Old 21st April 2011, 15:08   #1

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker

Well, I have been wanting to write this ownership review for our Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci Titanium named ‘The shocker’ for a long time. Finally, made some time to take photographs and post this. Here goes:

Background

I am an architect by profession and moved back from London in June 2010. Ours has been a diesel household and at the time of my return the stable consisted of 3 vehicles - Skoda Octavia 1.9, Hyundai Verna 1.5 VGT and Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi.

In July we sold the Fiesta (very happy with ownership throughout) as it had done more than 1L kms and timing belt change was on the cards.

Then around Nov 2010, the Verna also started developing major issues (A/C conking out) we decided to sell it and get a small car asap. Spending 5~7k every month on maintenance did not seem right.

The Contenders

A quick look out and we considered the following:

1) Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci
2) Hyundai i20 1.4

Primarily, we have had very good experience with Hyundai and Ford servicing, hence the choices. BTW I have mentioned why I did not opt for the Swift elsewhere. Now coming to the Indicas, there are 2 vehicles in the family and they are not very female friendly vehicles. Fiat was another we did not even look at since our ownership nightmares of Fiat Uno. (I do agree most people would tell me off for putting away a whole brand because of 1 bad ownership experience. Shall discuss on another thread soon)

The Figo was available for immediate delivery. The local dealers were having stock available in most colours. i20 although a much better and larger vehicle had a waiting of 4 weeks (8 weeks for some colours). Plus there was a cost difference of 2L between the two (on road)

After a lot of debate we zeroed in on getting a White Figo Titanium with the Ebony dashboard. I managed to convince my dad and my brother that we will have a beautiful and sporty car if we chose white. They both now just smile every time they look at the car.

Delivery

Our usual dealer was Fortune Ford, as they are located very close to our house. Also previously our Escort and Fiesta were very well looked after by them. But unfortunately they did not have a White Tdci Titanium with the Ebony dash-board.

So we went with Mody Ford. The delivery process was very smooth and the dealership gets 4.5 out of 5 for ensuring a smooth delivery process.

I was offered a few freebies - I opted for the company fog lamps and USB wiring instead of seat covers and vehicle cover. Under body and Teflon coating was charged extra. I noticed that you do pay for what's known as essentials, this includes mud-flaps, full matting etc.

Usage and driving Pattern:

The only out-station trip the car has done is to Yadgirigutta (about 60 kms) (if you can call it out-station). The car has been driven only in the city. But it has a minimum of 50 kms a day to a maximum of around 150 kms per day.
Currently the car has just had its second service at 10350 kms and following are my likes and dislikes:

