Old 18th November 2019, 17:17   #1

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view

What is the Triber actually trying to do?

A hatchback for its prices and specifications? An MPV for its seating capacity of 7? A crossover for its looks and styling? Or a CSUV for its size and proportions?

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_125911.jpg

Who cares! It is a car of its kind! One of its kind!

A funny question,

Triber is a ______
a) A hatchback
b) A Crossover
c) An MPV
d) A CSUV
e) All of the above

It has been nearly two months with the car and I thought of writing my ownership experience here. It was a great journey so far with our first car and experience has been a pleasing one.

How did it start?

First of all, the hunt for a new car started in February this year with a maximum budget of 10L OTR. We are a family of 4 till 2018 and now a family of 5(4+dog) from 2018 and the addition of our pet stopped us from touring places which we used to do earlier by train and flights. We used to rent a car there and travel. But the addition of my doggy stopped all this and we were in the pursuit of a car to tour. We wanted a petrol manual as our usage is moderate and a car with a big boot. All the compact sedans and hatches were on the list. We also wanted only the top-end trims and we don't want to spend more money and time on upgrades!

Our Requirements:
Must-Have:

• Touchscreen infotainment
  • Reverse parking camera
  • 350L+ boot space
  • 2 Airbags + ABS + EBD(Now standard)
  • 180mm Ground clearance
  • Nice ride(suspension)

Some likables;
  • Steering mounted audio controls
  • Rear AC vents
  • Cruise control(Amaze and Ameo)
  • Fog lamps

The contenders in the game were:

(The following are purely subjective and not to obstruct others view)

1.Maruti Suzuki Swift/ Dzire:

Positives:
1. Smart looking car.
2. It is a Maruti Suzuki, reliable and good after-sales.
3. We love the new dashboard of the car.
4. Nice handling characteristics.
5. A wide middle row for 3 occupants.
6. Good mileage on paper.

Negatives:
1. Less VFM than its competitors.
2. The price of the top-end trim was high that swift's price undercuts Tigor's by a lakh.
3. We are not fans of Maruti due to its safety ratings. (Triber is definitely a miss in terms of safety. I should not have said this!)
4. Not a big boot, although Dzire has one. We are not ready to spend a lakh more for the boot!

2.Hyundai Grand i10:

Positives:
1. Rear AC vents.
2. More premium and safer than the swift(perspective).
3. A compact car for the city.

Negatives:
1. The Nios was about to be launched.
2. Hyundai's premium service from what I have heard.
3. Spend more and get the elder i20.

3. Hyundai i20:

Positives:
1. A spacious car.
2. It looks more premium than the others in the segment.
3. The top end has a brilliant safety kit.
4. The interiors are the best in the segment.

Negatives:
1. The top trim Asta(o) was a little stretch.
2. Hyundai's premium service from what I have heard.

4.VW Polo/Ameo:

Positives:
1. Fun to drive car with a super power tune.
2. The top trims get cruise control which is a cool feature.
3. German build quality! A safe car indeed.

Negatives:
1. VW's after-sales network.
2. The leg room in the rear was a big let down.
3. The boot space is also a let down.

5. Ford Figo:

Positives:
1. Fun to drive car with a frugal engine.
2. The handling characteristics were amazing.
3. Top safety kit with 6 airbags.

Negatives:
1. Ford's exit rumour that prevailed then.
2. Figo was not selling with good numbers. So we were worried about the spares if it were to be discontinued.

6.Tata Tigor:

Positives:
1. The best looking C-sedan from my view.
2. A huge 419L boot.
3. A safe car from Tata.
4. More VFM than the others on the list.
5. The petrol mileage was impressive.
6. The audio system is brilliant for the segment.

Negatives:
1. Tata's dealer network is a miss.
2. Tigor sells in bad numbers and we couldn't decide to get on to it.

Why the others got rejected?

1. Swift and Dzire were rejected as it is less VFM for what it offers. The ZXi is the VFM but lacks Reverse camera, alloys, and DRLs. Also, we are not keen on Maruti.
2. Grand i10 was out because our family doesn't like its looks. The Nios is pleasing though!
3. i20 Asta was out of the budget range.
4. VW's were out because of the small boot and rear space.
5. Ford was out as the rumors on its exit were high at that time.
6. Tata Tigor came close to the deal as it looked more VFM.

First look and Experience:

We were about to close the deal on the Tigor and suddenly it happened. It was June 19 and Renault came up with the Triber which was unveiled that day. It was a game stopper for us and we stopped the entire process to take a look at it. The space utilization was awesome and the 625-litre boot attracted us. My mom always wanted a car with the boot accessible from the inside as it feels like home! This one was a perfect fit.

