Old 17th January 2022, 16:43   #76

Re: Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review

Originally Posted by ramnaresh_2000 View Post
Agree with your comments on the glossy part.
Try keeping that sticky glue pad on the inside part of both front wheels and then see the magic.

That's where the rats climb from. And offering them feasts won't help. I've had cases when rats picked up those feasts/mortein rat kill cakes, came inside engine bay, had a party inside and left. I had to clean their mess and poo. Thankfully they didn't damage any wires then as a token of appreciation for the food.
Leoshashi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th January 2022, 16:11   #77

Originally Posted by Leoshashi View Post
Try keeping that sticky glue pad on the inside part of both front wheels and then see the magic.

That's where the rats climb from.
That is exactly where I place my normal metal rat traps, because the water from our overhead tank when overflows goes under my vehicle and makes the sticky glue pads wet. They don't work after they become wet, hence placing pad in engine bay where it is dry always.

Got the Carcat machine delivered today and got it fixed as soon as I got it in local workshop. The installation could have been a DIY if I had the right tools, but I don't have the spanners required. Just connect the black to +ve terminal and red to -ve terminal of the battery and use the zip ties to lock the device in place.

This is emitting green and blue light in non-regular intervals along with some beeps. I hope this works, using this along side gum mats, traps and mint oil.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220118_154657.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220118_151427.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220118_154329.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220118_154314.jpg

As per the website, the battery drain should be minimal and once in a week we need to use the vehicle to get the battery fully charged and to avoid any discharge.

I anyway use the vehicle on weekends to keep the battery in shape, so no worries here. Just to be sure I noted down the battery voltage reading from MID (13.7v when engine is off and 14.2v when engine is on) and will monitor it regularly to see and abnormal battery drainage. Fingers crossed.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2022, 11:05   #78

I am checking the battery voltage everyday after installing the Carcat device. Before starting the car, the voltage reading on MID is 12.1 and after starting it is going up to 14.2v. I am a bit concerned if this device is hogging more than the prescribed amount of battery.

I did a little research on Google and a healthy battery should have anywhere between 12.6 to 12.8v when engine is turned off. Can someone please confirm.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220121_104856.jpg
Old 21st January 2022, 11:39   #79

This battery value just indicates the state of charge of the battery. If the battery voltage while the engine is OFF is above 11.7V the battery is considered to have enough charge to start the car. The best way to test the battery health is to check the voltage drop while cranking the engine. If the voltage while cranking dips below 9.7V the battery health is considered bad. (this is a good article)

Although it would be a good practice to check rate at which your battery is discharging with the device connected as older batteries are bound to discharge faster as the capacity to hold charge reduces.
germin is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st January 2022, 12:45   #80

I am checking the battery voltage everyday after installing the Carcat device. Before starting the car, the voltage reading on MID is 12.1 and after starting it is going up to 14.2v. I am a bit concerned if this device is hogging more than the prescribed amount of battery.
Pls hook up the hungry cat to a 12V AC adapter. Car battery does not like slow bleeders, it will ruin them soon and the battery sensor wont let you start the engine. You may have heard of Compass needing battery replacement a bit sooner that its owners had anticipated, so its better not to take such risks.
Kosfactor is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 13th February 2022, 12:29   #81

Have been using seat gap filler from past few months. The one I purchased was flimsy and was always falling through the gaps. Hence started hunt to find a sturdy seat gap filler. Found one on Amazon. This one has nifty features like QC3.0 charge and iPhone charging cable built in. It also has provision to charge 2 more phones via USB.

Fully satisfied with the quality and performance. My phone detected fast charging.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220213_105804.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220213_105750.jpg

Positives:
  • Can hold 2 phones or 1 phone and wallet along with car keys.
  • Sturdy build.
  • Can charge 4 phones at the same time.
  • Solves the space problem in my Compass.
  • Compact design. It doesn't protrude in to passenger seat space.
  • Supports Quick Charge 3.0.

Negatives:
  • Long term durability unknown.
  • Charging cables are retractable and are very slim. If the retract function stops, it will look ugly and will clutter the gap filler.
  • Even though very compact, it does eat up quite a bit of space from cup holders.

