Old 4th January 2008, 19:57   #46

If you hate unplanned expenses, then you want what BMW call their BSI+R plan, where you pay a fixed amount up-front, before your first service, and virtually all repair and service costs are then waived, including most consumables.
That plan is neat! I had created a thread on that a while back. What is the annual pricing like for the 3 / 5 series?
Old 4th January 2008, 20:00   #47

Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
If you hate unplanned expenses, then you want what BMW call their BSI+R plan, where you pay a fixed amount up-front, before your first service, and virtually all repair and service costs are then waived, including most consumables.
Interesting. What scheme is this? Any links?
Old 4th January 2008, 22:08   #48

That plan is neat! I had created a thread on that a while back. What is the annual pricing like for the 3 / 5 series?
Its around 2 Lakhs(not annually, will get back with the exact figures) for the 5 series, suprisingly the 525d is the cheapest on the bsi+r list.
They informed me of this plan during delivery but i was too excited to get behind the wheel that i didnt hear the guy out too well... but it does cover brake pads etc.
The dealership has been sending me several letters to take the scheme but i need to do my research on it before i decide.
Old 4th January 2008, 23:03   #49

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
... but i need to do my research on it before i decide.
You're lucky you still have time! My first service is already done!
Old 5th January 2008, 12:01   #50

Its around 2 Lakhs(not annually, will get back with the exact figures) for the 5 series, suprisingly the 525d is the cheapest on the bsi+r list.
I am surprised that the diesel is cheaper too, since the filters etc. are bound to be more expensive. I think this is a fantastic initiative by BMW, and others will have to follow suit sooner or later.

I'd love to do a comparo of Benz' servicing costs versus BMW, though I am pretty certain Merc will end up more expensive. As good as their authorised service support is, they literally "loot" you for all you are worth. The pricing of service and parts is just too darn expensive.
Old 5th January 2008, 12:53   #51

Ok here are the prices:
525d= 1.92 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.77 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
523i/525i/530i = 2.19 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 3.19 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms

320d= 1.60 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.32 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
320i= 1.78lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.56 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
325i= 2.1 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.98 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms

The BSI+R includes:
Oil changes,air filter etc
Brake pads & discs
cluth
vipers standard service as set out in booklet

Does NOT include:
fuel system damage, paint or glass damage, rattles, TYRES and wheel imbalance or damage.

So is it really worth it?
Was informed at delivery that BMW's electronic key is insert into their computers every time a car comes in for service. The key stores all the data about the car and what needs to be changed etc, so unlike most manufacturers that have set parameters on every service BMW would change only things that are required and not go by what is on schedules for that particular service.
Old 5th January 2008, 13:09   #52

Ok here are the prices:
525d= 1.92 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.77 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
523i/525i/530i = 2.19 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 3.19 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms

320d= 1.60 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.32 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
320i= 1.78lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.56 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms
325i= 2.1 lakhs for 5 years 60,00kms. 2.98 lakhs for 5 years 100,000kms

The BSI+R includes:
Oil changes,air filter etc
Brake pads & discs
cluth
vipers standard service as set out in booklet

Does NOT include:
fuel system damage, paint or glass damage, rattles, TYRES and wheel imbalance or damage.

So is it really worth it?
Was informed at delivery that BMW's electronic key is insert into their computers every time a car comes in for service. The key stores all the data about the car and what needs to be changed etc, so unlike most manufacturers that have set parameters on every service BMW would change only things that are required and not go by what is on schedules for that particular service.

I will have to read the fine print but approx 40K every year is pretty reasonable. What is the service interval for BMWs? Assuming an average service cost of 30K per year for 5 years, the difference is justified for the peace of mind it offers. The probability of consumables is much more than probability of an accident. So 'service insurance' (if I can call it) makes a good option along with regular insurance.
Old 5th January 2008, 13:14   #53

Originally Posted by androdev View Post
I will have to read the fine print but approx 40K every year is pretty reasonable. What is the service interval for BMWs? Assuming an average service cost of 30K per year for 5 years, the difference is justified for the peace of mind it offers. The probability of consumables is much more than probability of an accident. So 'service insurance' (if I can call it) makes a good option along with regular insurance.
Service interval is 15,000kms ... i am averaging around 2000kms a month at the moment. And i dont think the service cost is 30k, first service i was told is around 10,000rs.

I have stated most stuff thats in the fine print...one funny clause is that your warranty might be void if you participate in motorsport events
Old 5th January 2008, 13:31   #54

seems like this thread is going way off topic!

and nick is not to be seen for a long time. hope he got something going...
Old 5th January 2008, 13:51   #55

Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
seems like this thread is going way off topic!

and nick is not to be seen for a long time. hope he got something going...
true - this is what happens when the u have a bunch of car enthusiasts and a dormant thread starter !!

anyway nick - i really sympathise with u bcos i feel the same way when i dont get good service from HONDA - so the feeling is mutual irrespective of the price of the car....
and DONT TAKE ANY RACIAL bias from anyone - pls document these too and include it in ur charges...

there are many success stories in this forum on such issues and u can only expect more help as u open up and keep updating members on the progress of ur case..all the best
Old 5th January 2008, 13:53   #56

The pricing is reasonable, especially if you consider consumables (oil etc) and wear & tear items (brake pads, wipers etc.). However, it is not an outright steal in terms of upkeep. Considering the 1.6 lakh figure for the BMW, my C220 would cost about about Rs. 1,60,000 too, over 60K kilometers including all services, Mobil 1, and one change each of performance rubber (36,000 for 4 tyres), wiper blades (4,000) and brake pads (10 - 12 K).

The real advantage is that BMW's coverage, in effect, offers you a complete warranty coverage for 60,000 kms / 1,00,000. And knowing how expensive part replacements can be, this factor alone can make owning a BMW cheaper by about 1.2 - 3.0 lacs (over a 5 year duration) to the Mercs.
Old 5th January 2008, 14:17   #57

Sahil, does your 525d give you the service interval for all the major components in your Idrive?
Old 6th January 2008, 05:19   #58

Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
Sahil, does your 525d give you the service interval for all the major components in your Idrive?
............Yes it does
Old 6th January 2008, 11:39   #59

The pricing is reasonable considering that the consumables and the wear and tear parts are included. The pricing for 525d looks attractive compared to the petrol version. I do not understand why the diesel version is cheaper than the petrol one.
Old 6th January 2008, 17:33   #60

This case has hampered my 325i buynig decision

Damn would love to know what happens with this case.
My 325i buying decision has been halted due to what happened to this guy.
Can't bring myself to paying 35lakhs and having this nagging feeling that I am buying a product which might breakdown any moment and worst of all that I will be treated like crap.It just paints a gloomy picture of BMW india and I am not very keen on BMW being a quality luxury supplier.

But I was so looking forward to buying the 325i in March and now its off , hope this issue resolves soon.
Bohooooo