News

9 years & 62,000 km in a Ford Fiesta Classic 1.6

In the showroom, we just checked out the Fiesta Classic, the variants, prices and even without a second thought or a test drive, we went ahead and booked the car.

BHPian arun1100 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

2012 Ford Fiesta Classic

The Ford Fiesta was first launched in India in 2005. After a successful run in the Indian market, the new Global Fiesta was launched in 2011. Ford India then launched the previous-gen Fiesta as Fiesta Classic. The Fiesta Classic was marginally successful in the Indian car market. The production of the Fiesta Classic was stopped in September 2015.

Powered by Naturally Aspirated 1600cc 101PS Petrol engine with Hydraulic power steering for the sheer driving pleasure!

This thread is about the long term ownership experience of our Ford Fiesta Classic CLXI.

Ford Fiesta Classic - Buying Experience!

Back in 2012, my dad and me were looking forward to buy a sedan for our family outings. We owned a Maruti Alto and a Maruti 800 at home for our daily use. Being a classic FIAT owner, the FIAT Linea was a top contender for the next car at home. Along with this, the other options considered were the Ford Fiesta Classic and Nissan Sunny. Since we were keen on purchasing a decently powerful petrol car, Linea's 1.4 seemed under powered and T-Jet was out of budget. On test driving the Nissan Sunny, the car drive quality seemed very ordinary. Since dad's official car was a Fiesta Diesel, he was keen on the Fiesta, but the petrol. The new Global Fiesta was launched by then, but again, like the T-Jet, it was out of our budget of 8 lacs. The right Ford sedan that would fit in our budget was the Ford Fiesta Classic CLXI Petrol, which is the mid variant.

My parents, nieces and me went to the dealer - Metro Ford, close to our home in Bangalore. Considering the positive reviews I had read about the Fiesta petrol in BHPian vnabhi's Fiesta ownership thread and also in the steering feel and feedback thread, I was confident that the Fiesta would be the right buy. Also, my dad's official car was the Fiesta diesel, hence we were quite familiar with the Ford Fiesta. In the showroom, we just checked out the Fiesta Classic, the variants, prices and even without a second thought or a test drive, we went ahead and booked the car.

The variant we decided upon was the mid variant CLXI. This variant is without the Airbags and ABS, although I now wish we had bought the top end SXI for safety reasons. The Ford came home a week after the booking and payment was done. Regarding the color, in 2012, there were many Fiesta Cabs on the road in white and silver color and hence we decided to go for a different lighter shade. Since I like sober colors, the shade namely - Chill metallic was finalized which is kind off like light pista green. Freebies we got were fog lamps, small hub caps which used to come on the base variant of Figo and set of mats.

Family members checking out the Classic at the showroom.

The on-road price in Bangalore was 7.71 lakhs as seen in the price list below.

Some brochures we got in the showroom.

Here's a brochure of the Autocar Ford Fiesta Cross Country Drive. For viewing pleasure!

Here are the first set of pics I clicked when we got the car home.

The Fiesta joined our garage which included 1991 Premier Padmini, 1990 Premier Padmini, 2003 Maruti 800 and 2006 Maruti Alto.

Continue reading the ownership experience and arun1100's thoughts on his Fiesta Classic 1.6. Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Redlining the Indian Automotive Scene