News

Comparison: CB500X, 390 Adventure, V-Strom 650 & Versys 650

The Honda seems to be the most versatile of them all. But when it comes to the running & maintenance costs, the KTM 390 Adventure would be the clear winner.

BHPian iamahunter recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

After riding the CB500X, I recently got a chance to ride the 390 ADV and V-Strom, thanks to fellow bhpians (Kailash and Mohan). And today we had a good long test ride of the Versys 650.

So, how do the 4 bikes compare?

Simply put - CB500X seems to be the most versatile of them all. It's smooth compared to the KTM, light compared to the Versys and V-Strom.

Power

Compared to both the 650s, the CB is very low on power. Initially, I felt that it was enough but it was my first time riding a 500cc bike. Today after having ridden both the 650s I am sure that one would definitely feel the need for more power than what's there on the CB. Especially on the highways, you will surely feel it. The highway speeds that the 650s can cruise on would be a bit of a stretch for the CB.

CB is very much comparable to the KTM in terms of power, but the way they deliver the power is very different. KTM is kind of immediate, while the CB has a liner curve, and the KTM being very much lighter, feels much more eager to go.

Refinement

In terms of refinement, I personally feel that the V-Strom is the most refined, followed by CB and then the Versys. KTM's single unit refinement is unmatched by the twins here.

Build

The CB and V-Strom are on par with the build quality. Both feel very well built and would last for a lifetime. Versys comes next and the KTM is just ok comparatively.

Road Presence

So here the KTM lacks behind as it's smaller, sounds the same as the other siblings and the color scheme is also the same. CB comes next, it has a good road presence as best described. Next is the V-Strom, it's actually very similar to the Versys. Then the Versys which seems to have the most road presence given the sheer size and the bright green that's on sale currently.

Ride Quality and Handling

Here the CB shines for me, as the soft suspension handles the bumps rather well and the ride is very smooth. At the same time, the soft suspension might not be very corner friendly, but it’s a tourer and cornering need not be its forte. Versys and V-Strom both manage the bad roads similarly, and they are not as plush as the CB but aren't bad either. You can stand and ride on all three motorcycles, which makes the ride quite easy. The KTM being light, is very nimble and agile, however, I did not really have the chance to take it through bad roads and cannot judge it based on the smooth tarmac ride that I had.

Highway manners are good on all three motorcycles. However, given the weight, I feel that the V-Strom and Versys would be in a better position to hold their ground in case of strong crosswinds.

I felt that the V-Strom is very well balanced, with all the weight at the bottom, this bike is easy to turn into corners. Next comes the CB and then the top-heavy Versys. The Versys is by no means a bad handling machine, however here we are talking in terms of very minor differences.

Running and Maintenance Costs

Here it feels that the KTM would be the winner hands down. So, we can keep it aside and concentrate on the others for comparison purposes.
The CB being a Honda would definitely be cheap to maintain as the spares are less expensive and Honda bikes usually do throw up expected bills. Apart from the basic change of oils and filter, I don’t think the Honda will give any hiccup ever.

The V-Strom would be up next, as discussed with Mohan who owns a V-Strom, the maintenance is not very expensive. The service is once a year and it’s not too expensive compared to the Kawasaki.

The Versys, I believe, would be the most expensive amongst the 4 to maintain. As informed by the Sales Exec, the bike needs service every 6k kms or 6 months. With each service billing up to 8000 Rs. So a minimum of 16-18 k per year would be required, and apart from that, the spares are the most expensive amongst our selected bikes.

CB being the least powerful would be the one to return a better fuel economy compared to both the 650s.

Features

The 390 has the most features here. V-Strom comes in next with switchable TC and tubeless spokes, and then the Versys and CB are almost on par with no such advanced features. (The 2022 Versys would probably change it with the LED lights and TFT).

Verdict

Here I shall put the price against the factors mentioned above.

The 390 is the most budget-friendly bike which has the capacity and features. However, the refinement levels and build quality are a turn off (for me at least). Again, you only get so much for your money, at 3.9L on-road (Mumbai), the bike seems to be totally worth it.

Honda demands 8.5L on-road for the CB, God knows what were they thinking. The bike simply is a jack of all trades and master of none. Whatever you want this bike for, it can do it but it will always make you feel that a little more would have been much better.

At 8.8L on-road for the Versys 650, this seems to be the bike that hits the nail. However, the weight and top-heavy feel can be an issue, especially with all the luggage one carries for touring. This feeling can be pronounced for shorter riders and worse when a short rider is trying to control the Versys with luggage in the traffic. Additionally, the spares and service costs of the Versys are the highest compared to others in the category.

V-Strom comes in at 11.10L on-road. The only V-twin bike in this category giving out the smoothest ride no matter what RPM you're at. The service costs are less expensive compared to the Kawasaki in the gang, but the initial cost difference of almost 2.3L can easily make up for it. Add a couple of lacs to the V-Strom, and you will find yourself in the Tiger 800GT territory.

So as of now, from the perspective of someone who intends to do comfortable long-distance touring, no offroad, the Versys seems to be the best bet.

Note: These were all my personal opinions, your opinions might vary.

Here's what BHPian neil.jericho had to say about the matter:

Excellent post, iamahunter, it isn't often that we get to hear from someone who has ridden all 4 motorcycles and can give a fair comparison of them.

Here's what BHPian Naztone had to say about the matter:

Dude, your comparo would put a lot of automobile journos to shame. Very succinct and focused.

While I have only ridden the V650 among these bikes (since I own 1), I agree with your points with respect to her.

Will be useful for others looking for a bike in this range.

Here's what BHPian mh09ad5578 had to say about the matter:

I am in the market for a mid variant ADV too, I loved the 390 ADV but it will be out of place in my riding group who ride the GSs. CB500X is priced out of the park for what it offers, the top-heavy Versys with the unexciting engine is a letdown, the V-Strom was perfect then Suzuki went and messed it up by pricing it where it is now. Now I am looking out for two options a pre worshipped V-Strom if I can find it at 6-7 lakhs or go for the new Tiger 660 if Triumph doesn't do a Honda and prices it less than 10 lakhs on road.

What I fear for the Tiger 660 is a new bike, untested for flaws, have no idea about spare cost or availability but loved the kit on offer and the luggage options too. V-Strom is bulletproof tech and has low maintenance costs. Awaiting eagerly.

Great analysis mate, couldn't agree with you more on it.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars