Old 27th February 2008, 14:02   #1

I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24

Hello All !

I just got a Hyundai - I10 [Magna] for my wife.
I need to install a system in the car.
Budget is about 100 K.
I only want front components & subs.

Basically 1 HU + 1 set of components + 1 or 2 subs.

Can some 'senior' members suggest & guide - please.

What to buy ?
Where to buy from ?
Where to Install ?
Who will 'tweek' & 'set' the levels & x-overs ?

Help shall be appreciated.

Old 27th February 2008, 15:08   #2

hey man ,
welcome to team -bhp. First and foremost you have mentioned your budget as 100 k . I presume u meant 10000 . Well as far as the choice of equipment goes :

HU pioneer 4050 /5050 approx. 5500 - 6500
front components : illusion 6.1 EL approx 6500
sub : jbl 12 " approx 3500-4000
amp 4ch kenwood : 5300
blau : 6300
jbl 75.4 ( if available) : 8000
u will need amps if u plan to add subs.
wiring will be aditional 2500-3000 .
Old 27th February 2008, 15:10   #3

Hi Bhagwan please check the following sticky

Basic ICE
Old 27th February 2008, 15:31   #4

Originally Posted by gandolf_thewise View Post
hey man ,
welcome to team -bhp. First and foremost you have mentioned your budget as 100 k . I presume u meant 10000 . Well as far as the choice of equipment goes :
Respected Sir,

100 K = Rs. 1,00,000/- [Rupees 1 lac only].

I could extend that a bit, if I get something 'special' & 'audiophilic' !!!
Performance & result is what I care about.

Kindly suggest.

Awaiting reply.
Old 27th February 2008, 15:40   #5

Did you check out the thread I mentioned.

Please mention you listening preference like what kind of music you listen to as this will allow people to suggest a particular brand of speakers.
Old 27th February 2008, 15:55   #6

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
Respected Sir,

100 K = Rs. 1,00,000/- [Rupees 1 lac only].

I could extend that a bit, if I get something 'special' & 'audiophilic' !!!
Performance & result is what I care about.

Kindly suggest.

Awaiting reply.
1 lakh budget for the ICE??? And you could extend that??? ICE gurus.. it's party time
Old 27th February 2008, 15:56   #7

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Please mention you listening preference like what kind of music you listen to as this will allow people to suggest a particular brand of speakers.
Sir,
My preferrances are Classical & Light Female vocal Jazz & Soft Rock.

I like to listen to Symphonic pieces [classical] - Mahler - Ressurrection [Sym # 02] + Bethoven # 9 etc.
Alan Parsons Project + Yello + Pink Floyd + Dire Straits etc.
Mary Black + Amanda McBroom + Rebecca Pidgeon + Kari Bremnes etc.

Basically, this has to be an out & out SQ install. No hiphop / No trance / No house etc.
Old 27th February 2008, 15:59   #8

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN
Budget is about 100 K.

I assume you mean "1 HU + 1 set of comps + 1 or 2 amps + 1 or 2 subs". Subs wont run off the head unit.

What to buy ?
At your budget, the options are wide open.

Where to buy from ?
Depends on your question above, i.e. What to buy?

Where to Install ?
Where do you usually install?

Who will 'tweek' & 'set' the levels & x-overs ?
Umm, the guy installing it should know how to do that.
Old 27th February 2008, 16:06   #9

30 K is not going to hack it for me !!! Need better SQ...........

Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Did you check out the thread I mentioned.

If you are considering spending more than 30K on your system you need to do more research that just reading this "ready reckoner". When I get the time I will re-open this thread and address these systems as well.

Sir,

I read that post;
However, it stops @ Rs. 30/- K
I guess my HU will cost that much. I was looking for a Alpine HU.
I believe that the 9887 is good ? Alternate Suggestions ?

Alpine Electronics of America, Inc. - CDA-9887

Thank you all; I shall appreciate the help & suggestions.

Respectfully,

BHAGWAN
Old 27th February 2008, 16:34   #10

Yes I agree I was under impression that your budget is 10k.

We have couple of people having 100K plus install. Since the budget & preferences are clear, people would be able to suggest you as per your requirements.
Old 27th February 2008, 16:40   #11

Well am not a 'senior' here. But it's always nice to think about how to spend money .

You might need to breakup the total budget roughly into component wise costs and then look for products in that price range.

Say, something like
HU - 20K
2/3 way front compos - 15K
Amp for front compos - 15K
12"/15" sub - 20K
Mono Amp for sub - 20K
Wiring/Install/Damping - 10-15K

Then again if you go for one 4ch/5ch Amp, the mono budget can be spread out to the other items.

Edit: Those figures are rough numbers.

Last edited by shuvc : 27th February 2008 at 16:44.
Old 27th February 2008, 16:50   #12

I was looking for a Alpine HU.
I believe that the 9887 is good ? Alternate Suggestions ?
9887 is a good HU.

A possible break-up would be:

1. HU - 16-17k
2. Front comps - 25-30k
3. Sub - 12-15k (I dont think you'll need 2 subs based on your musical tastes, and since you have a small car)
4. Amp - 4 channel - Rs. 45-50k
5. Cabling/ Enclosure/ Installation/ Damping - 15-20k

Roughly about 125-135k total.
Old 27th February 2008, 17:00   #13

Budget is about 100 K.
Can some 'senior' members suggest & guide - please.
1. Please listen to a few systems.
2. Make a list of your priorities. With the budget you've got you need not make too many compromises.
3. Keep in mind that the i10 has it's limiations - it is a small car, with a small engine and thin body panels. Adding 30 kg of weight in damping, amplifiers, speakers and the associated electrical load will be felt (if slightly).

HU: 9887 or any that has TA and SQ: 20K
Components: Illusion/Infinity/Hertz: 12K
Coax in rear doors: same as above 6K
Dual 10" subs: IDQ: 16K
Amps: 1 5/6 ch amp or a monoblock and a 4ch. amp. 30K
Damping: 8K
Wires and Install: 8K
I am not sure that the prices above are accurate (infact I am sure they are not) but it will give you an idea.
Old 27th February 2008, 17:07   #14

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
9887 is a good HU.

A possible break-up would be:

1. HU - 16-17k
2. Front comps - 25-30k
3. Sub - 12-15k (I dont think you'll need 2 subs based on your musical tastes, and since you have a small car)
4. Amp - 4 channel - Rs. 45-50k
5. Cabling/ Enclosure/ Installation/ Damping - 15-20k

Roughly about 125-135k total.

Team-BHP effect --- Extending even the 100K budget...

Anyways my suggestion would be :

Head unit : 25-30K

Alpine 9887 / Clarion head units

Front Components : 15-20K

1. Hertz High Energy Comps / 3 Way comps ( if they can be accommodated in I10 doors)

2. Illusion Audio carbon series ( Not sure of the price .. I guess its 30 K )

3. Morel Components

Rear Speakers : 6-10 K

1. Hertz HSk / GZ speakers / Illusion :

Amplifier : 40-50K

Steg / Audision / Genesis : 4 channel
Class D monoblock for driving sub

Sub : 15-18K

Image Dynamics 12"

Wiring + Damping + Install :

arnd 10-15K
Old 27th February 2008, 19:27   #15

Hey prabhu, your profile lists a Swift and a Skoda RS too. What kind of ICE do you have in those cars?

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com