So, we decided to wait for the car and booked one on August 25th(pre-booking). The booking experience and TD were good as we went to the showroom on the evening of Aug 25th and test drove the car. For us, coming from a no-car, the size was a huge boost. Renault India knows the value of a real estate and have put every sq.ft to use. We never thought that our first car would be a 7seater. I was pleased by the interiors of the car although all the plastics are hard. The interiors look simple which I like it. The top trim misses out many features like the steering mounted controls, height adjustment for the driver seat, and a centre armrest. We were okay with that except for the driver seat height adjustment.

The design and layout are very simple. It attracted us. Our previous driving experiences were the 1.2 L from Tata and the 1.0L from Maruti(relatives) and so the engine even though underpowered felt adequate for us. All we wanted is a car that can take us from A to B without a fuss. Triber can do that and besides, it can move 7 at once. The TD was a brief one. I took it for a spin to the highways to check its capability and I was able to do speeds up to 90kmph without stressing the engine. We tested the car in some of the bad roads in my locality and that was wonderful. The ride and suspension will surely say that it is from the parents of the Duster. A cakewalk over the bad roads! The steering felt light though!

Booking and Delivery:

We booked the car on the same day and the delivery estimate was 3 weeks as the car was not yet launched then. We would have been happy if the prices stay under the 10L mark. The prices came in a few days later, to our surprise, it was a 3.5L save in the ex-showroom. We paid for the top model RXZ as the budget was well within the limit. The OTR was 7.70L with extended warranty and insurance for 3 years from the dealer itself. We don’t want to make our first car buying a sour one and decided to get the insurance from the dealer itself. We didn’t do the PDI as it is a new car and the dealer told that the car will be in perfect condition. The manufacturing date is Aug 2019 as expected. The car got registered the next week and the delivery was planned on Sept 20th. As said by the dealer, the car was in good condition when we saw it.

We couldn’t get it delivered earlier as the dealer has arranged for mass delivery of 50 cars from the 1st batch. It was a combined delivery of all Tribers from the three KUN Renault showrooms in Chennai. The delivery experience was good with some negatives. The main drawback is that owing to mass delivery, the sales assistant could not explain all the details in brief on the day. But he asked us to bring the car, the next day and he explained everything including the buttons, features, accessing the spare wheel, tools, and others. So, it was a brilliant experience the next day. The only freebies offered were the floor mats, mud flaps, trunk mats, easy-fix seat storage bags, and snacks!

What has been good so far!

1. The dealer was very professional and I hope that any issue in the future can be solved easily!
2. It can move 7 people inside the city. The last row is preferably for the kids!
3. Under 4m, it is easy to move into the city.
4. The overall mileage has been good and as expected(subjective).
5. The 625L boot is amazing. You can move a part of your home in!
6. Plenty of headroom and legroom in the 5-seater mode. One of the best in the sub 4m category!
7. The maintenance costs for the 1.0L will be low and Renault says that the cost will be 20% lesser than that of B-segment hatches.
8. Satisfied with the paid price! The car is a VFM for what it has got!

The letdowns:

1. No steering mounted audio controls. It is a basic feature nowadays which is available in a low budget car. The car even has switch pads on the steering! Poor show!
2. Safety:
Not a safe car! The doors shut with some thud! But the small engine bay will definitely transfer impact upon frontal collision. Safety is a big let down. Renault had tried to create an illusion by providing with 4 airbags. The sheet metal is of the Maruti range and if safety is your priority, Triber is not even on your list. But I can also say that it is okay for city commutes. Low-speed crashes might be withstandable!
3. No center armrest anywhere. The rear row should have got one. Even the Kwid gets a center armrest.
4. No driver seat height adjustment! As stated above, it is a poor show from Renault!
5. NVH Levels:
The noise levels are high. I find it annoying after the 3500rpm mark! Better to keep the engine under less stress. The vibrations are felt in low gears. After the 3rd gear, I don't find high vibrations. The noise levels should have been controlled. The engine has insulation which is just for show. It is better to play loud music to get rid of the noise on the highways.
6. Overtaking on the highways at high speeds should be planned.
7. The 3rd row cannot be used extensively! But were 4 in the family and so it is okay for us! Definitely not the place to be in for long trips!
8. Skinny tyres let your confidence go down! Ours is from the 1st batch and hence we get the 165/70 R14. But now, the top trims get a big 185/65 R15.

Nice things from Renault!

1. Under-seat storage for precious items.
2. AC vents in all rows.
3. Projector lamps from the base variant.
4. Flexibility of seats
5. Lots of storage in the cabin(All doors with bottle holders, 2 glove boxes, cooled storage, 2 cup holders and 2 shelves).

Summary

For a clear perspective, I have added this. (Disclaimer: This is purely based on my views and has nothing against others view.)

1. Looks - Good from some angles and disproportionate from some angles.(I hate the front looks and love the rear looks)
2. Build Quality - Inching towards the bad. Like a Maruti!
3. Safety - A mere 2 stars is what it feels like. A less safe car!
4. Interior quality - Hard plastics all over the place. Otherwise, it is simple!
5. City maneuverability - As good as a CSUV.
6. Steering - Light and good for the city.
7. Ride - Good ride quality.
8. Handling - Average handling quality with some body roll.
9. Engine - Underpowered but adequate for us.
10. Gearbox - Not so good!
11. Performance - Don't know what it is with a full load! It takes anywhere between 17 and 20 seconds for the 100kmph mark!
12. Fuel Efficiency - Okay for a 1.0L pulling over a ton.
13. Comfort - Adequate.
14. Space and flexibility - Excellent
15. Headroom - No complaints at all.
16. Legroom - On par for all rows. Good in 5-seater mode.
17. NVH - Poor and annoying at high speeds.
18. MediaNav - Good so far!
19. Highway characteristics - Has some road presence and 80kmph will be ideal. Not a highway car though!
20. Features - Hits and misses!

Hands-on the Wheel:

We took the car to a nearby temple for Pooja and a trip to Uthukottai was planned for the next Sunday. It was a family trip and the car was fully loaded with 7. The trip was 120kms up and down and the car felt amazing on the state highways. The entire trip was in the state highways with villages coming in every 3kms. So, we couldn’t fire the engine. The cruise speed was 60-70 kmph and the car felt balanced for that speed with 7.

The suspension was brilliant. The last row passengers were also comfortable throughout the entire trip and were adults. The ride was amazing. The engine felt adequate and I was able to feel the thirst every time I move the car from rest. With a full load, I had to come down to 1st gear whenever I pass a speed-breaker. Usually, the 2nd gear will do the job.

For now, we have put down 1500 km with the Triber and the car is behaving well. More than half of the distance covered was in the highways. From my view, I can say that the car has some road presence and it can be felt on the highways. Cruising at 70-90kmph speeds for long won’t be an issue and car feels good on the roads due to its suspension setup. The tyre size is a miss for us and the process of changing that is on its way. We got the R14 rims instead of the R15 as we were the first ones to buy the car. The AC is a chiller and all the rows get them. With all the rows AC on, the cabin cools in less time.

Time for a few pictures to talk!

The Exteriors:

From my point of view, the front looks a little disproportionate because of the size of the engine bay! The rear look of the car is my favorite. Looking from all the other angles, the car looks good and the design is an eye-catcher. The exterior of the car is surely an illusion and it looks bigger is some angles and smaller in some angles. It definitely has a stance and a good road presence.

My Triber:
A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-1.jpg

The car from the front!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_125821.jpg

Another snap of the front!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_125832.jpg

The 3/4th view of the front!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191118_125911.jpg
Views:	15911
Size:	1.53 MB
ID:	1935927

One of my favorite angles to look at the car!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_125922.jpg

The projector setup with the LED DRLs and an aftermarket bumper protector.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_125949.jpg

The Side view! It looks like a small size 1st generation Ertiga!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130009.jpg

The so-called Flex wheels for the R14 tyres. The RXZ now gets an R15 and the process of upgrading it takes some time.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130022.jpg

The rear view of the car! I love the way it looks from the back!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130157.jpg

A rear 3/4 view which is also my favorite!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130212.jpg

Another one from the rear!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130230.jpg

The reverse parking camera of the car which is appreciable although the quality is not excellent.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130113.jpg

My favourite picture of the lot!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130323.jpg

The red steel spare wheel showing along with the 182mm of ground clearance!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130412.jpg

Effective front wipers and don't search for the washer. It is placed on the bonnet!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130445.jpg

Its time for some interiors!

The interior is simple and clean. A neat layout with a simple design. All the plastics are hard which is acceptable for the price we paid. The touch screen is laid neatly and the backlit controls look pleasing to the eyes in the night. I love the instrument cluster and the neatly laid out AC vents. The buttons feel like it is from a segment above as they are fresh and not from an old model. The power window buttons also feel nice. The steering with thumb countors also feels good to hold. The steering mounted audio controls are a miss!

