Team-BHP - My Blu-Monster- Ford Fiesta 1.6S Aquarius

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   My Blu-Monster- Ford Fiesta 1.6S Aquarius (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/69929-my-blu-monster-ford-fiesta-1-6s-aquarius-9.html)

Ford has already become affordable, its just the perception which is created by the Ikon during its initial days making rounds about Ford being expensive to maintain! :)

I myself a Ford owner from 2004 with the Ikon and then now with a Fiesta for over 8 months & 16K KMs. Money spent on maintenance, 900 Rs/- :D

Originally Posted by KSM-Vtec (Post 1725233)
No fuel cost not included dude...how is that possible...do the math yaar.

i know the running is less but not that low..chk this yogi's post below.

great to know that the maintenance cost on the fords is going down. Will make the ford affordable for non ford cust.

Chillout boss..that was only meant for humor! My assumption is you can get away with posting anything if it is punctuated with a smiley!LOL.

Not sure, but should painting etc be considered under maintenance costs? AFAIK, even across various dealerships for the same brand, tinkering/painting cost vary wildly..for my Ikon, last year, the estimate given by MPL ford was 35K and from Chennai Ford was 20K, for the same type of work.

IMO, costs for the following only should be considered as maintenance costs:
1. Cost of regular servicing including labor as per mfgr reccommended intervals
2. Cost of spare parts which are replaced frequently due to normal wear & tear

Anything apart from the above two, are more of an exception than a rule since 99.99% of users have to necessary shell out these expenses. Also, these costs should be calculated post taking into account appx 9500/- for complete 4-yr warranty coverage+Insurance coverage. (in case of Ford), which virtually brings the spare cost to Zero (am not including accidental repair costs here)

Compare that with the 1-yr AMC charges of a Split A/c costing 35K - about 3K/year and that too not all parts are covered.

@sanjay

Correctly said - nice explanation.
Also it is proved by many fiesta owners that the maintanance cost is very low now!

Originally Posted by KSM-Vtec (Post 1724798)
well that depends on how well the driver can take it.

I agree.

Originally Posted by KSM-Vtec (Post 1724798)
neways hope the ford is not giving you a tough time with the maintenance bills.

It was a free service. Zero bill. Fiesta's spare parts prices are lower than City's and Verna's. There is a comparison chart somewhere in the common Fiesta thread that was closed. Perception of high maintenance continues to haunt Ford though. Full marks to the car for having sold more than 1 lac units inspite this tag.

Originally Posted by KSM-Vtec (Post 1725019)
Wow hope all ford owners get that lucky. A friend in bombay has ended up paying abt INR 4/km. He has owned the car for the last 4 years/ 25k kms and has spent almost a lac on the maintenance.

One lac on maintenance in just 4 years/25K kms is absurdly high by any standards! Did your friend have to replace half the engine and the entire suspension?

Originally Posted by sanjayc (Post 1725530)
Also, these costs should be calculated post taking into account appx 9500/- for complete 4-yr warranty coverage+Insurance coverage. (in case of Ford), which virtually brings the spare cost to Zero (am not including accidental repair costs here)

Do you have the 4th year extended warranty? I have the 3rd year EW and I am wondering how much the 4th year would cost.

Originally Posted by Gilead
Do you have the 4th year extended warranty? I have the 3rd year EW and I am wondering how much the 4th year would cost.

Yep. If you take now, ie, while already under warranty, it should cost you appx 4.5-5K. 3rd/4th yr taken together cost me 9.3K. I was given the official EW warranty certificate during the delivery itself (some kind of website printout from Ford avlbl to dealer only)..Last week the same thing I recd from Ford directly via mail as well.

Originally Posted by Gilead
One lac on maintenance in just 4 years/25K kms is absurdly high by any standards! Did your friend have to replace half the engine and the entire suspension?

Can half an engine be replaced? Can I after 10 yrs, put half an engine each in 2 autos (Chennai-kinds) and drive fiesta autos, so to speak, via some Indian Jugaad?

Originally Posted by Gilead (Post 1725816)
I agree.

I paid for my 3rd+4th year EW + RSA today. It costed 9880 INR. Hope to get the certificate in 2 months time. Am I right?

Originally Posted by Gilead (Post 1725816)

well he hasent done anything to the engine...lol but ya he had to replace the suspension and i thing twice. The car has done a total of 45k kms. He bought it second hand.

