Team-BHP > What Car?

Old 26th August 2020, 03:31   #61

Re: Retirement Car for my Dad!

Basically you need - Reliability, safety, petrol (10k kms/year), back seat comfort, AT (bonus). At 15 lacs.

I would suggest for an SUV due to ease of ingress/ egress. Hector seems to be the best fit. Comfortable back seats, ample space, softer suspension, panoramic sunroof (increasing airiness and thus a feel good factor) - all these add up for a good back seat experience.
Seltos/Creta are also good but suspension is a bit firm, which is not a good thing if one has to be chauffeured around.

I would say sell the Ciaz due to safety reasons, although it's a good back seat car. I personally would not feel comfortable in a Ciaz on Mumbai Pune e-way due to its tiny build.

As GTO sir said, do it in style, since, Retirement gift toh banta hai .

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 11th September 2020 at 22:26. Reason: Hectar > Hector, chauffered > chauffeured. Please proof read your posts before submitting. Thanks!
Mynameis is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th September 2020, 22:10   #62

Pretty much down to three cars now- Sonnet, City & Nexon. Though any of the Hatchbacks may stage a comeback.

Nexon - the most value for money; City- the dream car; Sonnet - I liked it on paper at least as per the review today.
1.2TSI7DSG is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th September 2020, 23:22   #63

Originally Posted by 1.2TSI7DSG View Post
Nexon - the most value for money; City- the dream car; Sonnet - I liked it on paper at least as per the review today.
The City and Ciaz are leagues ahead in terms of comfort and space compared to the most brilliantly packaged sub 4m SUV. You just can't compensate for the ~0.5m of length. My father wouldn't buy a Nexon/Brezza after he sat in the Ciaz & City. We finally bought the Ciaz AT home considering our usage was mostly in the city (pun intended)

Retirement is his personal milestone as he's worked hard his entire life. I'd stick to the Honda City.
landcruiser123 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 11th September 2020, 23:43   #64

Originally Posted by landcruiser123 View Post

Retirement is his personal milestone as he's worked hard his entire life. I'd stick to the Honda City.
Personally gunning for it. But he is an avid Tata fan - had Indica/Manza and has a belief that Nexon will be better in terms of comfort.

Haven't done test drives yet though driven the Nexon for quite some time. I hated the slow amt - that bugger of a car simply doesn't move (as compared to my gt tsi).

Hence on paper have narrowed it down. Lets see where the actuals take us
Old 14th September 2020, 18:34   #65

I’m in the same boat or city ��. Can’t seem to convince my Dad to get any other car other than the Honda City as his retirement car because of the sheer rear space comfort it provides. We have owned a 1st Gen Honda City and currently own a 3rd Gen Honda city which he wants to exchange for the 5th Gen one, despite me trying to push him towards the New Creta.
Old 17th October 2020, 21:38   #66

If you are open with the option of a pre used car, then I would suggest you to consider a 2014/15 Toyota Innova. There are some great top variant examples available in the used car market with fairly low mileage. You cannot go wrong with the bullet proof reliability and fairly low service cost of Toyota. It is indeed a very comfortable car. I am saying this after experiencing the same. Considering the condition of the roads in our country, it will better to go with a car which has good ground clearance. Since you mentioned that your father is tall and aged, the high stance of an Innova will allow him to enter and exit the car with ease. If possible look for a 7-seater variant. If you are getting an 8-seater variant then you can convert it into 7-seater for just Rs. 6,000 from pre-used seat dealers.

Hope you like and consider my suggestion.

Last edited by Aditya : 18th October 2020 at 04:17. Reason: Typos, spacing, punctuation
Neelanjan is offline   Received Infraction
Old 20th October 2020, 13:50   #67

My dad is 60+, retired and lives in Udupi, about 450kms from Bangalore. He currently drives my 2014 Fiesta 1.5 TDCi and is very happy with the car and Ford A.S.S.

There is no reason whatsoever that we'd part with our beloved Fiesta which has been serving us flawlessly but then, the 7 year itch makes its presence from time to time. May be it is forward thinking but I like to evaluate the possible successors. The future replacement will solely be driven by dad who prefers MT over any sort of AT/CVT/DSG. He's a skilled driver who enjoys driving but way below average when it comes to understanding the electronic wizardry and gizmos that the modern car today comes with.

I believe in buying only the top variant as it most definitely will come with the maximum safety options and a few important "must have" features (along with a lot of useless ones as well). Although I'm fairly knowledgeable about the Indian automotive scene, it has been hard for me to come up with a suitable option that will be simple enough for my dad to live with. Case in point, the Seltos, Creta, Hector are cars that are heavily loaded with electronic gizmos and will most definitely be an overkill for my father.
Give me a Seltos GTX+ or a Creta SX(O) minus the infotainment screens inside and my dad will be a happy puppy!

I have a soft spot for the Jeep Compass and feel that the Sport Plus variant (yes, it is not Limited Plus but willing to make an exception only for the Jeep) will be good for my dad.

Long story short, the car should be within INR 10-20lac, preferably the top variant, MT, fairly decent driving dynamics (nothing can match the Fiesta now), should serve for another 7-8 years and most importantly - should be easy to live with inside. Your suggestions are welcome.

