Old 13th April 2020, 19:09   #46

Re: Extreme xtreme! Force Gurkha Xtreme 4x4 ownership review

Originally Posted by MohammedEza View Post
I nearly got stuck in an really remote area, Few other Gurkha owners have also reported this issue, a major chink in its armour?
I'll bet this was due to low fuel level - would have been less than half a tank for sure. Now one might argue that the fuel supply system in a hard-core off-road vehicle such as the Gurkha should have been designed accordingly BUT there is no defying the laws of Physics, whatever be the design Lesson learned - do not switch off the engine on unearthly inclines
cool_dube is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 13th April 2020, 19:28   #47

Originally Posted by cool_dube View Post
I'll bet this was due to low fuel level - would have been less than half a tank for sure.
Yes it was less than half tank. Well in that case, im gald. Nothing wrong with the vehicle
Old 13th April 2020, 19:41   #48

I'll bet this was due to low fuel level - would have been less than half a tank for sure. there is no defying the laws of Physics, whatever be the design
Aren’t fuel pumps inside the Fuel tanks these days?
Old 15th April 2020, 07:56   #49

Aren’t fuel pumps inside the Fuel tanks these days?
This is correct.

I think the most likely reason is that the pump was too weak to push in that particular incline after the vehicle was stopped. When it is running there is always additional pull from the Common rail pump. Guess this is a scenario Force Motor's has not tested.

I am sure if he had used the pump primer inside the engine bay to re-prime the CRDe pump, the car would have started.
4x4addict is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 15th April 2020, 23:41   #50

Originally Posted by 4x4addict View Post
I am sure if he had used the pump primer inside the engine bay to re-prime the CRDe pump, the car would have started.
So u are saying that if i had primed the pump at the incline itself and cranked it again, it would have started?
Old 16th April 2020, 01:17   #51

Bored at home, maybe dig up some mud to test your axle articulation!

MohammedEza is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 10:43   #52

Thanks for sharing the video What better way to kill time than plugging some mud

Was it only the rear diff lock that you engaged after "getting stuck" or both front and rear? From the video I take it that it was only the rear one.

Last edited by cool_dube : 16th April 2020 at 10:57.
cool_dube is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 12:44   #53

Was it only the rear diff lock that you engaged after "getting stuck" or both front and rear? From the video I take it that it was only the rear one.
Yup, only the rear diffs were engaged.
Old 16th April 2020, 13:13   #54

Thanks for sharing! Great way to spend the lockdown,

Apart from the articulation the video is also perfect to show the prowess of the differential lockers in action!

I have also purchased the Gurkha, and am currently only dreaming of laying my hands on it, as the delivery has been delayed due to the lockdown.

Last edited by Trojan : 16th April 2020 at 13:39.
Trojan is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 13:33   #55

Originally Posted by Trojan View Post
I have also purchased the Gurkha, and am currently only dreaming of laying my hands on it, the delivery has been delayed due to the lockdown.
So that must the last few of the BS4 models. Congratulation on your vehicle. Im sure you will have lots of fun with it . Which variant is it?
MohammedEza is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 16:21   #56

So that must the last few of the BS4 models. Congratulation on your vehicle. Im sure you will have lots of fun with it . Which variant is it?

Thank you, yes, it was the last of the few, was looking for a 5 door variant but those weren't available.
Its the Gurkha Explorer, 3 Door with the older 2.5 engine.
Trojan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 17:01   #57

So u are saying that if i had primed the pump at the incline itself and cranked it again, it would have started?

I think so, because you would have got sufficient fuel to the CRDe pump. A very similar situation happened to a Tata Safari in my neighborhood. He had stopped in a steep incline and the vehicle refused to start. After I primed his pump, it started. Not sure if it would have worked for you for sure, but in future try it.
4x4addict is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2020, 20:15   #58

Originally Posted by Trojan View Post
Its the Gurkha Explorer, 3 Door with the older 2.5 engine.
Make sure that you do a proper and through PDI and get all the issues sorted before taking delivery. Ensure all the instrument lights and diff lock indication/ beep sound is working. If possible, maybe jack the vehicle or use the hydralic lift at the service center to test if diff locks are working. Many users have reported issues with diff locks. Maybe you could go through the list of problems i had and check for the same in your vehicle. I would also recommend underbody coating to prevent rusting. Wishing you many happy and adventurous miles.
MohammedEza is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd April 2020, 21:39   #59

Here is short video. Waiting eagerly for the lockdown to end. In the meantime, gaining some experience here and there.

MohammedEza is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 1st June 2020, 18:58   #60

This Gurkha Xtreme is indeed a beautiful and rare example, Eza Bhai! I hope it is providing you and your family a blissful ownership experience. I also crave for learning basic skills such as performing oil changes oneself, and all the other fundamental skills a car owner should be equipped with, which most people chiming in here seem to have in spades.

By the way, I thought the Xtreme version was available with alloy wheels, but these steel wheels also provide it a quirky appeal for me. Unfortunately, the disappointingly outdated and utilitarian cabin makes me feel Force Motors should have kept the ex-showroom price at 10 lakh Rupees, not to take away from the fact that you and your family took a very bold decision to go ahead with this beautiful monster! Monsters usually cannot be beautiful, but this one certainly is!

The way the Gurkha just nonchalantly walks through the scarily deep second "pothole" (if it can be named as such) is awe-inspiring!

I'm genuinely curious; how would you have primed the fuel pump? If 4x4addict sir is available, I'd like to read his directions as well.
BashfulKlutz is offline   (1) Thanks