Old 5th March 2024, 04:08   #196

Re: A dream come true | My Audi A4 2.0 TFSi | Ownership Review | EDIT: 1 Year and 20,000 km up

I've recently acquired a used audi a4 technology. While I do enjoy the refined motor and comfort, I do resent the boat like handling. Coming from a F10 530d, I had imagined a smaller sedan would be tighter around bends, but I find it to be quite the opposite. While silly speeds are easy, they are not very confidence inspiring. Has anyone been able to get the dynamics sorted?

I am thinking about some mods:
- 18" tyres with PS4 or similar tyres.
- Lowering the car?
- Anything else??

Also, my a4 is a 2021, so doesn't have the B&O sound system (which I hear isn't any good either, at least it wasn't when I listened to it in the audi showroom). The sound quality isn't worthy of being inside a 40L + car. Has anyone done any sound upgrades? Does it even have a subwoofer? There is practically no bass response.
amitverma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 09:45   #197

Re: A dream come true | My Audi A4 2.0 TFSi | Ownership Review | EDIT: 1 Year and 20,000 km up

Originally Posted by amitverma View Post
I've recently acquired a used audi a4 technology. While I do enjoy the refined motor and comfort, I do resent the boat like handling. Coming from a F10 530d, I had imagined a smaller sedan would be tighter around bends, but I find it to be quite the opposite. While silly speeds are easy, they are not very confidence inspiring. Has anyone been able to get the dynamics sorted?

- Lowering the car?
- Anything else??

Also, my a4 is a 2021, so doesn't have the B&O sound system (which I hear isn't any good either, at least it wasn't when I listened to it in the audi showroom). The sound quality isn't worthy of being inside a 40L + car. Has anyone done any sound upgrades? Does it even have a subwoofer? There is practically no bass response.
I think the confidence inspiring bit is more to do with the relatively less steering feel offered in Audis, as compared to what you had before.

I would suggest an upgrade to Bilstein B6 dampers which will improve the handling and damping in general, but will lead to slight bit more stiffness and body movement at low speeds.
Akshay1234 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th March 2024, 16:52   #198

Originally Posted by Akshay1234 View Post
I would suggest an upgrade to Bilstein B6 dampers which will improve the handling and damping in general, but will lead to slight bit more stiffness and body movement at low speeds.
I think I'm willing to sacrifice "some" comfort for a more planted ride. I also feel the ride height needs to go down a bit. Would the bilsteins lower the ride height too? Also, do you suggest moving to 18s?
Old 13th March 2024, 16:44   #199

- Lowering the car?
- Anything else??
I have PS4 tyres on my 2021 A4-technology and tyres alone made a noticeable difference. Moving to 18" will further improve handling.
The subwoofer is installed under the left side of the rear parcel trey. I have changed my subwoofer and included an amp to drive it. Since my car is still in warranty I have done a clip-on arrangement with speaker level, high input into the amp. The subwoofer change alone made a huge difference.
gungax is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 13th March 2024, 18:00   #200

Originally Posted by gungax View Post
I have PS4 tyres on my 2021 A4-technology and tyres alone made a noticeable difference. Moving to 18" will further improve handling.
The subwoofer is installed under the left side of the rear parcel trey. I have changed my subwoofer and included an amp to drive it. Since my car is still in warranty I have done a clip-on arrangement with speaker level, high input into the amp. The subwoofer change alone made a huge difference.
Hey gungax, thats what i wanted to hear. Mine is under warranty till 2026 too, how strict are they with warranties? I have had PS4 twice on my civic and the problem with them is they degrade too quickly. You only enjoy the grip till 10k kms, the rest 15k kms of life is just very average. Are there any other tires which might be better? The car is running on Continentals right now and they're just average.

Also which subwoofer/amp combo did you go for? Can you please share some details?
Old 14th March 2024, 11:39   #201

Mine is under warranty till 2026 too, how strict are they with warranties?
If they want they can be very strict with warranty. Your tyres can also void warranty. In the case of the subwoofer, I got all their conditions that will void warranty and installed accordingly. Then showed it at the service centre. At the moment they agree it doesn't void warranty but we will know only when I need to claim.

You only enjoy the grip till 10k kms, the rest 15k kms of life is just very average. Are there any other tires which might be better?
I use Michelin on all my cars. The tyres wear down fast but found them to have better grip. The FWD nature of the care doesn't help with the handling. Tyres won't be able to fix that.

Also which subwoofer/amp combo did you go for? Can you please share some details?
Will DM you with the details of the amp/ subwoofer installation.
Old 8th April 2024, 10:16   #202

Belated congratulations Joshmachine! Excellent write up and a lovely ownership thread! Thanks for sharing!

Excellent choice! Wish you a very happy ownership experience!