Overall happy with the purchase and fully satisfied. Currently it is showing as out of stock on Amazon as it was featured in some YouTube video, but will be back in stock soon.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th March 2022, 21:45   #82

Today we finally managed to visit the Statue of Equality.

Wikipedia - https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stat...ity_(Ramanuja)

Ever since my son saw the inauguration of Statue of Equality on television, he was bugging us to visit the statue of Ramanuja. Initially I was intentionally delaying the plan as I was concerned about the social distancing. However, finally had to plan the trip as my son was getting restless day by day.

We started from our hometown in the morning at 9:45 AM and reached the place by 12:45 PM. Behold the Statue of Equality of the great Ramanuja. It was mesmerizing. The car park ticket was 40 bucks. Entry ticket for adults is 150 bucks and children's ticket is 75 bucks. After we park the vehicle, we have to handover the footwear at the footwear stand, they dont give any token, they issue you with a bag which has a unique number written on it and they ask you to take picture of the number on the chappal bag. You will have to show the picture of the bag when you return.

After entering you will be redirected to purchase the entry ticket, there are almost 10 counters, so no need to stand in huge queues. They offer a band which we need to tie to our hand (waste of material if you ask me).

The moment you enter inside the premises you will be directed to the 108 temples entrance. These temples are miniature recreations of lord vishnu temples from all over India. For example you will find lord vishnu avatara in tirumala temple, dwaraka temple, ayodhya temple etc. The temples are located in such a way that you will make a round trip around the statue and then finally there will be steps which will lead you to the statue.

Let the pictures do the talking now.

The worlds second largest sitting statue (yes that's a thing now)

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_135808.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_134846.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_134453.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_130018.jpg

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_131219.jpg

Beautiful view from side

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_130650.jpg

View from top

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_134641.jpg

Miniature Ramanuja statue on top of lotus fountain

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_130158.jpg

The students of veda patashala having some fun

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_131519.jpg

Beautifully crafted wooden rath

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_134301.jpg

Golden Dhwaja Stambha

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_134416.jpg

My beast is also happy to be here after resting for almost a month

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220305_124639.jpg

There is also a pure gold 9 feet statue of Ramanuja underneath the big statue, photos not allowed obviously.

Only 1 restaurant is located in the premises. This is managed by Ohris restaurant. Pure veg options obviously.

Car parking is not a problem. They literally have bus parking spaces also.

Inside the premises only electric vehicles are used for transporting the prasad etc.

Best time to visit is after summer. Kids will burn their feet during summer season as there is almost granite floors all over the place.

Cleanliness is given highest priority inside the temple. It was very neat and clean with ample amount of machines cleaning the place.

This was constructed purely by donations from private people and no funding provided by either state or central government. (Estimated cost was 1000 crores).

Finally you will find many social media narcissists who will block the way for everyone just to get their photo or video for their social media accounts. Feel free to interrupt them by photo bombing them

Last edited by ramnaresh_2000 : 5th March 2022 at 22:15.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th April 2022, 23:10   #83

Every car owners nightmare, the unfortunate yet unavoidable event occurred with my Phoenix today. It met with a minor accident. I was on my way from shopping and I had stopped my vehicle on empty road side to have a sip of water. Suddenly from nowhere a bike came and hit my vehicle at a speed of approx 60 kmph.

The point of impact was the silencer, the clamp holding the silencer broke and the silencer was hanging on the ground. The rear bumper broke, the right side taillight was damaged. The right side back fender got scratches. Everyone in my car were in a state of shock.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220406_145041.jpg

His was a 2 days old brand new TVS Ntorq bike. He was not wearing helmet. The bike had front disc without ABS . The dealer has not given him any insurance papers or helmet. The bike failed to start after multiple attempts by public, so they parked it on side.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220406_145033.jpg

As usual a large public has gathered in few minutes and started making allegations on me because as per public court logic it is always big vehicle owners fault I calmly looked at the bike driver and took him to the side and enquired why he hit a stagnant vehicle.