The center of the stage, MediaNav touchscreen system with 4 speakers and 2 tweeters. Looks pretty neat!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123508.jpg

The All digital instrument cluster with a 3.5" MID showing the basic data like the range, distance to empty and so on!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123420.jpg

A trip mileage for a short trip with a 70/30 highway/city share. The gear shift indicator is a nice touch!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123444.jpg

The Clutch, Brake and the Acceleration pedals. No dead pedal. One can see the naked steering housing!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123516.jpg

The tough-looking steering wheel. It is super light and feels great to hold. It is indeed tilt adjustable.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131937.jpg

A ticket holder on the sunshade. Both the driver side and passenger side get mirrors!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123542.jpg

Fuel open lever on the floor!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130544.jpg

Headlight leveler switch at its place! It is kept too low to adjust while moving!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130649.jpg

The lever to open the bonnet of the car! It is very low and deep which makes it difficult to reach!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130658.jpg

The power window controls and the wing mirror controls on the driver's side door. Switches feel good! The fabric on the door pads is also a nice touch!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130620.jpg

A view from the driver's seat!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131929.jpg

The switches for the rear de-fogger, hazard lights, and the central locking. These switches are the best here. Feels amazing to use them.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131954.jpg

The start-stop on the RXZ trim. It comes handy to use! Pressing it will switch on the instrument cluster, AC and touchscreen. Pressing it with the clutch or brake ignites the engine!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131959.jpg

Last edited by GTO : 23rd November 2019 at 08:28. Reason: Moving likes & dislikes to opening post
Jagann13 is online now   (44) Thanks
Old 18th November 2019, 18:34   #2

re: A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view

Continuation!

The Triber is never short of storage spaces and here is the upper glove box.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123617.jpg

The lower glove box. Forgot to put in the fuse lid!. It is a cooled one too!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_123624.jpg

The mic for the Bluetooth calls. It works well and the audio quality is adequate!.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131924.jpg

The USB port and the AUX in port!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132008.jpg

Smart under-seat storage. It looks bigger in personal and deep. In fact, I have hidden a small object deep in there!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132227.jpg

The cooled glove! It is very deep and surprise...

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132019.jpg

It is a tunnel. You can put in a 1L bottle inside and the cooling function is controllable with a knob.
A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132036.jpg

The light for the interior. It can also be operated using the key!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132303.jpg

The switch pads for the steering controls!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132317.jpg

Two storage shelves for mobile phones. Very practical!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132439.jpg

The wiper controls. The RXZ trim gets rear wiper and washer too!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132504.jpg

The controls for the headlamps!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132507.jpg

The smart card of the RXZ. It has buttons for the doors and boot.
A smart function of the key! With the key in your pockets or bag, move close to the car and it opens automatically. Move away from the car, it locks automatically! A cool feature indeed!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_132447.jpg

The front door. All the doors have speakers and a huge water bottle pocket. can take 1L bottles easily! Also, all doors get a fabric padding for laying our hands! A cool touch!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130612.jpg

A look at the speaker and the bottle holder.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130722.jpg

The rear with 7 seats on the place! No boot space at all!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130752.jpg

The sturdy thing which holds the easy-fix seats in the place!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130834.jpg

A smart touch here! The glass is for the 3rd row with handles! Also, the 3rd row gets a mobile pocket and a 12V charging socket!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130859.jpg

The talk of the town, 3rd row gets an AC vent. All rows get them!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_130914.jpg

Flexibilty:

The term flexibility is what the car is made up of. Our primary purpose in buying this is the flexible nature of it. We mostly use it as a 5 seater with 625L boot. The third rows are completely removable and the 2nd row can be slid and reclined! Let's take a look!

The maximum and minimum reclinable angle of the seats while the 40 split tumbles all the way! Cool!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131141.jpg

The seat at a full recline. The recline angle is amazing. It goes all the way and one can sleep peacefully with seat belts on!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131225.jpg

Here is a picture to show the difference in the length between the maximum and minimum slid.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131444.jpg

Slid the seats fully back and you will be taken back by the legroom on offer!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131542.jpg

Side view!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131550.jpg

The maximum legroom with the 2nd row back and the 1st row in the front! The hump is also small, which means that 3 people can sit in ease!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131636.jpg

The maximum and minimum travel of the front seats!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131709.jpg

The AC vents on the B-pillar of the 2nd row!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131731.jpg

Magazine holders on both the front seats!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_131742.jpg

The heart of the car! The little 1.0 L 3-pot petrol engine! Also, one can see the compact engine bay which is designed for the engine. A larger engine may not fit!

