Team-BHP > Vintage Cars & Classics in India

Old 30th January 2010, 00:19   #31

Dear Harit & Gogi ,

Firstly Gogi Bhai thanks for the welcome !!! I have been here on the forum since your Lonavla drive and it was nice to put a face to V-16 "Sardar in the Orange T-Shirt- ever famous, distinguished Gogi" .

Perak is my younger brother and the source of all my knowledge in restoration practices , but I must apologise for his intemperate outburst about money not being received !!! Mr. Tariq Ibrahim and others on the organising commttee had personally offered the largesse , but as I saw it - for us the - high - of driving 7 vintage vehicles from, Kanpur to Lucknow was reward / compensation enough . And more important - the courteousness of the organisers in as much as their offer of the recompensation is equal to money being actually given. as we in Lucknow would put it -
" Kanpur ki khushgawar fiza aur wahan kay logon ki mehmaan-nawazi aur nafaasat hi hamara ikraam hai " .

Oel has another Hillman convertible which is a first owner car .

& wish

Tirwa would get the Sedanca going to add to the Rolls inventory.

I will start a thread to post photographs of the Ford Pick Up.

Cars under restoration :

Mercedes W111 - Awaits painting
Plymouth PE - Awaits painting
Wolseley 14/60 - Bodywork in progress
Buick Park Avenue - Awaits painting
Ford A Pick Up - Awaits upholstry work

Chauhan
Old 30th January 2010, 00:44   #32

Vintageman.

Do post some pics of your Jag's interiors, engine and trunk. Does it still have that fitted toolkit in the boot lid?
Old 30th January 2010, 08:10   #33

Sorry friends, I was uninitiated, till Vintageman's revelations.
Old 30th January 2010, 12:50   #34

Gogiji and others,

There is one more Ford Pickup, in Amrawati (Maharashtra). Had seen her along with other vintage and classic cars a couple of years back.
Old 30th January 2010, 14:30   #35

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
Dear Harit & Gogi ,

Perak is my younger brother and the source of all my knowledge in restoration practices , but I must apologise for his intemperate outburst about money not being received !!! Mr. Tariq Ibrahim and others on the organising commttee had personally offered the largesse , but as I saw it - for us the - high - of driving 7 vintage vehicles from, Kanpur to Lucknow was reward / compensation enough . And more important - the courteousness of the organisers in as much as their offer of the recompensation is equal to money being actually given. as we in Lucknow would put it -
" Kanpur ki khushgawar fiza aur wahan kay logon ki mehmaan-nawazi aur nafaasat hi hamara ikraam hai " .

Oel has another Hillman convertible which is a first owner car .

& wish

Tirwa would get the Sedanca going to add to the Rolls inventory.

Cars under restoration :

Chauhan
About the petrol money, I was trying to show how good a host the Kanpur people were. And it seems that you were hosted well.
Can you try to put up a picture of the other Hillman convertible?
Tirwa Rolls will soon be junk, as it is it is partially dismantled. Family troubles often spill over to the cars.
Which Park Avenue do you have?

Cheers harit
Old 30th January 2010, 22:49   #36

The Studebaker car used by Nathuram Godse to drive down to Delhi for committing the crime in January 1948 (killing Mahatma Gandhi) was a regular in Lucknow Rallies.
Did it reappear in 2010 or has been relocated elsewhere?
Old 30th January 2010, 23:13   #37

Originally Posted by anjan_c2007 View Post
The Studebaker car used by Nathuram Godse to drive down to Delhi for committing the crime in January 1948 (killing Mahatma Gandhi) was a regular in Lucknow Rallies.
Did it reappear in 2010 or has been relocated elsewhere?
If we are referring to the same Stude, the car is in Delhi and owned by Mr.Parvez Siddique. This particular Stude called as the killer car ( by the present owner) has participated in a number of HMCI events.

S.B.Jatti
Old 31st January 2010, 19:56   #38

Originally Posted by S.B.Jatti View Post
If we are referring to the same Stude, the car is in Delhi and owned by Mr.Parvez Siddique. This particular Stude called as the killer car ( by the present owner) has participated in a number of HMCI events.
S.B.Jatti
Thanks for the update S.B.Jatti - the car has a lot of history attached to it.Its back to the metro where the crime was committed.
Old 2nd February 2010, 10:02   #39

Originally Posted by harit View Post
About the petrol money, I was trying to show how good a host the Kanpur people were. And it seems that you were hosted well.
Can you try to put up a picture of the other Hillman convertible?
Tirwa Rolls will soon be junk, as it is it is partially dismantled. Family troubles often spill over to the cars.
Which Park Avenue do you have?

Cheers harit
1978 Electra Park Avenue 350 ci V8

Kanpur Vintage Rally 2010-03sep07091cz6.jpg

Kanpur Vintage Rally 2010-dsc03518so6.jpg
Old 10th February 2010, 16:34   #40

Originally Posted by vintageman View Post
Dear Harit & Gogi ,

Cars under restoration :

Chauhan
Is this your pick-up? These are old pictures, and maybe the number will help to identify.

Cheers harit
Kanpur Vintage Rally 2010-op-ford-pick-up.jpg  

Old 11th February 2010, 10:18   #41

No Harit, this is not our pickup. This one is Lucknow registered while ours is UPF. The gondola top is similar to the Kanpur Pickup(Post#20), but I think the Kanpur Pickup would have a local no. since its with the first owners.
Can't say about the present whereabouts of this one.
BTW, Vintageman is out of circulation for 15 days.

Perak
Old 12th February 2010, 16:33   #42

I've been told a distant relative of mine is a collector/restorer in Allahabad. Found these newspaper clippings in my archives today. Vintageman and Perak, by any chance do they look familair?

Kanpur Vintage Rally 2010-allahbad.jpg
Old 25th February 2010, 12:37   #43

Originally Posted by Perak View Post
2nd round of 2010 Kanpur Rally pictures

Have a pleasant viewing
Perak
PLEASE DON,T PUR THE PLYCARD/ BANNER OVER THE GRILL AND SPOIL
THE PLEASURE OF WATCHING THE CAR. PLEASE TAKE CARE IN NEXT
RALLY.

B.ANAND
NAGPUR
v.richards@rediffmail.com

Last edited by Technocrat : 25th February 2010 at 16:18. Reason: Please avoid quoting an entire long post, also avoid typing with Caps ON, Thanks