My first doubt was that he might have been drunk, but that was not the case. I did not smell any alcohol on him. He said he was feeling nauseated and was driving fast to reach home and take rest, but lost control. He acknowledged that it was his mistake and apologized. He said that he thought the vehicle was in motion. I recorded his statement on my mobile for safety. He claimed that he has not eaten anything from morning, was feeling nauseated from last 2 days, was driving in harsh summer afternoon and this cocktail was perfect recipe for a disaster.

His bike was hardly 2 days old. I asked him to call his parents or friends. He said his parents were out of station and none of his friends were answering his call. He said he was a car mechanic and had just now given interview in Hyundai showroom for a job opening. He started apologizing and said he doesn't have any money. I first told him not to worry about money as I have full insurance coverage.

As no one was coming to help him and the public who gathered to watch the "tamasha" left, I slowly recovered from shock and noticed he was bleeding from his forehead. Felt sorry for him and quickly booked an auto and took him personally to a nearby hospital. Admitted him in emergency ward and took care of joining formalities.

The guy begged me not to admit him in such big hospital and he is fine with some small clinics first aid treatment. I assured him that I will take care of the charges. CT scan came clean, the wounds were cleaned and dressed, TT injection was given. After under observation for few hours he was discharged.

Meanwhile I raised claim in my Acko app, and called Jeep RSA. The RSA guy came in 30 minutes to my location, as the clamp was broken the RSA guy used a small rope to tie the silencer to the body and loaded it on his towing vehicle. Asked for "chai paisa" and took 100 bucks and gave me the receipt and left. Acko assigned a surveyor and he called me and said tha he will be evaluating the damage tomorrow morning. I also called the Jeep service manager and he confirmed that the vehicle has arrived the service center and he will take care of it and other formalities.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-20220406_161850.jpg

He messaged me this in the evening. I asked him about the insurance papers.

Red Phoenix - My Used Jeep Compass Limited (D) MT : An Ownership Review-screenshot_20220406200857_whatsapp.jpg

Lessons learnt:
  • Not to park vehicle on road even on empty stretch of road. Always park away from road on side.
  • Install rear dashcam to record unfortunate events like this.

I really hope the claim formalities go smoothly without much damage to my pocket. As I have Zero depreciation insurance, I am assuming that all damages will be covered in it and I will only have to pay the mandatory deduction amount which is around 5k+2k.

Finally 2 accidents in a span of 6 months. First one was with a rented innova, met with accident in my Karnataka trip and this one. Seriously a series of unfortunate events.

The only silver lining was thay no police got involved and the bike guy agreed that it was his mistake. There are many number of ways this could have turned ugly and would have been escalated quickly. Thank god for that.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (98) Thanks
Old 7th April 2022, 09:32   #84

It was really nice of you to get him treated in the hospital.
But from the pics, it looks like you parked on the road and not the roadside. This is wrong and I think you understand it now. People don't expect a vehicle to be stopped in the middle of the road. If there is a breakdown, hazard lights should be on and the warning triangle should be kept at a suitable distance. Otherwise one may fail to recognize that the vehicle has stopped. Also please consider the inconvenience it causes to the other road users.
Meph1st0 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 7th April 2022, 16:26   #85

Originally Posted by Meph1st0 View Post
It was really nice of you to get him treated in the hospital.
But from the pics, it looks like you parked on the road and not the roadside. This is wrong and I think you understand it now. People don't expect a vehicle to be stopped in the middle of the road.
Thank you.

As mentioned in lessons learnt section of my post, I have captured the details you mentioned. It is hard to ignore from your post how you have not mentioned anything about the bike which caused this accident and came to a conclusion that it is fully my fault?

Even though my vehicle is parked on the road, there was ample space for any SANE driver to pass by without hitting the vehicle. Just because I parked my vehicle on empty stretch doesn't automatically give right to anyone to hit my vehicle.

I have video recorded evidence of bike owner agreeing that he was nauseated and it was his fault that he hit the parked car.

The bike driver was not wearing any helmet. Not carrying insurance papers. You can clearly see from the picture that the TR sticker doesn't have any TR number.