• No turbo lag. In city driving is very easy.
  • Everyone in the house had no issues getting used to the vehicle as we have owned a Fiesta and it drives very similar. So mom and wifey are very happy J
  • All round visibility is good.
  • Excellent HU. In terms of SQ it’s not the best but does have all the bells and whistles (USB, Aux and BT). Off late I have got used to the BT so much that I just update music on my phone (BB) and stream from it. It’s really very handy.
  • Space - boot and rear seat. One of the reasons why we did not consider the Swift. I have twins (about 2.5 yrs old) and I needed a car in which I can put both the car seats in the boot.
  • The base of the rear seats is large. Comfy for the old ladies. Although the seats are on the firm side.
  • Very good build. Although there seems to have been some cost cutting when compared to the Fiesta, the overall fit and finish is good.
  • A/C is really very efficient and chills very fast. Same as Fiesta.
  • Excellent high speed poise. Feels grounded between 100~120. Beyond that there is a strange flying feeling.
  • Coming to the 'kitna deta hai?' question. Initially it gave around 14 in town with A/C. Now after the second service this has improved 15.xx.
Dis-likes
  • Engine runs out of steam at high revs.
  • At times the brake pedal feels very wooden. Maybe one just has to get used to it.
  • Exterior noise seems to infiltrate the cabin. Maybe it’s just me. Do other owners have the same issue?
  • There is no proper cup holder in the car. The doors do take in a 1 litre bottle easily. But the cup holder under the A/C controls is just too small and simply un-useable.
  • The driver's seat height adjustment is a pseudo height adjustment. It does not move up and down, but just tilts the base of the seat.
  • No steering wheel rake adjustment is another let down. Probably will get it installed. (Any inputs on this appreciated.)
  • No dead pedal. But the foot-well is small and would have felt more cramped if this was provided.
  • Would have liked the ORVM to be a tad bit larger.
  • The rear wiper switch is a bit of a pain (Integrated into the wiper stalk). I have seen most times when the driver comes back home the rear wiper is on. I have to keep telling him to notice this and turn this off.
  • Rear power windows – sorely miss these. The kids tend to play with the manual winder and rain water tends to come in. I am still on the lookout for after market power windows that can be fitted here.
Modifications
  • Alloys -195/55R15 Yokohamas - uni-directionals on ultra-lightweight alloys. The overall tyre+wheel weight was incredibly light in comparison to the stock tyre+wheels.
  • Fog lamps - Factory fitted fogs plus I have added a pair of Hellas as my highway driving is extensive. Most would say go for 90/100watts in the headlight, but this would definitely be very dis-comforting to vehicles approaching from the opposite side. The current Hellas are placed quite low and are focused on to the road. Also I don’t believe in switching these or the factory fog lamps in city driving. It’s just not needed. In town, the headlamps on low beam are enough.
  • Horn - Stebel Nautilus installed with a switch so that the stock horn can be used in city driving.
  • De-chroming - In its stock form, the indicators located on the fender have a chrome fairing in the Titanium trim. I have replaced these with the black fairing. (Available only in Exi). These contrasts nicely with the vehicle white. Also there is a chrome fairing above the front number plate adjacent to the Ford logo. These have been blacked out too.
  • Stickers - All our cars get a standard RK on the windshield and peace sign on the Bonnet (most people do mistake this as Merc symbol) and chequered stripes on the fenders.
  • Parking Sensors - Reverse parking sensor. Not really required, but people in the house have got used to the parking sensors on other vehicles. The parking sensor system by RJ Overseas is very good and detects the smallest of obstacles.
  • Tail-lights - Most people who own a Figo will know what I am talking about here. The original tail-light comes with only 3 bulbs - 1) indicator, 2) reverse and 3) brake/parking (double filament). There are 2 slots empty in the tail-light cluster - in one slot (top) I have put a bulb for brake light and in the second one I have put a bulb that can be used as the rear fog-light. The original fog-lamp switch has a double pull mechanism. This light turns on when at the second pull. So now, whenever I have a car behind me with his high beam, I switch on the rear fog-lights, these are really bright red and quite irritating.
Pending Mods
  • Intercooler - still investigating on this.
  • Petes' box or similar to up the power.
  • K&N filters - since the stock filter is up for replacement only at 20k am going to change to K&Ns then.
  • Tints - still haven’t got around to get these done. Although I did spend loads of time in identifying which sun-film to get on various threads and have decided on make etc. I just want to get it done when I can spend time during the process and make sure it is done properly.
  • Speakers – The stock system is quite good but want to change the front speakers to components and rears to co-axials with a suitable amplifier.
  • Steering wheel rake adjustment.
Other small but significant things:
  • My sister in law bought a red Figo Tdci Titanium around the same time as me. She has not changed the wheels or rims on her vehicle. Comparing her vehicle with mine, her vehicle is definitely more comfortable and soaks up the bumps to a better extent. But, once you cross 60 kms the vehicle dynamics are completely different. Mine corners much better and the high speed poise of my vehicle is also more composed.
  • The vehicle is revving around the 2.5k mark in 5th gear when you touch 100kms. This is in my opinion is high for a diesel vehicle. Hence I feel a 6th gear would improve the mileage drastically. Also the engine makes enough noise at this speed. Ford should have considered that the average cruising speed in India would be around the 80~100 kms range on highways.
  • In our Fiesta, there was no fuel cap re-lease button. The car just needed to be un-locked and the fuel cap would open. I liked this feature very much.
  • In the Fiesta the boot lid release button on the dash would not function if the car was locked. In the Figo it doesn’t matter if the car is locked or un-locked, the boot release button still works.
Here are the pictures of the car
White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-1.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-2.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-3.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-4.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-5.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-6.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-7.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-8.jpg  

White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker-9.jpg  

laxmanrk is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 21st April 2011, 15:53   #2

re: White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker

Very detailed and passionate review. Congratulations!
S_U_N is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st April 2011, 16:05   #3

Congratulations laxman for your new Ford figo. The car looks stunning in white and those alloys too are very good looking. Nice write up and photos. Take good care of her and keep us updated regarding servicing details. Please post some pictures of interiors and engine bay. Drive Safe.
bluevolt is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st April 2011, 16:44   #4

Congrats on the car. More details on how you added the fog lamps in the rear please. Did you have to do a complete rewiring or was the wiring already there. What about the holder? Is it already there?
Old 21st April 2011, 17:14   #5

Thanks all for your wishes and compliments.

