Old 5th March 2008, 22:36   #91

I will start on the Bass Enclosure tom !!!!

Well, since no member from this forum is offering an ICEed car for demo - in Mumbai - I will start the installation from the 6th onwards.

I have called my carpenters, will start with the bass enclosure. This is for the Illusion Lucent IM 12's - Old from the Zen - removed & recycled.
I need to put 2 subs in one enclosure - issobarik - clampshell - opposite polarity. The net volume has to be about 2250 cubic inches or 1.3 cft.

I guess, I will stick to the following components [tentative] :-
Optima - Yellow Top - Battery [most important component of the install]
Alpine - 9887 - HU [need to source this]
Dynaudio - System 240 MK II [Esotec Tweeter]
Illusion Audio - Luccent - IM 12 - subs [details explained above]
Steg - 2.02 - Power Amps. 2 of them. 1 for the Dynes & 1 for the Illusion
Sound Dampners - 100 sq. ft. for 1st phase - front doors & boot
RCA Cables - GamuT Interconnect Cable - Custom Terminated
Amplifier Wireing Kit - Ground Zero - 2 guage - Fuse et all included.
Speaker Wire - Illusion Audio - 3 sets -

I will try and photo the progress.
I hope I can post the pictures here ????
The 4 main things to do will be :-
Sub Enclosure - Construction
Door Damping - 3 layers - appropriate application
Tweeter Mounting - The most difficult part [Position & Phase]
Sub Woofer Alignment - Through the HU - Alpine 9877

I shall break a coconut in the day on the 6th and get going. Hope things go through smoothly.

cheers:
Old 5th March 2008, 23:08   #92

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
I have called my carpenters, will start with the bass enclosure. This is for the Illusion Lucent IM 12's - Old from the Zen - removed & recycled.
I need to put 2 subs in one enclosure - issobarik - clampshell - opposite polarity. The net volume has to be about 2250 cubic inches or 1.3 cft.

Door Damping - 3 layers - appropriate application
Sub Woofer Alignment - Through the HU - Alpine 9877
we encourage photo essays. Gunbir is prolific in these. Ajay has posted a few too. The section is called Show off and Sound off.

1. when you damp the doors be sure to damp the inner door as well.
2. also i hope you have allowed for the driver volume in calculating your sub box
3. tweeter mounting is usually done by trial and error so having double sided tape around helps.

to make the subs boxes lighter and stiffer why not use FRP over wood.
Old 5th March 2008, 23:11   #93

we encourage photo essays. Gunbir is prolific in these. Ajay has posted a few too. The section is called Show off and Sound off.
So should I start a new thread there ? In Sound Off & Show Off ?

1. when you damp the doors be sure to damp the inner door as well.
I will put 3 layers on each door & the 'a' & 'b' pillars too.

2. also i hope you have allowed for the driver volume in calculating your sub box
Yes, I have, besides my sub enclosure is to be a 'box in a box' design.
Basically no parrellell sides, inside enclosure & outside enclosure are seperated by RCC - Filling. Cement Concrete i.e.
The Inside box is linned with ceramic tiles - 1" X 1" & then clad with Butamine Sheet & loosely filled with recron + glass woll & horse hair.
Only 1 woofer will be inside the box, the other will be inverted on the outside. The front baffle will be 2.5" thick.
Cosmetics & Asthetics I shall decide on at a later stage. May keep it simple - black carpet wrap - not to attract any attention.

3. tweeter mounting is usually done by trial and error so having double sided tape around helps.
Now this is the tricky part;
Not only do you have to play with the position, but the polarity as well.

Image Width & Image Dept will always cancel each other out.
Hence, I need to get a position, where not only do the 'tweeters disappear' [this is very very important] but also keep the tone intact & stage wide & deep and integrate with the mid-bass driver as well.
This is 1 hell of a 'task' !!

Have been doing it for so long, yet can never get it 'perfect' need to take some 'tutions' from Jacob !!!

Pray it goes off well;
But this is the last part of the install, so I can spend time on it.

Last edited by Technocrat : 6th March 2008 at 13:41. Reason: Plese use Edit
Old 5th March 2008, 23:42   #94

I shall break a coconut in the day on the 6th and get going.
Arey, why you wanna break my head. :-)

May keep it simple - black carpet wrap - not to attract any attention.
Matt Duco?

Image Width & Image Dept will always cancel each other out.

Have been doing it for so long, yet can never get it 'perfect' need to take some 'tutions' from Jacob !!!
Why not go fully active and use electronics to TA the tweeter? It might be simpler and lord knows you have enough amplifiers around.
Old 6th March 2008, 00:05   #95

Nice one Sir.........

Ha HA Aah Ahahaah !!!
I would be obliged. So when are you coming to delhi side.

Hmm could not agree with you more. I have seen lots of high end installs with simple wiring as the polarity marked by the manufacture. There is no sound stage no imaging it was like singer is sitting out side the car or the lap

Chalo anyways will wait for your comments on the same.

Last edited by Technocrat : 6th March 2008 at 13:43. Reason: Please use Edit Post
Old 6th March 2008, 08:56   #96

Yes, I have, besides my sub enclosure is to be a 'box in a box' design.
Basically no parrellell sides, inside enclosure & outside enclosure are seperated by RCC - Filling. Cement Concrete i.e.
The Inside box is linned with ceramic tiles - 1" X 1" & then clad with Butamine Sheet & loosely filled with recron + glass woll & horse hair.
I can imagine the i10 doing a wheele with so much weight at the back

Only 1 woofer will be inside the box, the other will be inverted on the outside. The front baffle will be 2.5" thick.
Cosmetics & Asthetics I shall decide on at a later stage. May keep it simple - black carpet wrap - not to attract any attention.
Seriously man.. this is the first time I am reading abbout such a setup... and cant help dreaming how great it will sound
Old 6th March 2008, 10:44   #97

Can you please elaborate ??