Also please be aware that if someone hits your vehicle from back side, it is always the fault of the vehicle behind. This is because they are supposed to maintain enough stopping distance.

I am really sorry to say this but your post has irked me a lot.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 7th April 2022, 20:22   #86

I do not recollect saying that you were the cause of the accident.
All I said was whatever may be the reason, stopping right in the middle of the road is not acceptable.
Moreover, it also looks like just a two-lane highway. If someone had to overtake you, one would have to cross the solid double line. Just interpreting from your first picture. I as a road user get irked when I see others do similar things on the road, this is what compelled me to write the post.
Meph1st0 is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 8th April 2022, 08:40   #87

Even though my vehicle is parked on the road, there was ample space for any SANE driver to pass by without hitting the vehicle. Just because I parked my vehicle on empty stretch doesn't automatically give right to anyone to hit my vehicle
Firstly, you did a good job in taking him to hospital and getting him treated immediately

However, I don't exactly get how is this his fault ? No insurance, No helmet - his loss and he pays for it.

But parking in the middle of road even though it's "empty" is not a very sane thing to do.

What would have happened if it was a 4 wheeler and passengers had their seat belts on ? Whose fault it would be then ?
Sk8r is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 8th April 2022, 08:41   #88

Thank you.

As mentioned in lessons learnt section of my post, I have captured the details you mentioned. It is hard to ignore from your post how you have not mentioned anything about the bike which caused this accident and came to a conclusion that it is fully my fault?

Even though my vehicle is parked on the road, there was ample space for any SANE driver to pass by without hitting the vehicle. Just because I parked my vehicle on empty stretch doesn't automatically give right to anyone to hit my vehicle.

I have video recorded evidence of bike owner agreeing that he was nauseated and it was his fault that he hit the parked car.

The bike driver was not wearing any helmet. Not carrying insurance papers. You can clearly see from the picture that the TR sticker doesn't have any TR number.

Also please be aware that if someone hits your vehicle from back side, it is always the fault of the vehicle behind. This is because they are supposed to maintain enough stopping distance.

Do you really feel you are completely innocent here? Just parking the car in middle of the carriageway is unacceptable. Even if your car breaks down you need to put your hazards on, keep a warning triangle and station a person to warn about the hazard. I suggest you please read up about road regulations, it is a punishable offense to cause a road hazard in this manner. Please feel lucky that the poor rider didn't plan to sue you, else you would find yourself running circles in the court.
I also applaud you in taking the biker to the hospital. Very few people have concern of others wellbeing during this time.
apachelongbow is offline   (32) Thanks
Old 8th April 2022, 09:10   #89

It is good to see no major bodily harm to the 2 wheeler rider.
Need to exercise caution while parking. Here you blocked rightful way of any person using that lane ! And that is not correct.
prasanna_indaje is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 8th April 2022, 09:34   #90

Originally Posted by Sk8r View Post
But parking in the middle of road even though it's "empty" is not a very sane thing to do.
Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
Do you really feel you are completely innocent here? Just parking the car in middle of the carriageway is unacceptable.

Please feel lucky that the poor rider didn't plan to sue you, else you would find yourself running circles in the court.
Just wanted to clear some misconception here. The vehicle is not parked on "middle" of the road. It was parked on side of the road, but not on the kerb.

The pic taken was from 0.5x zoom to accommodate both bike and car in the same frame. See where the towing truck is parked? That was the place my vehicle was parked. Ample space for even a bulldozer to pass without grazing my vehicle. I should have parked off road for sure and that was my mistake which I already acknowledged, still doesn't mean I am at 100% fault here. It takes two hands to clap.

Sue me on what basis? Anyone who hits from behind is at fault by default, please remember this simple rule. The person riding from back is supposed to maintain safe distance. He should be thankful that I did not proceed legally (which he already thanked me). When you drive nauseated, without helmet, damage my vehicle, don't carry any papers, no TR number, then I am sorry you have no legal right to sue me. This would have easily backfired on him if he went to court.

Last edited by ramnaresh_2000 : 8th April 2022 at 09:44.
ramnaresh_2000 is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com