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-img_20191118_140748.jpg

The Driving Experience:

The main thing that comes to every mind when they hear the word Triber is the engine. Is it underpowered? Call it pull 7?

The Engine:

I can give you an overall image of how the car drives. The engine is a little underpowered! But surprisingly, it will be different from what you think. It is adequate and the power is enough for the car with 5. Load it with 7, the engine feels the heat. It is not for someone who races a car but for a family that needs to move people. The purpose of the car is to move people and it does it happily!

From my experience, the car can move 4 people with some luggage at its best. We can easily cruise at 80kmph speeds without stressing the engine. With 7 people on board, the cruise speed without stressing the engine will be 70kmph. The first and second gears are short for the car to obtain the required torque to pull from a stop! The torque comes in at 3000 rpm!

I have reached up to 130kmph just to check the 120kmph speed alert! It is quite annoying! The other annoying thing is the NVH levels! You can hear the engine's roar after 2000 rpm. So settling for lower speeds will give you peace of mind! The noise from the tyres is also felt at high speeds.

Talking about the refinement, the engine is not refined well. Like in the reviews, the sound from the engine sweeps in if you cross the 2500 rpm mark. It won't bother you much below that speed.

Overall, not a peppy, frugal engine! Rather a tiny, little underpowered engine that is just adequate and enough considering the purpose of the car!

The engine is adequate for us! Anyone coming from a bigger engine will feel bad!

The Gearbox:

The gearbox is different from others I have driven. The 1st and the 2nd gears are very short and the 3rd, 4th and the 5th gears have a wide range. The 5th gear can take you from as low as 45kmph to 130kmph. The reverse gear is a typical European where one has to lift the lock and slot the gear. A gear indicator in the instrument cluster would have been amazing.

Overall, the slotting of the gears was a bit difficult early. Now the gearbox has settled down but not as smooth as the Maruti's.

The Clutch:

The clutch feels light from my view. I have driven some diesel cars in which taking the leg off the clutch will move the car. But here, the clutch bite is felt late(say80% of release) and the car rudders if we try to move it with the clutch. So, moving on after stopping on a steep road is a bit tricky. But the car can be held stationary with the clutch on an incline!

Overall, the clutch is smooth and light which is a good thing for city commutes.

The Suspension:

The suspension of the car is a nice thing to talk about! It is good and works well for the Indian road conditions! I feel it is tuned for the full load and sometimes it feels a little bumpy when I drive alone. But with people in the car, the suspension is brilliant! Duster's brother indeed! The handling is nice and one can feel the body roll in tight corners. The steering and clutch are light and one doesn't get tired in city conditions!

Overall, a good mark for the ride!

[B]Handling[/B]:

Another place where the car feels good. It has a good road presence and the car handles well in all conditions. The car feels stable on the highways too. A bit of body roll in the tight corners is prominent due to its size.

Overall, a better handling car for its proportions!

The Mileage:

The mileage is good for us and it is more than expected. The tank to tank figures comes close to 13kmpl for a mixed city and highway drive. The highest mileage shown on the MID was 21kmpl while the lowest was 11kmpl. But the mileage is nowhere close to the ARAI figures!

It changes with load and the AC working!

Overall, the mileage will be close to 12kmpl for normal use and 18kmpl for highway rides!

Space:

Another thing that hits the mind is the 3rd row of seats. I can say that you will be surprised by the space there when you personally experience it. It is not only for children but also for adults. I'm 5'11 and I can sit there for 2 hours without complaining. All you have to do is slid the middle row a little to free up space in the back!
Definitely not for long rides. The headroom in all the rows is good. The legroom in the 3rd row is definitely a miss. A spacious 5 seater is what you have!

The middle row is a tight one for 3 people. So, for the most comfort, 2 in the middle row is suggested.

The small storage spaces inside the cabin are good. It has two glove boxes with cooled storage. Along with it, there are 2 cup holders, two shelves, bottle holders in all doors and under-seat storage.

Space utilization is the key to the product and it is evident from the moment one steps in!

Overall, the car excels in space utilization and better than most of the cars in the territory!

Other things:

The touchscreen works cool! I have never seen it lag in the past 2 months. The under-seat storage is practical to store precious things. The color of my car is Metal Mustard and it is catching some eyes in my locality. We did a trip to Kanchipuram which is a Tier-2 city in Tamil Nadu. I have seen only 1 Triber in Chennai so far, but had seen 5 on the day we visited Kanchi! Looks like the rural and sub-urban market is benefited by the car!

