Old 22nd May 2009, 22:34   #1

Black Ford Fiesta 1.6s

Today, it was a special day to have a new member in our family! And we have christened him Enzo.

Milieu
I spent 4 big years with my previous car the Ikon 1.6 clocking more than 88K KMs in my 4 years of ownership. This car was so much fun to drive and its low end torque has always given me goose bumps whenever I want to take the car to its limits. It has kept me safe in all my 4 years of ownership and it was so bloody reliable whenever he is on mile quenching duties.

I had sold the Ikon by end of April and then my search began for a perfect replacement!

The Search
I was looking at a product which comes with ABS/EBD & Airbags. That was a big mandate in my search!

I don’t fancy too much about the Korean & Japanese cars. The Verna did not impress me in the handling part and the Honda was asking a premium for the badge. So I kept my choice limited between the Fiesta & the Linea MJD.

The Linea MJD was a good VFM car for what it offers but then it was shooting way beyond my budget if I wanted the ABS/EBD & Airbags.

For a petrol head like me, the Fiesta 1.6S looked to be more VFM considering the features it came with for the price and its one of the best driver’s car under the 10 Lakh band.

Dealer Experience
So, booked the Fiesta 1.6s on the 30th of April and got it registered and delivered today evening. The car was bought from MPL Ford, Chennai and I must say the delivery experience was silky smooth. The guys were very friendly and they made me feel comfortable right from the day I took a test drive.

I don’t think I have to say much here about the 1.6s and let the pictures speak the rest for now!

Taking Enzo for a perfect drive to Pondicherry this weekend! I will post better pictures then

Few Questions:
  • The 1st service is @ 5K KMs and the dealer mentioned that there is no Run-In required for this one! Can somebody confirm if this is true?
  • I found the lights to be too dull! I am planning to upgrade to 100/90 bulbs with proper wiring & relay kits. Will this upgrade void my warranty?
Black Ford Fiesta 1.6s-img_2893.jpg  

Black Ford Fiesta 1.6s-img_2894.jpg  

Black Ford Fiesta 1.6s-img_2898.jpg  

Black Ford Fiesta 1.6s-img_2933.jpg  

Last edited by anachronix : 22nd May 2009 at 22:36.
Old 22nd May 2009, 22:42   #2

COngratulations Anarchronix

Black Fiesta 1.6 is indeed a good car. Enzo sound to be a nice name for a car.
can you share what does it mean ?

post your long drive experience to pondy
Old 22nd May 2009, 22:50   #3

Originally Posted by anachronix View Post
Milieu
I spent 4 big years with my previous car the Ikon 1.6 clocking more than 88K KMs in my 4 years of ownership. This car was so much fun to drive and its low end torque has always given me goose bumps whenever I want to take the car to its limits. It has kept me safe in all my 4 years of ownership and it was so bloody reliable whenever he is on mile quenching duties.
Now, thats a fitting tribute to your old companion. While a lot of people have said a lot of negatives about the Ikon, this one speaks for itself.

You've gotten yourself the prefect replacement, and made no mistake with it.

Few Questions:
  • The 1st service is @ 5K KMs and the dealer mentioned that there is no Run-In required for this one! Can somebody confirm if this is true?
  • I found the lights to be too dull! I am planning to upgrade to 100/90 bulbs with proper wiring & relay kits. Will this upgrade void my warranty?
* Modern day cars dont really require a formal run-in period. You can afford to stretch its legs, but dont overstress it initially. Not really sure about the service interval for the first service.
* Make sure the relay kit is tucked away properly. Take your favourite service advisor into confidence, and work things out with him. Some dealers do tend to be choosy about the warranty terms and conditions, though.

Congratulations, once again. Will await better pics from the Pondy trip.
Old 22nd May 2009, 22:50   #4

Congrats. Good purchase indeed.Wishing you a pleasant ownership.

The car looks beautiful.

