Old 12th May 2011, 15:06   #1
MCR

UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi

Marriages are made in heaven, but luckily celebrated on Earth.

Life starts to get so boring after you finish your studies and have a decent job. How do you make life more interesting? Simple, get married!
But is it so simple?
Where do you find the right match?
How easy is it to propose to the right match?
Will the partner agree?
Will parents agree?
I still have no answers to these questions! I am still a bachelor!
But UB is very lucky. He has found the right answers to all the questions above. He has decided to get married to N on 16.05
UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi-img_0850.jpg

We have decided to make use of this fantastic occassion for a road trip. For each one his own! LOL.
But no trip will be a success without proper planning. But finding the time in office to do trip planning, one heck of a task. We are determined to find time. The time which we spend browsing, chatting, mailing, gossiping, spreading rumours..LOL. I can go on. Now don't ask me when do I work.

BHPian hemanth.anand is a very dedicated person at work. So we decided he is going to be our trip planner. And oh boy! what a plan he has come up with, after spending 3 man days. We are starting on 14.05.2011 from Bengaluru at 5.00AM. No, we plan not to sleep on the previous night. We have a lot of preparations to do. Getting the cameras ready, packing, tanking up the cars, only Shell as hemanth.anand says!. But my car is an oil burner so I fillup at any roadside bunk.

The route we plan to take is Bangalore - Hassan - Sakaleshpur - Gundya - BC Road - Kateel - Surathkal - Udupi - Manipal. Don't ask me, why such a long route? We have appointments with Kateel Durgaparameshwari and UB in Surathkal. Oh! not to forget Udupi Shri Krishna. Its a distance of around 450 kms which we plan to cover in a time frame of 7 driving hours. Our boss is very strict, we are used to stiff targets! But we also have a passion for photography, will our cameras let us do nonstop driving? I think not. We also have a German in our ranks. VK as fondly known. We have to take care of him as well. A tough job considering the driving style and road standards in India.

The cars participating in this road trip are:
1. Abarth 1.2 aka hemanth.anand (no decent pictures after mod. Sigh.)
UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi-white.jpg

2. Punto 1.3 aka MCR
UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi-16042011021.jpg

3. Swift 1.2 aka SS (unfortunately not a BHPian and he has no photo of his car till date)
UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi-swift.jpg

Each car will have 4 participants, that is 12 members including 5 drivers.
Yes, we will not race each other but only complement each other, just as Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber. And yes we do have a few amatuer drivers but have decided to use them for navigation only, in case they donot doze off.

Thanks to Tata Photon+, this travelogue will get updated as we go along the trip plan and start capturing the moments.

UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi-untitled.jpg
Old 12th May 2011, 15:40   #2

re: UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi

Nice plan. So, this is going to be a running travelogue, as it happens. All the best.

BTW, do check this post: https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shift...ml#post1184650 (A YetiGuide® : How To Post In Proper English)
Samurai is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th May 2011, 15:41   #3

re: UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi

Oh! Glad to be part of this one. First time am I gettin a chance to go on a
long road trip with fellow colleauges.
The purpose is the wedding, but going by the way things have been planned out...the wedding seems a mere formality (@ UB No offense meant). Our blessings are still there with you.

My initial idea was to have a drag race from start to finish...but when colleagues were skepti in that case whether we'll actually "finish", I had to drop out on the idea. Sigh.

Neways, we expect to have a laid back and pleasurable journey, seeing places and clicking away to glory. Thanks to the expert photographer in Hemanth a.k.a Hermonth.

The funfilled journey will be topped up by the flamboyant Bachelors party that UB has organized for us in Manipal.
Come next day, the excitment and fun only doubles. With 3 cars and 12 fun hungry travellers on the prowl, a lot can happen.

OK, thats going too far into the future.

Regds,
Nandu

Last edited by Samurai : 12th May 2011 at 16:50. Reason: Teambhp condemns mention of alchohol in posts. Kindly read the announcements section and get familiar with the forum protocol
Old 12th May 2011, 16:31   #4

Re: UB's Marriage : A 3 day 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi

Originally Posted by MCR View Post
BHPian hemanth.anand is a very dedicated person at work. So we decided he is going to be our trip planner. And oh boy! what a plan he has come up with, after spending 3 man days.
Thankyou very much for you "COMPLIMENTS"
Luckily my boss doesn't see team-bhp. I've booked something else in my time sheet

Okay...now that we all are charged up, I have set myself reminders to charge the batteries for my camera - An activity I forget very often and later get a nice treatment from my wife.

@samurai,
Nice one there...the title of this thread will undergo a small change then.

An update to the trip plan...Its now 13 members and not 12.
A common friend of UB and me will be joining us on his Thunderbird.

By the way, One info left out by MCR..The cameras travelling with us:
Canon 1000D with 18-55
Canon 60D with 18-55
Nikon D3000 with 18-55, 18-105, 55-200 and 70-300
Olympus E620 with 14-42 and 40-150

Hope to make this a wonderful journey.
Old 12th May 2011, 16:36   #5

Re: UB's Wedding : A 3 day, 3 car trip to Manipal / Udupi

The fact that you're doing this trip with two Fiat GPs ensures that I'll be glued to this thread.

