without looking). The front bumper, and the rear right door was replaced. Maruti Insurance covered nearly the entire amount. In the bill, they charged for the "S" badge in the front. On closer inspection I found that it was the old badge and when I pointed it out, they apologized and refunded the amount.

The fuel economy has improved after I up-shift above 2000 rpm. So most of the running is in M mode. There is a jerk at slow speeds (rarely), in the 1st gear. It is a boon in the Bangalore traffic and I am loving it. Sadly the small scratches on the bumpers from the 2 wheeler riders have started increasing.

I don't know if its only me but the exhaust fumes compared to my earlier Swift VDi smell different. The current fumes linger for a longer time and smells kind of "toxic". Anyone noticed this with the current set of DDiS engines?

The Pratham sales guy tells me that whoever has bought the car is very happy with it. I cannot say if it's a flop, but I do see more of them on the road. But the number is trivial when compared to the number of new Dzire's out there.
Sorry to know about your father, please accept my condolences.

My Dzire AGS has done 5500 kms. I got the first service done at 1000 kms and requested the ASS to change the engine oil, oil filter and drain plug washer. They used mineral oil. The second service was done at 4950 kms. I again requested them to change the engine oil, this time due to some miscommunication they used fully synthetic oil. I had intended to use synthetic oil after crossing the 20,000 kms but since they have already used it, plan to stick by it. The engine has definitely become smoother and there is a marginal rise in mileage. In city conditions, typically they car hardly ever engaging the 4th gear, I get 19 kmpl. On highways, not crossing 120 kmph, I get 24 kmpl (readings from the MID).

Many be, three or four times, I too have noticed a 'thud' sound when I engage the reverse gear. I have not yet reported this concern to the ASS as of now. I am getting a weird sound from the B pillar (right side - just at the level of my ear) which has been diagnosed with something to do with the seat belt. I have been advised to take the car to the ASS, but due to some engagements, shall be able to do so only after 10 days.

On the whole, pretty happy with my car, the only concern being, I am yet to spot another one on the roads of Kolkata.
Old 17th January 2017, 13:21   #21

Sorry to know about your father, please accept my condolences.

My Dzire AGS has done 5500 kms. The second service was done at 4950 kms. I again requested them to change the engine oil, this time due to some miscommunication they used fully synthetic oil. The engine has definitely become smoother and there is a marginal rise in mileage. In city conditions, typically they car hardly ever engaging the 4th gear, I get 19 kmpl. On highways, not crossing 120 kmph, I get 24 kmpl (readings from the MID).
Thank you ALTIMAed.

Is an engine flush required for switching to synthetic from mineral oil? If yes, I hope they flushed the engine. Personally I would have gone with your earlier plan of changing after 20K kms by which the engine would have well set in. Apart from MID, I suggest the tankful method to calculate the correct fuel economy.
Old 18th January 2017, 01:22   #22

@Rajeevraj, one of the prime reasons I bought this was the pain in my left knee and not a pain in my left hand 

On non motoring topic do see a orthopaedic. ...I had the same issue turns out I am vitamin D deficient due no sun exposure. ..my. yes I live in India too
Old 10th March 2017, 14:45   #23

Presently my Dzire AMT has done 7900 kms. Yesterday I was at a FNG as I needed to meet the owner. On my request, he told one of his technicians to check the air filter. The technician took out the air filter and showed it to us, it was in a horrible state. Most of the 3000 kms that i have driven after the 5000 kms service (done at 4900 kms ) has been local - definately not in extremely dusty conditions. Anyhow, got the filter cleaned by using air pressure. On the basis of the 'look' of the air filter, I intend to replace, before I commence my trip to Gangtok and Darjeeling on 3rd April. This shall surely be an acid test on the AMT.
Old 10th March 2017, 15:26   #24

Mod Note : There are several spelling & grammatical errors in your posts. This negatively affects the forum experience for other readers.

Kindly ensure that you proof-read your posts prior to submission. Also, it would be a good idea to use a spell-checker.

Last edited by GTO : 11th March 2017 at 09:20.
Highh5 is offline   Received Infraction
Old 23rd April 2017, 20:15   #25

Got the 3rd service done at 8900 kms as I had planned a trip to Gangtok and Darjeeling. Got the air filter and diesel filter replaced as well as the engine oil and oil filter. Honesty the car felt smooth, or was it just a mental feeling I do not know, but the car did feel peppy.

Unfortunately the trip got cancelled as I had to rush to Delhi and my mother was not keeping too well and had to undergo a major surgery.

Came back to Kolkata and planned a drive to 'cross three states - ie West Bengal, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh'. Tbhp provided lots of information on the route and places to stay. Made a couple called to Andy Dasgupta and Mi2n too get the final details on stay and dining option and then all set.

