News

Need a scooter for daily commutes: Any good alternative to the Activa?

I recommend looking into the Suzuki Burgman Street 125 for its comfort. If budget allows, the Yamaha Aerox 155.

BHPian kaak009 recently shared this with other enthusiasts.

Hi esteemed members,

I recently completed my MBA and post that I was placed in a software company in south Chennai. It's been 3 months and I have been travelling to and fro from the office using Rapido and occasionally Ola. With the ever-demanding unfair prices by autos over and above the price quoted on aggregators' applications, I have finally made up my mind to bite the bullet and buy a scooter.

I am not a newbie, have been driving for 6 years and riding for around 10 years in my hometown Delhi. Now after settling down in my current role in the company I feel now is the right time to get myself a commuter machine.

I am more inclined towards the Honda Active 125 Disc and Alloy variant. Is there anything else I should look at? Mind you I am a large guy and my previous ride was also a 2015 Honda Activa 125 its sheer reliability is taking me back to the Honda showroom. Any additional opinions are valued.

Also, I am legit a newbie in buying and this is gonna be my first big-ticket purchase. Kindly please guide me on how to negotiate, and what components should I put through eye on with respect to on-road and other price components. And where can I save a cent or two?

All in all, I am looking for guidance, and I will be grateful to hear your thoughts and learn. Thanks all and happy motoring!

Here's what BHPian raptor_diwan had to say on the matter:

First of all, congratulations on your career and the decision to purchase a scooter!

Since you have a preference for the Honda Activa 125, you're already on the right track. Speaking of reliability, you can confidently opt for the Activa 125; it's known for its dependability. Additionally, considering your stature, I recommend looking into the Suzuki Burgman Street 125 for its comfort. If budget allows, the Yamaha Aerox 155 is worth considering as well. It offers sufficient power for your weekend-long rides.

Have you also considered exploring motorcycles? A Bullet would be a fantastic choice.

Here's what BHPian ani_meher had to say on the matter:

You haven't specified how 'large' you are. If you are above average, then Burgman 125 is the biggest 125cc scooter. Activa 125 too is a good choice, especially the newly launched H smart version with keyless entry looks good. It is both smaller than Burgman. I have the latest Burgman 125 e20 version and feel that the Activa 125 is smoother and more advanced in features. But the size advantage of Burgman is undeniable.

Here's what BHPian Boringrider had to say on the matter:

Riding a Honda Aviator for the last 8 years, I can confirm that Honda knows how to make scooters. Still don't get bored of riding it, it's the best for zipping around and making your way in tight traffic smoothly. Maintenance and reliability is top notch - take care of the basics and you'll never have to worry about anything ever again.

Being a larger guy myself at 6'3, I had no choice in maxi scooters even though I wanted them when I was buying but today there are at least 2 alternates I would suggest you take a casual test ride at least as they might change your opinions.

Suzuki Burgman - I have ridden this extensively as one of my close friends bought it on my suggestion and is extremely happy with it, despite being sceptical of its dimensions. It's mostly plastic anyway and weight is on par with normal scooters so no big deal. Performance is surprisingly good, it refined engine for city usage and can hold decent highway speeds too for long-ish rides. Wouldn't recommend touring on scooters though. We're not there yet. The only downside is puny tires do not inspire much confidence, but that can be an acceptable compromise if purely used mainly for city and comfort-oriented usage. Those headlamps are brilliant as well.

Aprilia SXR 125/160 - Haven't ridden it yet but I get tempted to check it out. I don't want to because I'm afraid a new upgrade itch will begin when the Aviator is running just fine. Visually, it looked smaller to me in person than in photos however has high high-performing engine, although on the pricier side. Also, reviews keep mentioning that the ride is hard. However, since it has a 125cc option as well, you can consider that too depending on your budget.

Coming to your original pick, the Activa 125 is an excellent pick, no doubt and I won't discourage you from buying it however I would like you to form your opinions after sampling these two as well.

Here's what BHPian shancz had to say on the matter:

Size is something you'll have to check for each specific scooter and so is the ride comfort.

Some points are:

• Honda Activa 125: You know better
  • Suzuki Access/Burgman/Avenis: better performance and acceleration, probably better headlights
  • TVS Jupiter 125: largest storage and adjustable rear suspension
  • TVS NTorq: excellent performance, stiffer/sportier suspension, check for comfort
  • Yamaha Aerox: excellent performance, stiff rear, check for comfort

If into EVs do check out the Ather and iQube.

Check out BHPian comments for more insights and information.

Love Cars Live Cars