Well thats not the point anyway, the good thing to know as we see on this and other recent threads is that the fords are becoming cheaper to maintain.

Originally Posted by sanjayc (Post 1725884)
Can half an engine be replaced? Can I after 10 yrs, put half an engine each in 2 autos (Chennai-kinds) and drive fiesta autos, so to speak, via some Indian Jugaad?

Sure. I bet an 800 cc auto would have monstrous performance :D

Originally Posted by mayukh (Post 1725903)
I paid for my 3rd+4th year EW + RSA today. It costed 9880 INR. Hope to get the certificate in 2 months time. Am I right?

It should take 4-6 weeks. I got mine in 4 weeks. I might get the 4th year EW sometime this year as well. Is there a deadline? Like 12 months from date of purchase etc.

Originally Posted by KSM-Vtec (Post 1725921)
well he hasent done anything to the engine...lol but ya he had to replace the suspension and i thing twice. The car has done a total of 45k kms. He bought it second hand.

What is the 'i thing'? :)

All cool bro me too joking:D!!!....and yet again i agree that the Fiesta is a great car to own.

Originally Posted by sanjayc (Post 1725530)
Chillout boss..that was only meant for humor! My assumption is you can get away with posting anything if it is punctuated with a smiley!LOL..

Originally Posted by mayukh (Post 1725903)

Yes, I got from Ford directly in about 45 days time. But the dealer gave me the same certificate at the time of delivery itself (I have a way with lady salespersons, you know;-}).

Suggest you put the expected receipt date for this EW certificate in some kind on reminder/calendar, otherwise generally we tend to forget about this over a period of time (it happened with my Ikon and had to rely on the a.s.s system to figure out if it is covered or not).

It should take 4-6 weeks. I got mine in 4 weeks. I might get the 4th year EW sometime this year as well. Is there a deadline? Like 12 months from date of purchase etc.
IIRC, you can purchase it till your 3rd yr EW is about to come to an end..but the pricing then will be higher. The way your ODO is stuck at the 1000's it seems, suggest go for that right away since you might be having it for years to come! Or, lend it to me next time I plan for KOL;-} Right now, except for the fear of getting scratches (which is not covered under warranty), I am driving the car with utter disdain..comfortable in the thought that no fear for the next 4 yrs. Warranty Zindabad!!

What is the 'i thing'? :)
He means "I Think" I Think;-} But changing the suspension 2 times? In 4 years? This gives me an idea of driving my SXi as an SXi for next 2 years and getting the suspension(S variety) changed under warranty post 2 yrs;-}

Originally Posted by sanjayc (Post 1725955)
Yes, I got from Ford directly in about 45 days time. But the dealer gave me the same certificate at the time of delivery itself (I have a way with lady salespersons, you know;-}).

Suggest you put the expected receipt date for this EW certificate in some kind on reminder/calendar, otherwise generally we tend to forget about this over a period of time (it happened with my Ikon and had to rely on the a.s.s system to figure out if it is covered or not).

+
The certificate given by the Dealer may not have the terms and conditions printed out on the reverse side of the certificate??. The original which comes from the Ford will have these terms & conditions printed overleaf:D

Originally Posted by nairrk (Post 1726071)
+
The certificate given by the Dealer may not have the terms and conditions printed out on the reverse side of the certificate??. The original which comes from the Ford will have these terms & conditions printed overleaf:D

Nope, it does have. Actually, for the stationery used for issuing the certificate,terms & conditions are pre-printed on the back side whereas on the front you have space where the car/cstr details are filled in.

The way it looks is that the dealer have a stock of the stationery at their end..they just need to insert the same into a printer, log into some Ford website and print the details...as simple as that. Talk of cost cutting on the courier front.

One correction..the "official certificate" which I recd some 10 days back, was actually couriered from Chennai Ford and not from Ford directly. Can u guys confirm if Ford is sending to you directly or your respective dealer. There is no Ford or Dealer stamp/sign but a line printed at the bottom like https://....

Originally Posted by sanjayc (Post 1726123)
Can u guys confirm if Ford is sending to you directly or your respective dealer. There is no Ford or Dealer stamp/sign but a line printed at the bottom like https://....

I got the EW certificate twice. First one was directly from Ford which came 4 weeks after purchase. I also got one from the dealer about 8 weeks after purchase. Both the documents are identical.

@sanjay
yes, you are correct.
No stamp or signature from FORD. But stamp and signature of the dealer is there
in the front page.