The AC Vents:

The middle row AC vents get a separate blower control while the 3rd row AC vents are controlled by the 1st-row controls. The 1st and 3rd-row ACs are integrated. The AC cools nice. Opening all the vents in all the rows will cool down the car effectively. The working of ACs will render the performance of the engine and its noticeable. The mileage also comes down!

We wanted to put in seat covers for the car. But we have two problems, one is the side airbags in the front seats while the other is the easy-fix seats. They are for occasional commutes and covering them will not benefit us! Confused! The door feels a little solid. The door is better than a Maruti. It has some thud feeling too!

The Miss:

The car has many misses but these are the real misses from my view!

The car has a thick A-pillar. It obstructs the view when taking turns and u-turns. Steering mounted audio controls is a miss. But that is not a deal-breaker for us. The real deal-breaker is the missing of the height adjustment for the seat! My dad is 5'5 and every time he boards the car, it takes a lot of time for him to settle down. That is surely a miss and poor thing from Renault. Driver seat height adjustment missing in a car with flexible 2nd row is surprising!

Comfort:

The seats are thin! The seats are quite comfortable for long trips with adequate breaks! The front seats are better than those of the rear. The front seats get a fixed headrest while the other rows get adjustable headrests. The AC vents in all the rows are to add a point to the comfort here!

Visibility:

The wing mirrors offer a good view of what is in the back. The IRVM has bad visibility when people sit in the 3rd row. Otherwise, I find the IRVM to be fair and it misses out the auto-dimming which is okay for the price! The rearview camera provides an okay view, but is adequate for you to reverse! Other than that, the glass area is large!

The Underbody:

The ground clearance is good for the Indian roads! I have not scraped the underbody yet. The engine bay misses out on the underbody protection. I can feel the flying stones hitting it. Even though the engine bay has insulation, the noise sweeps in! It has faux skid plates for looks which is cool. On the verge, I find the missing engine underbody protection a miss. Should be worried about the rats!

Buttons:

The buttons inside the car feel nice! Especially the AC control knobs. It is different from other cars I have seen and is a cool thing to operate. The smart access card is a cool touch with its functions explained above. A look at the inside of the smart access card! It has a safety key for the times when the battery runs out or the sensor fails.

A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view-15740942658147101281052997194160.jpg

On the Highways:

The car has some presence on the highways! But the car doesn't give you the confidence to push speeds. Body roll is very prominent in the corners and 80kmph will be the ideal speed. Also, the small tyres let you down on the highways! (Now upgraded with R15 rims.)

The Brakes:

The brakes felt adequate for me. Also, I have not driven the car at high speeds. The brakes felt enough for me to stop from 80kmph!

I have a funny yet bad experience to share! I always love rain and Chennai had seen some good shower last month. I always wanted to splash out water like a flower on the roads when moving in a car. I wanted to try this and tried this last month. It was on one of the service roads of the ORR in Chennai. It was my bad that the water was only on one of the sides and my car was able to splash water on the left side only. The terrific moment is here! I was doing 50kmph while doing that. The right-side tyres were on dry roads while the left side tyres were on the water. The tyres on the water lost friction while the others on the road had and I felt like I am driving a boat. My heart stopped for a while. Fortunately, the car did skid but did not lose control. I am not sure, whether the mistake is mine or the loss of traction is due to the 165/80 R14 on the car. I will change the tyres soon and won't drive the same way again!

Future Plans:

The ambient lighting is on the cards.
The stock tyres are Ceat fuel smart. I am planning to upgrade to MRF or Michelin along with the alloys. Planning to go with the alloys from
Renault itself as it looks good on the Triber.
The headlamps are adequate, but I'm planning to upgrade to projector LEDs.
We didn't see any resale value in the future as we will have her for the next 10years minimum.

Price Breakup:
Ex-showroom - Rs. 6.5 Lakhs
Road tax, handling, registration, and other fees - Rs. 80,000
Insurance - Rs.35000(3 years)
Extended Warranty - Rs.9999 (2+3years or 1Lakh KM)
On-road price: Rs.7.70 Lakhs(Chennai)
Discounts: Couldn't get as the car was new and slightly on demand!
Freebies: Being one of the first customers, the essential kit was free(carpet floor mats, mud flaps, car cover, 2 easy fix seat storage cover, a trunk mat, a freshener, and key chain)
We didn't take any accessories from the dealer but got some from the market which includes bumper protectors, door protectors, and chrome strips.

Conclusion:

The real USP's of the car would be the flexibility and space offered! The car definitely has a lot of misses! But for the price it offers, one cannot ask for more from a manufacturer!