On your doubts

1) The sales person said the same to us as well when we got our Fiesta, even though ours is a diesel. Anyway we did a run-in just to be on safer side. Instead of running-in, you can do a break-in, but just keeping varying the rpm on the drive.

2) I found the fiesta lights to be quite good; specially in high beam, to which I had to switch to when confronted with lorries and buses.

Waiting for more pics. And... enjoy your first highway drive. ECR would be real fun to do in this car.

Last edited by krish3 : 22nd May 2009 at 22:52.
Old 22nd May 2009, 22:55   #5

Arun Congrats. It looks hot as hell in black. Wise decision. This car is easily one of the best drivers car in sub 10 lacs bracket. How much did it cost you OTR ? Discounts? And if you dont mind sharing how much you sold your Ikon for? Drive Safe. Cheers
Old 22nd May 2009, 23:04   #6
jpm

anachronix,
congrats on the 'Enzo'. The black is one of the best colors for fiesta in my opinion. Truly sexy or SXi as Ford would call it.

How much was she OTR? Any special offers? factory fitted ICE?

The 1.6 has no equals this side of 10L. pure joy! Quite easy to get carried away
drive safely and enjoy your ride.
Old 22nd May 2009, 23:07   #7

Amazing choice buddy. Dint know about the run in period.

Also post some pics of the interiors, under hood and the price if possible.

Congrats for the new ride and drive safe.
Old 22nd May 2009, 23:08   #8

Congrats Anachronix.

It looks hot in black.
Old 22nd May 2009, 23:09   #9

congratulations... looks delicious in black!!

(p.s. please take off the dealer sticker from the rear bumper)
Old 23rd May 2009, 00:48   #10

Great choice Anachronix. She looks hot in black. In fact this is the first black 1.6S that I have ever seen. The blue one seems a lot more popular. Did you get any discounts or freebies? How much was the final price?
Old 23rd May 2009, 01:29   #11

great looking car dude - black really stands out!
Can't wait for more pics!

Old 23rd May 2009, 08:48   #12

Today, it was a special day to have a new member in our family! And we have christened him Enzo.

Milieu

I had sold the Ikon by end of April and then my search began for a perfect replacement!

The Search
I was looking at a product which comes with ABS/EBD & Airbags. That was a big mandate in my search!

I don’t fancy too much about the Korean & Japanese cars. The Verna did not impress me in the handling part and the Honda was asking a premium for the badge. So I kept my choice limited between the Fiesta & the Linea MJD.

The Linea MJD was a good VFM car for what it offers but then it was shooting way beyond my budget if I wanted the ABS/EBD & Airbags.

For a petrol head like me, the Fiesta 1.6S looked to be more VFM considering the features it came with for the price and its one of the best driver’s car under the 10 Lakh band.

Dealer Experience
So, booked the Fiesta 1.6s on the 30th of April and got it registered and delivered today evening. The car was bought from MPL Ford, Chennai and I must say the delivery experience was silky smooth. The guys were very friendly and they made me feel comfortable right from the day I took a test drive.

I don’t think I have to say much here about the 1.6s and let the pictures speak the rest for now!

Taking Enzo for a perfect drive to Pondicherry this weekend! I will post better pictures then

Few Questions:
anachronix: Congrats man, Great choice A true driver's car. She looks AWESOME! Must be EVEN better to see it in flesh! Especially the black colour shod with those alloys takes it to another level altogether. Drive safe and have fun with her. Glad to know that you opted for a car keeping safety features as a paramount requirement.

regards
Smooth Sailing
Smooth Sailing is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd May 2009, 09:32   #13

Congrats Arun! Nice choice!

What is the OTR price of FiestaS and Linea 1.4 Emotion?
Old 23rd May 2009, 09:48   #14

Car looks hot in black! Congrats - great choice! Wishing you many happy memories in your Enzo.
Old 23rd May 2009, 09:56   #15

Congrats, get it along to one of the meets

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com