Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories > Tyre & Alloy wheel Section

Old 28th October 2019, 15:50   #1

DIY accessory for preventing dog attacks

This might appear that I am becoming too paranoid but last week's attack on my i20 by dogs and subsequent ripping off the tubeless tires prompted me to think of a jugaad contraption to protect the tires. The bites are going to leave me poorer by a few thousand rupees. I shudder to think if these attacks are going to recur again. All that I could see on net are spare wheel covers but none strong enough to protect all the four tires of the car parked in basement. Thinking of having a movable iron contraption which can be pushed into all the four wheels. Something like this or is there something already available in market to protect the tires from the vicious teeth of dogs?

Name:  download.png
Views: 1823
Size:  1.8 KB
AltoLXI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2019, 19:19   #2

Re: DIY accessory for preventing dog attacks

Originally Posted by AltoLXI View Post
This might appear that I am becoming too paranoid..
Idea is good but not convenient if you take your car out often. There was a similar case in my earlier locality where a stray dog (poor guy's leg was run over by that same car) damaged the sidewall of all four tyres of a neighbour's Esteem. After this incident, my neighbour started to park the car close to a boundary wall to prevent access to one side and placed 2 large plastic storage drums on the other side next to the tyres. The shape and colour (blue) of these drums was enough to keep the dog away in that case.

If you can procure such storage drums from somewhere, do give it a try.
self_driven is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 30th October 2019, 10:55   #3

Originally Posted by self_driven View Post
Idea is good but not convenient if you take your car out often. There was a similar case in my earlier locality where a stray dog (poor guy's leg was run over by that same car) damaged the sidewall of all four tyres of a neighbour's Esteem. After this incident, my neighbour started to park the car close to a boundary wall to prevent access to one side and placed 2 large plastic storage drums on the other side next to the tyres. The shape and colour (blue) of these drums was enough to keep the dog away in that case.

If you can procure such storage drums from somewhere, do give it a try.
Thanks for the suggestion - I will try this. Probably even cutting the drums to fit the tires. As I do not take the car often, let me see ow this works out. In fact I keep my two wheelers too close to the tires (just about 4 inch gap) but the dogs have managed to enter the gap and damage the tires.
AltoLXI is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2019, 13:37   #4

I don't know how true is this but during my recent visit to Delhi's, Mayapuri area. I noted that every house had a dark liquid (Dont know what are the contents) filled bottle hanging on the main gate. Since I didn't think of it seriously (till now) I casually asked its purpose & the person told me that this kept the dogs away.

May be the Delhi BHPians can shed some light.

Rgds-Sonu
Old 30th October 2019, 13:41   #5

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
I don't know how true is this but during my recent visit to Delhi's, Mayapuri area. I noted that every house had a dark liquid (Dont know what are the contents) filled bottle hanging on the main gate. Since I didn't think of it seriously (till now) I casually asked its purpose & the person told me that this kept the dogs away.

May be the Delhi BHPians can shed some light.

Rgds-Sonu
Its known as black phenyl. It act as a form of antiseptic floor cleaner. The strong scent keeps mosquitoes and animals away as they have strong sensation of smell. I wouldn't recommend washing your car with a floor cleaner at all costs.
momsonlydriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2019, 14:49   #6

Originally Posted by momsonlydriver View Post
Its known as black phenyl. It act as a form of antiseptic floor cleaner. The strong scent keeps mosquitoes and animals away as they have strong sensation of smell. I wouldn't recommend washing your car with a floor cleaner at all costs.
Mystery Solved. :-)
I think spraying some on tyres using COLIN type spray bottle, should not do any harm & may assist in even keeping the dogs away.

Rgds-Sonu
Old 30th October 2019, 15:04   #7

Forgive me for asking this. Can't you not complain about the rabid dog to the authorities and simply make them catch it instead of making elaborate contraptions?. The dog catchers are frequent sight at my locality.
srini1785 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th October 2019, 15:30   #8

Originally Posted by srini1785 View Post
Forgive me for asking this. Can't you not complain about the rabid dog to the authorities and simply make them catch it instead of making elaborate contraptions?. The dog catchers are frequent sight at my locality.
Trust me. Authorities do nothing. They themselves have no proper place to house the dogs. Dogs are vaccinated at best and then brought back or are left off in another area and they return too (personal experience).

Dogs have chewed away the bumpers, mud flaps and all four tyres of our 3rd Gen Honda City VTEC (belongs to my grandpa). We can only watch helplessly as there are people who feed the same dogs but aren't ready to give us a concrete solution to the problem nor allow the authorities (anyways useless).

Some tips:

- Coloured bottles work most of the times. Blue or orange coloured fluorescent bottles around the perimeter of your car will do the job

- If you want extra protection for the tyres, place an obstacle very close to them as suggested. We place a tree branch (on top of the cover)on the car to prevent dogs from climbing on it

- Final resort if none of this works is to get a dog repeller. I could only find a single one on Amazon and you will have to step out in the night and use it

DIY accessory for preventing dog attacks-screenshot_20191030152632.png

The first two solutions should sort it out though.
Old 30th October 2019, 15:53   #9

Originally Posted by ariesonu View Post
Mystery Solved. :-)
I think spraying some on tyres using COLIN type spray bottle, should not do any harm & may assist in even keeping the dogs away.

Rgds-Sonu
I have read at multiple places that COLIN isn't very good for rubber - so would ask you to check and proceed with COLIN.

While I think the drum solution is a really good one, I remember reading an article around why do dogs attack cars/bike (seems quite common in BLR by the way). One of the reasons quoted was that it's also to do with sense of dominance between the male dogs. If another dog from another area had pee'ed on your tyres the dog finds its breach of its dominance due to presence of pheromones in the urine; if he is very aggressive he might end up damaging your tyres. May be simple cleaning of wheels regularly with water wheel protector sprays (to mask remaining smell). I think you may want to try this out and anyways clean and shiny wheel won't hurt either.
Rahul_ is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 31st October 2019, 11:11   #10

Please do also go through my thread on rat-proof fencing (Rat-proof Fencing as a solution for the rodent menace?). Loads of out-of-the-box solutions were discussed. Never know what you might pick up from there!
GTO is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st October 2019, 13:03   #11

Luckily these solutions have worked for me-
1) A cat used to poop near my car. A solution I found online worked for me - Coffee powder mixed in water, just spray it around the area. Another was lime. It works for dogs too.

As others have mentioned, the "smell" has to be tackled.

2) I use a desi thick car cover also, since I don't use the car often. It has been torn, and I have patched it. but the instances of tearing have reduced.

3) Throw half a glass of water on the dog. (Dogs might sit in a pool of water for hours but don't like water being thrown on them). This only needs to be done twice. . Was easy for me, since my car is parked right outside my house, so easily accessible.

Last edited by sinhead : 31st October 2019 at 13:05.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com