I had a few queries, if you don’t mind answering:

1. Is the Turbo charger oil cooled or water cooled?

2. Is the TC assisted by a coolant pump which runs for a minute after the engine is turned off?

3. Dummy fog lamp housing is the only fly in the ointment as I see. Your take on that.

4. How much does the maintenance cost without the AMC? How is your service experience?

5. What is the maximum years of warranty that one can get? Standard + Extended.

5. Have you ever had any trouble with the ground clearance?

Vredestin ultrac vorti tyres are excellent. I am saying this from my experience. Excellent grip and braking ability with great life. You can try them out when you require to change.

Congratulations once again! 😊
Chethan B G is online now   (3) Thanks
Old 20th May 2024, 20:42   #203

Oh Dear Lord! I haven’t been more confused ever. I own a Black Octavia 2022 L&K. Due to some issues with Skoda currently, nothing that can’t be solved though, I am looking for replacement - One might see this an excuse for a new machine and rightly so.
Now the dilemma is between Tiguan and A4(After discounts). Having read so many wonderful reviews here , I might be more inclined to go ahead with the Sedan for A) Badge value and B) Practical interior ergonomics.
On the other hand, perhaps a more practical choice should be Tiguan, being an SUV, Softroader though but still instills some confidence due to AWD and higher GC.
Now the best part is that having confused between these 2 machines, a big part of me wants to retain Octavia - She’s a stunner esp with that sportback design.I find that it carries more character among the lot - No offense but it’s my personal opinion.

I really wish if anyone could guide me here.
Do note - I am not looking at any car beyond these 3 currently.
A dream come true | My Audi A4 2.0 TFSi | Ownership Review | EDIT: 1 Year and 20,000 km up-img_8715.jpeg  

A dream come true | My Audi A4 2.0 TFSi | Ownership Review | EDIT: 1 Year and 20,000 km up-img_8704.jpeg  

Ambust is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 12th June 2024, 20:40   #204

Originally Posted by JoshMachine View Post
1 year, 17000 kms later...

Attachment 2448148

Attachment 2448147

Dear Josh Machine,

Congratulations, you have caused another prospective buyer to lean towards the A4 finally. Like you, I too finally shortlisted two cars the Camry and the A4 and due in large part to this thread, decided to go with the A4 Tech. I read each and every post of yours in this thread and also quite a few of yours in other threads when you were still deciding yourself. The car cost me 52 and this includes 5 year warranty and 5 year basic service package, welcome lights, ceramic coating, all weather mats, cushions, full fuel tank, and Audi connect.

I had a couple of questions for you. First of all, I was wondering why you marked as blank the column stating the tombstone like silence in the car. After a year of ownership, do you feel the car is not as quiet anymore or is it the case that you don't like the silence, you find it uncomfortable?

Secondly, I couldn't snag the Comprehensive service package for free but managed to get a 10% discount. I have decided to go with 5 years of basic service over the 3 years of comprehensive service. both cost roughly the same with the basic for 5 being more expensive by 15k. I was wondering what's your take on this? Comprehensive for 3 or basic for 5? I have only made the booking yesterday so I can still change this.

Lastly I am torn between the color choices. I have gone for black but have the option for getting the Manhattan grey color. It's a darker shade than your Tierra grey and I quite like it, but I also like the black. Grey is more unique (is it ?) than black but I worry if it will look bland after a couple of weeks.
jetpack470 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th June 2024, 14:27   #205

Originally Posted by Ambust View Post
Oh Dear Lord! I haven’t been more confused ever. I own a Black Octavia 2022 L&K. Due to some issues with Skoda currently, nothing that can’t be solved though, I am looking for replacement - One might see this an excuse for a new machine and rightly so.
Now the dilemma is between Tiguan and A4(After discounts). Having read so many wonderful reviews here , I might be more inclined to go ahead with the Sedan for A) Badge value and B) Practical interior ergonomics.
On the other hand, perhaps a more practical choice should be Tiguan, being an SUV, Softroader though but still instills some confidence due to AWD and higher GC.
Now the best part is that having confused between these 2 machines, a big part of me wants to retain Octavia - She’s a stunner esp with that sportback design.I find that it carries more character among the lot - No offense but it’s my personal opinion.

I really wish if anyone could guide me here.
Do note - I am not looking at any car beyond these 3 currently.

Hey buddy,

As a previous generation Octavia owner, I will say with confidence, hands down, you need to retain the Octavia, they don't make it here anymore. It is a fantastic car with superlative list of features, that even the A4 misses.

But if you are hell bent on getting a new car, get the A4. Tiguan doesn't impress you beyond few things here and there. And to top it off with VW's attitude of not giving relevant features to the car make things worse.

At least with Audi, you know you have a badge value, and now they have learnt from the competition, and have specced the car well.