In short, the Triber is a car with an underwhelming engine put in a less/no safe body, with the space utilization and the flexibility of the seats as the key, along with some nice ride and handling built to attract a big family with small capital.

Not an enthusiast's car! Just a little people mover! Maybe a second fiddle for multiple car owners!

Happy on the purchase and experience! The first car in our family has been an amazing experience! As the name says, we are the Triber's Tribe!

Last edited by GTO : 23rd November 2019 at 08:27. Reason: Moving likes & dislikes to the opening post
Jagann13 is online now   (73) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 08:32   #3

Re: A unique car of its kind! The Renault Triber RXZ in an owner's view

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!

Your car is going straight to our homepage . Incidentally, I'm test-driving the Triber this weekend.
GTO is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 10:03   #4

Congratulations on your first car. Wishing you a lot of happy miles on the same. Triber is a honest attempt from Renault and it's doing pretty well. Looks good in the orange and blue shade as well.

Regarding the experience which you had when you entered the water filled road, it is called aquaplaning. It happens when a small gap is created between the tyres and water and the tyres loose their grip. It is a very dangerous situation and could lead to serious accidents. Fortunately the other two tyres were on ground and you didn't loose complete control. You should thank your stars for the same. Please do not attempt to do anything like this is the future. If you see a pool of water, reduce your speed to a more manageable 20-25 km/h and cross the same. Never cross stagnated water like you did on that day.

This is your first car and we all learn from our mistakes. So just keep learning and driving.
Amit_breakfree is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 10:20   #5

First of all congratulations on your new car & wishing you many more happy, memorable, safe fun family times together.

Must-Have:

Touchscreen infotainment
Reverse parking camera
350L+ boot space
2 Airbags + ABS + EBD(Now standard)
180mm Ground clearance
Nice ride(suspension)

Some likables;
Steering mounted audio controls
Rear AC vents
Cruise control(Amaze and Ameo)
Fog lamps
Just one question though - SCross would've ticked almost all the boxes above & also give you very peace of mind with service as well. Did you not consider SCro? Just wanted to understand what was the factors that kept you away from SCro?
aargee is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 10:24   #6

Congratulations on your new car and thanks for an excellent review.

We considered Triber as a potential 7-seater family MPV. However, we wanted a proper 7-seater, with proper third-row seats. We ended up buying an Ertiga. Triber is a perfect entry-level family car for 4+1 family with more than enough space. 625 lt boot space is amazing. Triber has a lot of misses but those misses are not that major that you can't live with them

Originally Posted by Jagann13 View Post
Conclusion:

The real USP's of the car would be the flexibility and space offered! The car definitely has a lot of misses! But for the price it offers, one cannot ask for more from a manufacturer!
+1.
SJM1214 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 13:10   #7
KPR

Excellent buy and well written review.
The glass is for the 3rd row with handles! Also, the 3rd row gets a mobile pocket and a 12V charging socket!
Highlight no. 1!
The talk of the town, 3rd row gets an AC vent. All rows get them!
Highlight no. 2!
The AC vents on the B-pillar of the 2nd row!
Highlight no. 3!

For me, this car has made many prospective buyers to take a look at the car and do a TD. Converting footfall to busniess is left to dealer marketing team. Not to forget that those prospective buyers can be from a very wide spectrum ranging from an entry level 5 Lakhs (Kwid/Wagon R) to 15 Lakhs (Ertiga/XL6). Such is the temptation what Renault has offered to many such middle class buyers. Credit to all the Renault designers for giving such a beautiful design with 7 seater configuration and acing the design at first attempt itself. This applies to both Kwid and Triber.

Last edited by KPR : 23rd November 2019 at 13:14.
KPR is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 19:15   #8

Your car is going straight to our homepage . Incidentally, I'm test-driving the Triber this weekend.
Amazing! Awaiting the official review!

Originally Posted by Amit_breakfree View Post
Congratulations on your first car. Wishing you a lot of happy miles on the same. Triber is a honest attempt from Renault and it's doing pretty well. Looks good in the orange and blue shade as well.

This is your first car and we all learn from our mistakes. So just keep learning and driving.
Thank you so much! Have learnt some and the learning process will continue as you said, sir!

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
First of all congratulations on your new car & wishing you many more happy, memorable, safe fun family times together.

Just one question though - SCross would've ticked almost all the boxes above & also give you very peace of mind with service as well. Did you not consider SCro? Just wanted to understand what was the factors that kept you away from SCro?
Thanks! S-cross was not in our list as we were keen on top-end trims which is out of our budget and diesel is not our choice! We have a limited usage!