Last edited by Porschefire : 20th October 2020 at 13:59.
Old 20th October 2020, 14:09   #68

Originally Posted by Porschefire View Post

Long story short, the car should be within INR 10-20lac, preferably the top variant, MT, fairly decent driving dynamics (nothing can match the Fiesta now), should serve for another 7-8 years and most importantly - should be easy to live with inside. Your suggestions are welcome.
Have you considered the Nexon? It trumps all others in the safety department. I have not driven the fiesta so can't comment on comparing it, but it (Nexon) is far better than the Hector or any comparable SUVs. Seltos is good but I don't trust Hyundai, especially with the way they handled the braking issue (silencing critics, giving nonsense suggestions to brake differently to non-aware customers etc). Also, they messed up my Xcent and I now rely on outside service folks - something which your parents might not want to spend their time on. Get a car with 5 year warranty at least, and 5 star safety rating.
Cessna182 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2020, 16:09   #69

If your father enjoys driving as much as you say he does, are you sure he would like to have a mini SUV? Because whichever way you look at it, they will never drive as well as a sedan let alone one like the Fiesta. Check out the Tiago JTP if it is available as I feel that is the best value for money car out in the market currently. If not then the Verna does drive MUCH better than you might think owing to its Elantra underpinnings from 2017 onwards still nothing to write home about; it's more of a stability and ride quality improvement however the 1.6 diesel in the Verna is the best of diesel motors. Overall I'd say stick with the Fiesta if it is serving you well.

Last edited by IshaanIan : 20th October 2020 at 16:13.
IshaanIan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2020, 18:38   #70

My dad is 60+, retired and lives in Udupi, about 450kms from Bangalore. He currently drives my 2014 Fiesta 1.5 TDCi and is very happy with the car and Ford A.S.S.
Difficult to meet the Ford level of handling in case he enjoys driving. Roads near Udupi can get really bumpy due to rainy season, so wondering if you are interested in another sedan or a higher GC vehicle like Seltos/Creta.

Also interesting combination of safety without gizmos. I can only think of Toyota Yaris which comes with 7 airbags even in base variant.
rajshenoy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th October 2020, 19:03   #71

My dad is 60+, retired and lives in Udupi, about 450kms from Bangalore.
Let him TD the Nexon XMA S, it has minimal gizmos.

1. Steering mounted controls.
2. Basic HU lovely sound.
3. Sunroof.
4. Choice of 1.2 P or 1.5D.
Auto this auto that, preety loaded.

I'm 60 driving a Nexon XMA since more than 2 years, and loving it.

Let him TD and decide.

All the best.

Vinod_nair is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th August 2022, 13:44   #72

Originally Posted by amit_2025 View Post
Given the requirements and the fact that the car would be chauffeur driven you should seriously consider the XL6.
Actually I am also planning a car for my mom and she was very happy with XL6 and not so happy with Honda City as its rear seats are low so old age people have to put some effort in order to get up from low level seats.
I don't like XL6 much BUT AT THE END OF DAY ITS HER CHOICE.
My mother is 5 feet in height and she has to climb up little bit.

But she seemed to be ok about it. I am little worried what is as she age and finds it little difficult.

Maybe if you have some experience around it you may help.

Last edited by aah78 : 10th August 2022 at 18:09. Reason: Quote trimmed.
Old 10th August 2022, 01:24   #73

Originally Posted by AnujKapur View Post
Actually I am also planning a car for my mom and she was very happy with XL6 and not so happy with Honda City as its rear seats are low so old age people have to put some effort in order to get up from low level seats.
It would be much more comfortable than a Honda City given that it's placed just at the right height, neither too high nor too low

If she would be chauffer driven, I'd say pick up the XL6 over the City anyday for her use

You would be amazed at the practicality on offer in the car

I wasn't particularly fond of the XL6 initially too but it's about choosing what vehicle best serves the purpose you are purchasing it for. In our case, it ticked most if not all boxes of the use case
amit_2025 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th August 2022, 17:31   #74

Originally Posted by amit_2025 View Post
It would be much more comfortable than a Honda City given that it's placed just at the right height, neither too high nor too low.
Thanks Amit.
I have booked Grand Vitara and will be comparing XL6 and Grand Vitara both side by side once its test drive vehicle is available.

If GV is not good in terms of boot space or seat comfort then I will be going for XL6.

I have another question for you. Can we install side step in XL6?

Last edited by aah78 : 10th August 2022 at 18:10. Reason: Quote trimmed. Typos fixed. Please proof-read before posting.
AnujKapur is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th August 2022, 00:45   #75

Originally Posted by AnujKapur View Post
Thanks Amit.
I have booked Grand Vitara and will be comparing XL6 and Grand Vitara both side by side once its test drive vehicle is available.

If GV is not good in terms of boot space or seat comfort then I will be going for XL6.

I have another question for you. Can we install side step in XL6?
We haven't installed a side step on the XL6 but I have seen a few examples where people have

Also, not sure if you have come across D-Bhpian Shashi's thread on the XL6 yet, sharing it below

It's the most definitive thread on the XL6 available and you will also come across specific sections of his Mother's experience in the Car on Short and Long Journeys alike

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-...mt-review.html
amit_2025 is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com