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
Congrats on the car. More details on how you added the fog lamps in the rear please. Did you have to do a complete rewiring or was the wiring already there. What about the holder? Is it already there?
Firstly, there are 2 blanks inside each tail-light cluster. You will need to buy the holders. But the same holders as the others will fit.

Then comes the wiring:

Brake-light: For the brake light, I just connected it to the existing wiring. So now there are 2 bulbs glowing in each cluster everytime I press the brake-light. (One of the original brake-light and the new one)

For the fog-lamp, 1 wire had to be drawn from the head-light/ fog-light switch. Some testing had to be done on this switch with a multi-meter.

Hope this clarifies your queries.
Old 21st April 2011, 20:39   #6

how does your mileage compare to you Fiesta mileage?

I'm asking because I can find Fiesta mileage in my driving conditions (a neighbor owns one) - this will help me estimate Figo mileage
Old 21st April 2011, 22:07   #7

First off great write up! , and a great looking car! Like the fact that you took a lot of effort to 'customize' the car as per your liking.

Originally Posted by laxmanrk View Post
  • Intercooler - still investigating on this.
  • Petes' box or similar to up the power.
This may appeal to you, esp. since Pete's for the 1.4 TDCi is very expensive. I've had my eye on this chip tuner from Pro-Bitz UK for a while now, Ford - Fiesta - Fiesta TDCi 1.4L (68 PS / 50 kW) - Pro-Bitz : Diesel Tuning Systems, with Discount code EBAY12.

A quick email to the company had confirmed that it is compatible with the 1.4 TDCi unit in the Figo.

Then comes the wiring:

Brake-light: For the brake light, I just connected it to the existing wiring. So now there are 2 bulbs glowing in each cluster everytime I press the brake-light. (One of the original brake-light and the new one)

For the fog-lamp, 1 wire had to be drawn from the head-light/ fog-light switch. Some testing had to be done on this switch with a multi-meter.

Hope this clarifies your queries.
Did you get this done at the Ford dealer, and does it keep your warranty intact? I've been told by my Ford dealer that installing a cargo lamp in the EXi by pulling a wire from the reverse lights voids my warranty. Heck they said installing alloys from 'outside' voids it too!
commodore is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st April 2011, 23:10   #8

Originally Posted by commodore View Post
First off great write up!
======
amp in the EXi by pulling a wire from the reverse lights voids my warranty. Heck they said installing alloys from 'outside' voids it too!

Hi commodore

does this tuning system effect the warranty of the engine? Also how easy is the installation and can be be reversed if needed?
Old 22nd April 2011, 10:52   #9

@ Commodore - Thanks!

To be honest, I am sure I have voided my warranty in many ways than 1. Alloy wheels, extra horn, fog lamps etc, the list will just go on.

I have a very experienced electrician (for cars), he has been working on my dad's cars since 1970s. He has done all our wiring and all the electrical installation. Always happy to pass on his details to fellow bhpians in Hyd if needed.

Thank you for the pro-bitz UK link. I have quite a few friends in the UK. Will source this at the right time. Probably after my car has crossed the 20k mark.

Another thing I got reminded, when you asked me this question about the dealership doing this work is, on another thread I read that our fellow bhpian Frank got his tyres upgraded from the stock size. Upon his visit to the dealership, the service advisor attached the OBD to the car and changed settings so that the speedo and odo will show the right readings. That's a very helpful dealership indeed. But here in Hyderabad, the dealers dont even have a clue as to which wire I can tap to get the speed reading!

@ Vina: Our Fiesta used to return an average of 15kmpl in town and at times I have achieved close to 20 kmpl on the highway. But having said that, the Figo is lighter than the Fiesta and our Fiesta did not have a tyre upgrade! So they may not be comparable in the same light.

Most ECU and chips are attached to the car using a coupler and are easily removed when needed.

I have checked with my dealer and he said Ford accepts K&N filters and will not void the warranty. Even our Fiesta had this. But chipping and ECU modifications will not be acceptable.
laxmanrk is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2011, 13:24   #10

Excellent Review. I have been planning for an extra set of fogs for quite some time now. I even enquired at a few placs in my town but they did not have any hella's in stock. Hope to get it done soon. Loved the way you put in the extra bulbs at the rear tail light. Its a good thing. The Figo looks like a 1970's car from the rear at night wit just one small red light.
Old 22nd April 2011, 13:42   #11
dot

Congratulations. Nice detailed review and some cool mods too.

