News

1 lakh km completed in just 21 months with my Alcazar: 7 pros & 4 Cons

I look at it as a feature-loaded Creta with extra boot space and 2 jump seats.

BHPian sids1811 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

And so it completes the figure in 21 months, overall it took less time than our Creta all thanks to the excellent Road Network getting built in UP and it is the de facto choice for any trip and place within 500 km.

Pros:

1. Loaded to the bits. Pity the top end does not come in Auto so missed out on 2 or 3 features but still, the vehicle is loaded with stuff to make you feel satisfied.
  2. Excellent NVH properties for a Diesel, Roll down the window and then you realize how good the car is insulated from outside noise.
  3. Excellent mile cruncher, 500 km with just a small stop is a breeze and is not tiring. The car can go all day long at 90 - 100, that being the maximum speed the whole family generally drives at.
  4. Superb mileage. We have averaged 19+ km/l with the figure going up to 21+ sometimes. None of the tank fills are without a highway run so can't comment on city mileage. (more than 80% of fuel ups have been from the same IOCL pump)
  5. Decent Handling, for the extra space it offers, it still does not feel like a boat and rides well for its size. Special mention to the turning radius, it is surprisingly good for its size
  6. Physical controls. I have a liking towards old-school physical buttons and Alcazar has the right blend of touch and physical which makes it possible to keep your eyes on the road as compared to full touch where sometimes you invariably lose attention. The Knurled volume knob is better in finish than a lot of cars priced double than this.
  7. Auto hold parking brake, never realized how useful such a small feature can be once you start using it.

Cons:

1. Headlights: Not at all suited for a vehicle of this class and size. The throw and intensity is not good and leaves a lot to be desired.
  2. Tyres: The original set from Apollo did not last 20k km even, on Bridgestone since then but the 18" large size is too pricey on the pocket
  3. Middle bench comfort: Hyundai has reduced the seat pitch to accommodate 3rd row and this is quite noticeable in the long runs when there is space between the back of your knee and the seat.
  4. No extended warranty beyond 3 years for high-usage people like us. At the present rate, I expect to cross 1.6 to 1.7 lacs km in 3 years. Hyundai does not offer a warranty beyond 1.5 lacs which is a bummer. Not exactly sure how this is going to fare after that and with so many electronics on board, every paid stuff will be expensive.

Short take: For an odd 2 million, it is a near-perfect, loaded, no-nonsense car if you look at it as Creta + some extra features + extra boot space / 2 jump seats for short runs. It still manages to bring a smile on an open good stretch of road, add some rain falling on the sunroof, and good music on the radio and you are nearing Nirvana

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Seat belts save lives