Originally Posted by jetpack470 View Post
Dear Josh Machine,

Lastly I am torn between the color choices. I have gone for black but have the option for getting the Manhattan grey color. It's a darker shade than your Tierra grey and I quite like it, but I also like the black. Grey is more unique (is it ?) than black but I worry if it will look bland after a couple of weeks.
Jumping in here as an Audi owner, Go with the Grey, you are right, it is more unique and once in 6 months keep doing the ceramic retouch-up, the car will keep shining long and the same time will be a head turner .
sawnilrules is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 19th June 2024, 09:31   #206

Dear All,

I recently bought an Audi A4 Technology over 3 series / C class and couldnt agree more with the positives mentioned by various owners in the thread. Still listing a few for perspective buyers:

1) Classic / Timeless looks - The sharp lines, muscular bonnet, Matrix headlights make me turn my head everytime I park the car

2) Luxury feeling - The interiors of A4 Technology are very well put together; quality of materials, reach to various controls, the MMI, interior lighting give you a very hushed feeling of luxury, its something you need to experience yourself.

3) NVH - The cabin offers pin drop silence on NCR roads I have multiple times muted the B&O system to feel the silence offered by the cabin. This is complemented by well insulated engine bay, I have to check the RPM gauge to ensure engine is running

4) Suspension - The Audi suspensions just glide over bad roads, speedbreakers and whatever pathetic roads of NCR offer

5) Speed / acceleration / thrill - even in comfort mode, press the pedal and Audi just launches itself making overtaking easy and at the same time ego boosting. On the Dwarka Expressway I have floored the pedal in Sports / Dynamic mode and thats where the Audi shows its true colors. The car is stable, steering precise and that sound from the engine is true love

This is my first foray into the luxury segment and while I wanted to buy the 3 Series but somehow it never gave me the same sense of luxury as Audi no doubt the drive was better but how much of that will I use in city made me go towards Audi. The other option was C class which offers the best sense of luxury amongst the A4 and 3 series however punny petrol engine and those hideous pin stripes are not to my taste.

Happy to share more details to help perspective buyers and I suggest Audi South for best CRM experience amongst the dealers I dealt with.
garyag79 is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 23rd June 2024, 14:12   #207

Originally Posted by garyag79 View Post
Dear All,

5) Speed / acceleration / thrill - even in comfort mode, press the pedal and Audi just launches itself making overtaking easy and at the same time ego boosting. On the Dwarka Expressway I have floored the pedal in Sports / Dynamic mode and thats where the Audi shows its true colors. The car is stable, steering precise and that sound from the engine is true love

Happy to share more details to help perspective buyers and I suggest Audi South for best CRM experience amongst the dealers I dealt with.
Hey, congratulations once again. Could you share the price you got from Audi Delhi South? I was quoted 51.50 from them for Tech with 5 year warranty and 5 year basic service package + ceramic coating, welcome lights, all weather mats, fuel tank full, and pillows.

One more thing I wanted to tell you but I'm sure you know, is that I believe there is a break in period of 1500 kilometres so you shouldn't accelerate too hard during this. I'm tempted to go to the Dwarka highway or new Mumbai highway and floor it too but I'm saving it for later haha
Old 24th June 2024, 10:45   #208

Hey, congratulations once again. Could you share the price you got from Audi Delhi South? I was quoted 51.50 from them for Tech with 5 year warranty and 5 year basic service package + ceramic coating, welcome lights, all weather mats, fuel tank full, and pillows.

One more thing I wanted to tell you but I'm sure you know, is that I believe there is a break in period of 1500 kilometres so you shouldn't accelerate too hard during this. I'm tempted to go to the Dwarka highway or new Mumbai highway and floor it too but I'm saving it for later haha
Hi, my final on road was INR 48 lakh all inclusive but excl EW and Service Pack. Had they included it then price would be same as 51.50. Other items included - Ceramic coating, mats, fuel tank full, cover.

Yes, aware of break in period, the manual said not to take RPM over 2/3rd of max rpm till 1500 km so kept it around 3000 only. The dealer however said there is no need for break in drive as you feel like. Needless to say, these are on off drives on the expressway. Audi is my daily drive to office in Delhi.

Last edited by garyag79 : 24th June 2024 at 10:51.
Old 24th June 2024, 21:03   #209

Originally Posted by garyag79 View Post
Yes, aware of break in period, the manual said not to take RPM over 2/3rd of max rpm till 1500 km so kept it around 3000 only. The dealer however said there is no need for break in drive as you feel like. Needless to say, these are on off drives on the expressway. Audi is my daily drive to office in Delhi.
Hi Garyag, spoke with Audi Delhi South again and got a further reduction. I was planning on asking them one thing but forgot and figured I might as well ask you since you bought a new MY24 car. Is your A4 E20 compliant? Would you mind clicking a picture of the fuel cap? It should have a sticker there mentioning its fuel compliance.

Thank you.
Old 25th June 2024, 17:16   #210

Is your A4 E20 compliant? Would you mind clicking a picture of the fuel cap? It should have a sticker there mentioning its fuel compliance.
I spoke to Audi Bengaluru last week regarding the same and they mentioned that their manual states about E20 compatibility but they don’t have stickers on fuel cap. I don’t know what to infer with this statement but having said that, Kodiaq with the same engine now comes with E20 compliant stickers on the fuel cap
RootedCosmo is offline   (2) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com