I hope that you share loads of pics with us, especially Hemanth's Fiat GP. Wish you a happy and safe journey ahead BHPians.

Pardon my ignorance, who is UB?
Old 12th May 2011, 16:42   #6

Yes, +1 to being glued to this thread!

Please give updates sooner and with lotta pics.

Happy for UB.

Ace.
(Who is UB? :P)
P.S. what's with the 1st pic? Please give some captions to all photos!
Posting from Android

Last edited by driverace : 12th May 2011 at 16:53.
Old 12th May 2011, 16:56   #7

Nice intro to a great plan.
Will be glued to this thread for live updates through the trip.
Hope you guys have lots of fun, and hope your photon works well for you to update the thread often
With the list of cameras i see travelling with you, expecting some great pics
Old 13th May 2011, 00:02   #8

Hmmm, a travelogue with mystery. Now before you get flooded with questions on who UB is, you better put in a disclaimer that you will reveal that only at the end (that is how suspense movies work, isn't it, MCR?)

Last edited by addyhemmige : 13th May 2011 at 00:06.
Old 13th May 2011, 01:52   #9

A wedding in Manipal. Interesting!

But why? Was it because UB and would be Mrs. UB studied there or is it just family reasons?

Looking forward to the rest of the story!
Old 13th May 2011, 09:42   #10

Originally Posted by figo_united View Post
hope your photon works well for you to update the thread often
We are keeping our fingers crossed. So if this thread doesn't get updated by the hour, please don't blame us

Originally Posted by addyhemmige View Post
Hmmm, a travelogue with mystery. Now before you get flooded with questions on who UB is, you better put in a disclaimer that you will reveal that only at the end (that is how suspense movies work, isn't it, MCR?)
This story would want to differ...If we put a disclaimer that UB will be revealed, you will just come and check the closing post. We would like to create suspense at every stage.

UB is an aspiring TBHPian.
He has got his TBHP id and he can login.
But for some unknown reason/bug, he is not able to post anything on the forum.
UB has requested the moderators to look into his problem and he's awaiting a solution.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
A wedding in Manipal. Interesting!

But why? Was it because UB and would be Mrs. UB studied there or is it just family reasons?

Looking forward to the rest of the story!
Bullseye.
@Milecruncher, You have guessed it right.
UB and N (would be Mrs.UB) are products of Manipal educational institutions.

Ok this is more than enough for the next level of suspense

I have charged my camera's batteries..my next reminder is for not forgetting the camera itself - you'll not believe, I had forgot my camera for my honeymoon trip.
Now, after all this suspense creation, if I repeat the same mistake, I know that my wife is not alone this time.

Preparations for the trip has started.
All the clothes have come out pressed.
VK, The German in our gang has purchased a fabindia kurta especially for the wedding.
MCR has bought a new set of bulbs for his ride, we will be replacing them soon.
My Abarth is in all readiness for her maiden voyage into the Shiradi.

19 hours to go...
Old 13th May 2011, 09:51   #11

Great planning. That excel sheet with the times noted against each of the activities was interesting. Do update the actual times as well as the milestones are achieved.

And would be following this thread for the updates as well to unravel the mystery.
Old 13th May 2011, 10:30   #12

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post

Bullseye.
@Milecruncher, You have guessed it right.
UB and N (would be Mrs.UB) are products of Manipal educational institutions.
If I guessed it right either they are products of TAPMI or MIT. Can't be KMC/WGSHA

A bit of trivia for you as well. Both me and my Mrs. are also also products of Manipal. MIT and TAPMI respectively. Don't tell me its the same combo

Old 13th May 2011, 11:15   #13

I like the first picture very much. Very creative. If you have a website, that could be the background. Super awesome!

I was in Mangalore/Udupi for our group's (facebook group of a few strangers like me and a bunch of Mangaloreans' reunion) for X-Mas last year. Drove to it in my friends Alto. the sakleshpur or something ghat section was horrible.Congratulations on the wedding! Looking forward to awesome pictures. I have actually not really seen..seen a Hindu wedding, so some pictures of the rites would be interesting to see; and of course, pictures of the rides, the roads.
I loved udupi - loved breakfast @ diana
Old 13th May 2011, 11:22   #14

Originally Posted by amitwlele View Post
Great planning. That excel sheet with the times noted against each of the activities was interesting. Do update the actual times as well as the milestones are achieved.

And would be following this thread for the updates as well to unravel the mystery.
Thanks for the appreciation for my 3 man days of work.

The addition of a thunderbird is a challenge for us to maintain these times.
I'm also keen to see how well we will be able to keep up with these time targets.

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
If I guessed it right either they are products of TAPMI or MIT. Can't be KMC/WGSHA

A bit of trivia for you as well. Both me and my Mrs. are also also products of Manipal. MIT and TAPMI respectively. Don't tell me its the same combo

Sorry, Your guess is off-target this time.
UB-N combo is a MIT-KMC combo.
Old 13th May 2011, 11:27   #15

Originally Posted by hemanth.anand View Post
UB-N combo is a MIT-KMC combo.
In our days MIT-ians were pariah in KMC. Seems a lot has changed since I passed out