Originally Posted by SJM1214 View Post
Congratulations on your new car and thanks for an excellent review.

We considered Triber as a potential 7-seater family MPV. However, we wanted a proper 7-seater, with proper third-row seats. We ended up buying an Ertiga. Triber is a perfect entry-level family car for 4+1 family with more than enough space. 625 lt boot space is amazing. Triber has a lot of misses but those misses are not that major that you can't live with them
Thanks! Yes, we chose it as we wanted a proper 5 seater. We needed the extra seats rarely!

Originally Posted by KPR View Post
Excellent buy and well written review.

For me, this car has made many prospective buyers to take a look at the car and do a TD. Converting footfall to busniess is left to dealer marketing team. Not to forget that those prospective buyers can be from a very wide spectrum ranging from an entry level 5 Lakhs (Kwid/Wagon R) to 15 Lakhs (Ertiga/XL6). Such is the temptation what Renault has offered to many such middle class buyers. Credit to all the Renault designers for giving such a beautiful design with 7 seater configuration and acing the design at first attempt itself. This applies to both Kwid and Triber.
Thank you! It is a sweet spot in terms of budget! A bigger engine will be a good thing to keep the pace going!
Jagann13 is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 19:50   #9

HI Jagan
Thanks, You took lot of pics and took pains in compiling the Review.

Moreover even when you have bought and own Renault TRIBER, you have been Unbiased in Review, and incidentally you have criticized and have pin pointed Shortcomings more than the strong points/ advantages of this car.
My best wishes to you for Happy and Safe Rides on TRIBER.

What is the Triber actually trying to do?

A hatchback for its prices and specifications? An MPV for its seating capacity of 7? A crossover for its looks and styling? Or a CSUV for its size and proportions?
Lightning2 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 19:58   #10

Happy on the purchase and experience! The first car in our family has been an amazing experience! As the name says, we are the Triber's Tribe!
Really Nice review & nice pictures. Probably one of the most anticipated cars for middle class and effective people mover. Really nice and great review.

Last edited by Sheel : 23rd November 2019 at 20:22. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks.
navrddy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 20:07   #11

Congratulations on your new car Jagann13! Thanks for the detailed review.

Triber has been one of the few cars released this year where the manufacturer has actually made an effort to provide a VFM product. Triber might not suit all, but it is indeed an honest product from Renault. Looks smart too.

Wishing you many happy miles ahead.
The Riddler is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 20:54   #12

Excellent review that summarizes the pro's and cons perfectly. Although both the pros and cons have been talked about enough, a lot of it has been arm chair analysis (including posts I have done on the Triber thread ).

Nothing like an actual ownership review to objectively analyse and summarize the pros and cons. I think you have done a brilliant job of it. Mostly in ownership reviews, we tend to get a little biased towards the pros only, but you have not fallen into that mode.

Congratulations and wish you many miles of happy ownership.
Rajeevraj is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 21:06   #13

Thanks Jagann13 for the review, must congratulate you for the detailed write-up and pictures and giving us a perceptive from an owners point of view. Great job !
Y I'm test-driving the Triber this weekend.
Looking forward for the official review.
tj123 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 21:47   #14

Congratulations on the Triber! The designing team has done a rather good job with this car.

Recently while refueling my car I saw a Renault ASC mechanic in Triber Test Drive car and decided to ask him how the car was. He said the its going to be easy to maintain and components that are used look like they'll hold well in harsh conditions in the long term.

Do upgrade to grippy wider tyres with a 15" rim & keep this thread updated as it'll be nice to know how the car fares.

Last edited by GrammarNazi : 23rd November 2019 at 21:51.
GrammarNazi is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2019, 22:35   #15

I'm in market searching for an upgrade to my family hatchback. We're family of 4 and my trusted Maruti Wagon R VXI 2011 is serving us perfectly well barring the disappointment of limitations of 1 litre engine on frequent highway trips.

Now since kids are growing, the itch of upgrading to new Ertiga has became uncontrollable and unavoidable due to fights between teenager kids.

But launch of Triber has pulled off the horses of booking of new ertiga. The main stop over to give a glance at Triber is Renault has hit the sweet spot of middle class family requirements and that is SPACE. Since our requirement is lot of space which Triber tick it up all in my checklist, but this 1L engine is keeping me off considering highway trips. And second most hesitations consists of after sales service assistance in terms of service centers & cost. And most importantly resale value over the time considering Renault's Brand value.
yoscenario2000 is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com