Left Kolkata on 7th April and returned back on 12th April.

7th night - OTDC Barkul (next to Chilika lake). Rooms are a bit run down but the food in the restaurant is good. Please AVOID Chilika Dhaba. The place is really hygienic.

8th and 9th night - APTDC Rushkonda Beach, Vizaq. Fabulous place is what comes to my mind. We pre booked a deluxe room which has a huge balcony facing the sea. The best part is the hotel is located on a hill which offers superb view of the sea. Elders with knee problems might not be comfortable climbing the stairs. Food was so - so, nothing to rave about. We shifted our dining loyalties to Sai Priya Resorts.

10th night - OTDC Gopalpur - Totally run down place, it resembled a ghost resort. We were the only occupants. Please avoid this place as it yet has to develop.

11th night - Hotel Excellency Bhubaneshwar - nice hotel good food.

The drive
Roads are superb throughout. Had to engage the manual mode while driving up and down Kailashgiri and Rama Naidu studio. Did not cross 100 kmph on the 'go' leg. Got a mileage of 22.4 kmpl (with a/c on, did not switch off the engine at toll tax and pit stops). On the return, hiked the speed to 120 kmph, got a mileage of 19.6 kmpl.

On the return, just after Cuttack, crossed the 10,000 kms milestone.

The travellers
Self (self drove throughout the trip), wife and 2 and a half year old son.

Total distance covered - 1939 kms.

Very happy with the performance of the car. Yes, after driving 10,000 kms, I can say, one has to slightly modify one's driving style to handle the AMT. Also to add here, when ever I have to stop, I shift to N and keep the brake pedal depressed.
ALTIMAed is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 10th October 2017, 12:38   #26

16,000 kms done on my Dzire AGS.

Even though MUL recommends engine oil and filter change at ever 10,000 kms, i got the engine oil changed at 14,872 kms. This was done just for my piece of mind. Before this service, I noticed some sound coming from the B pillar. Checked and rechecked if all windows were closed properly, the sound persisted. I suspected something to do withe the seat belt. Reported the same to the SA. When I got the car back, the sound was gone. Very satisfied with the work done.

During the pooja vacations did a trip from Kolkata to Durgapur with my parents. Since they are elderly, at no time did I exceed 100 kmph and was really satisfied with the 21 kmpl (as per MID) that it returned.

Intend to embark on a drive to Delhi on 28th November. Hoping the AGS lives upto my expectation.
Old 10th October 2017, 14:14   #27

1. odometer showed 75 kms (is this normal)

Please advice on this please
Definitely on the higher side. Dealer might have given the car for couple of test drives is what I think.

Before I took the delivery of my new car, I had asked the sales executive to call me whenever the car comes to the yard. When it arrived, I made a visit to the yard along with the sales guy. Also asked him well in advance how much will be the ODO reading at the time of delivery. He calculated the minimum running required for the car to reach the delivery area - he said a maximum of 21 Kms is what I can expect. Sure enough, the car was delivered with less than that number in the ODO. I wanted to prevent the dealer using my car for any TDs.

Last edited by clevermax : 10th October 2017 at 14:18.
Old 10th October 2017, 14:45   #28

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
he said a maximum of 21 Kms is what I can expect. Sure enough, the car was delivered with less than that number in the ODO. I wanted to prevent the dealer using my car for any TDs.
They can circumvent it by disconnecting the speed sensor, have seen multiple times myself when going for a test drive with the dealer.
Old 10th October 2017, 15:13   #29

Originally Posted by ecenandu View Post
They can circumvent it by disconnecting the speed sensor, have seen multiple times myself when going for a test drive with the dealer.
I know. I just tried to give them a feeling that I am not the usual customer who simply don't care any of these things before delivery, so that the likelihood of my car being used for a TD reduces.

Last time when I TD'ed the Figo sports, it was a customer's car, as the dealership didn't have a Sports variant for TD. Odometer was running.
Old 10th October 2017, 21:18   #30

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
Definitely on the higher side. Dealer might have given the car for couple of test drives is what I think.

Before I took the delivery of my new car, I had asked the sales executive to call me whenever the car comes to the yard. When it arrived, I made a visit to the yard along with the sales guy. Also asked him well in advance how much will be the ODO reading at the time of delivery. He calculated the minimum running required for the car to reach the delivery area - he said a maximum of 21 Kms is what I can expect. Sure enough, the car was delivered with less than that number in the ODO. I wanted to prevent the dealer using my car for any TDs.
When I pointed out the odometer reading to the SA, he told me that the car had to be driven physically to the RTO for registration (which I find to be strange), but if actually true, then the 75 kms on the odometer is justified.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com