At times the brake pedal feels very wooden. Maybe one just has to get used to it.
Typical Ford issue. Didnt you experience this in your Fiesta?

Rear power windows – sorely miss these.
Never understood how Ford missed this.

Horn - Stebel Nautilus installed with a switch so that the stock horn can be used in city driving.
Can you kindly give some details on the wiring. As you mentioned, it is good to know a good automobile electrician.

De-chroming - In its stock form, the indicators located on the fender have a chrome fairing in the Titanium trim. I have replaced these with the black fairing.
On the white, black fairing looks much nicer.
Old 22nd April 2011, 15:37   #12

[*]The vehicle is revving around the 2.5k mark in 5th gear when you touch 100kms. This is in my opinion is high for a diesel vehicle. Hence I feel a 6th gear would improve the mileage drastically. Also the engine makes enough noise at this speed. Ford should have considered that the average cruising speed in India would be around the 80~100 kms range on highways.
Wholeheartedly agree, even a MUV like Rhino does 90kmph@2,000revs.

One of the reasons why I am getting FE in the region of 15kmpl and I am not complaining. (Mine is a diesel & its driven spiritedly on highways).
Old 22nd April 2011, 22:22   #13

Re: White Ford Figo 1.4 Tdci - The Shocker

@ Commodore - Thanks!

Another thing I got reminded, when you asked me this question about the dealership doing this work is, on another thread I read that our fellow bhpian Frank got his tyres upgraded from the stock size. Upon his visit to the dealership, the service advisor attached the OBD to the car and changed settings so that the speedo and odo will show the right readings. That's a very helpful dealership indeed. But here in Hyderabad, the dealers dont even have a clue as to which wire I can tap to get the speed reading!

Nice to know you are from Hyderabad I'm in Hyderabad too and going to book Figo Titanium TDCI tomorrow !

quick question - between Modi and Fortune which one would you recommend?

Last edited by GTO : 30th August 2011 at 16:10. Reason: Please do NOT quote the entire post unnecessarily
Old 22nd April 2011, 23:07   #14

Congrats on your buy! She looks really stunning in white.

I opted for the company fog lamps and USB wiring instead of seat covers and vehicle cover
That's a very very wise move I must say. Many uninformed buyers miss this out and get their wiring/ electricals done outside the dealership. IMO this could prove costly if not done properly. And you can always get better quality seat covers of your brand/ choice outside the dealership for a better price.

And just a couple of points from my end:
  • Try to source a set of high security license plates. The present license plate doesn't gel well with the exterior
  • The decals on the bonnet and rear glass doesn't compliment the looks of the car. Of course personal taste and preferences prevail anyday I understand. Just a suggestion it is.

Drive Safe and Have fun!

Last edited by Warwithwheels : 22nd April 2011 at 23:10.
Old 22nd April 2011, 23:10   #15

Originally Posted by vina View Post
Hi commodore

does this tuning system effect the warranty of the engine? Also how easy is the installation and can be be reversed if needed?
Vina this voids the warranty but depending on the car is relatively easily attached or removed since it requires no cutting of cables. I read a suggestion somewhere that says simply to remove it before a service and the dealer is none the wiser.

Like laxmanrk says, for me too after 20,000 or so seems the right time to try this. Will definitely try using a chip at some stage.

@ Commodore - Thanks!

To be honest, I am sure I have voided my warranty in many ways than 1. Alloy wheels, extra horn, fog lamps etc, the list will just go on.

I have a very experienced electrician (for cars), he has been working on my dad's cars since 1970s. He has done all our wiring and all the electrical installation. Always happy to pass on his details to fellow bhpians in Hyd if needed.

Thank you for the pro-bitz UK link. I have quite a few friends in the UK. Will source this at the right time. Probably after my car has crossed the 20k mark.

@ Vina: Our Fiesta used to return an average of 15kmpl in town and at times I have achieved close to 20 kmpl on the highway. But having said that, the Figo is lighter than the Fiesta and our Fiesta did not have a tyre upgrade! So they may not be comparable in the same light.

Most ECU and chips are attached to the car using a coupler and are easily removed when needed.

I have checked with my dealer and he said Ford accepts K&N filters and will not void the warranty. Even our Fiesta had this. But chipping and ECU modifications will not be acceptable.
I kinda guessed your warranty had to be affected in some way else the dealer really likes you !

Also, please double-check with Pro-Bitz just to be safe, but i'm pretty sure it works with the 1.4 TDCi. Only need to check the connectors, if anything at all.