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Hmm could not agree with you more. I have seen lots of high end installs with simple wiring as the polarity marked by the manufacture. There is no sound stage no imaging it was like singer is sitting out side the car or the lap

Chalo anyways will wait for your comments on the same.
Respected Sir,

I am a bit confused;
Can you please elaborate a bit....

My intent is to make the singer sir out side my wind screen - on top of my bonet & the piano playing from my right side front window to the centre of my wind screen. The drum kit should play also from behind the wind screen - above the bonet etc etc...
Old 6th March 2008, 11:31   #98

Respected Sir,

I am a bit confused;
Can you please elaborate a bit....

My intent is to make the singer sir out side my wind screen - on top of my bonet & the piano playing from my right side front window to the centre of my wind screen. The drum kit should play also from behind the wind screen - above the bonet etc etc...
Hmm that will be a very difficult task for me to do. I think the gurus here can be of help as they are experts in phase, TA, Acoustics.

I rely on the hit and trial method. And I keep the setup which is best suited to my listing tastes. But I keep changing the placment of the drivers very often. Here is the list of equipment I am using in my car.

Total SQL setup with STEG, DLS, GROUND ZERO - Faridabad, IN

Last edited by low_bass_makker : 6th March 2008 at 11:35.
Old 6th March 2008, 11:44   #99

How about the trumpet? Shouldn't that be coming out from behind you?

Thanks for the most enjoyable thread I've read in a while.
Old 6th March 2008, 12:06   #100

How about the trumpet? Shouldn't that be coming out from behind you?
Nice one;

Actually, in any of my cars, I like to hear nothing from behind.

Everything must play from the front.
Even though the subs may be at the back, the bass is always coming from the front.
You may 'feel' the 'thump' in your seat & you 'hair' [on your head] may feel the pressure, but the drum kit is playing outside my wind screen for sure. This is imperative.

If I listen to Hayden's Trumpet Concerto with orchestra - in my car - I am not able to manage the stage 'seperation' as I would have liked.
Yes, players do sit on top of one another & I do not like that. I need to meet Mr. Asrani / Jacob for 'help' on this front. I need to get that issue sorted.

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
I rely on the hit and trial method. And I keep the setup which is best suited to my listing tastes.

But I keep changing the placment of the drivers very often. Here is the list of equipment I am using in my car.

Total SQL setup with STEG, DLS, GROUND ZERO - Faridabad, IN
Saw the set up;
Nice indeed. Rather well executed.
I should try and take some snaps of my Swift & post.
It is a much much simpler set up.
Actually nothing except for the MB Quart - Q Line's X-Overs are visible. Looks very understated.
I would like to share the listening experiance with you. Hope it happens some day.
It does not play 'loud' [it is a out & out SQ set up] but I could live with it.

The only wat to get the tweeter position correct is 'hit & miss' there is no formula for its placement. We have to play around with it. That is all.

Last edited by Technocrat : 6th March 2008 at 13:45. Reason: Please use Edit Post
Old 6th March 2008, 12:14   #101

Bhagwan

You might wanna cosndier a more powerful alternator as well.

To keep you battery alive.
Old 6th March 2008, 12:16   #102

I liked your snaps;

We use the same size alloys - OZ - Grand Tourismo GT - 17" is what I have with Dunlop SP Sport 205/45/17 [I think]. Nice Tyres.

My Battery is Optima - Yellow
Front Comps are MB Quart - Q-Line
Rear Comps are Illusion Audio - Carbon
Subs are Illusion Audio - 12" Carbon [2 of them in 2 enclosures]
3 Amplifiers - Steg [I forget the model number - B & T knows that better than me]
Recaro - Custom - Italian - Napa Leather seats - Gay Green !!! ha aaha aha

Originally Posted by nripin View Post
You might wanna cosndier a more powerful alternator as well.

To keep you battery alive.
Sir, I would love to;
What can I buy ?
Where can I buy from ?
Who will install ?
Details please....

Last edited by Technocrat : 9th June 2008 at 14:24.
Old 6th March 2008, 12:23   #103

Hmm that is some nice setup you have got there. I would be waiting for the pics of the same.

Sir, I would love to;
What can I buy ?
Where can I buy from ?
Who will install ?
Details please....
Same here, I would also love to add the same. But same questions which GOD ji is asking.

Last edited by Technocrat : 6th March 2008 at 13:46. Reason: Please use Edit Post
Old 6th March 2008, 12:30   #104

GOD ji
Nice Translation !!! I like it..........
Keep it going..
Old 6th March 2008, 12:31   #105

I need to meet Mr. Asrani / Jacob for 'help' on this front. .
Deepak Asrani is in Bangy. I dont know if Jacob Khosy is active and if so to what degree. Sam might. Sam once told m has moved from Bandra to Santa Cruz.

In either case you seem to know what you want and the requisite experience. Speaker placement is trial and error anyways (unless you have Bose's budget) so why do you need anhyone else?

The only wat to get the tweeter position correct is 'hit & miss' there is no formula for its placement. We have to play around with it. That is all.
Hire a live band and a small truck.
install band on truck facing towards you.
enjoy.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com