Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 16th May 2011, 20:50   #1

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova

Hi Everyone!

I've proceeded further to retrofit my Innova with Bi-xenon projector HIDs!

I purchased the Raylux kit from Autofusion. The kit had the bi-xenon lamps, two ballasts, projectors, sealants and even gloves to use during the installation!

The installation was done by heating the existing lamp unit till the sealant melts. The transparent part is then removed exposing the reflector. The projectors are fitted by screwing on to the lamp unit.

This unit also had angel eyes. The lamps are 4300K. I particularly asked for this lamp as the light would be yellowish hence comfortable for the eyes. The reflectors were left unpainted as they would also aid the projectors.

The whole process took about four hours.

I would post the photos afterwards.

The angel eyes are simply impressive! The bi-xenons are also brilliant.

The only part I'm not happy is the poor alignment. I did visit autofusion afterwards to get this corrected, unfortunately they dont seem to have the expertise. Thouqueer was also not around to correct this.

Let me wait for a couple of more days to see what may be done.

regards,

Nitin

I would post some pics in the mean time.
nitinbose is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th May 2011, 08:16   #2

Re: Bi-Xenon Projectors for my Innova

Hi Everyone,

Here are the pics. As you can see, there seems to be no difference between the low and high beams!

Could anyone be knowing a professional place where they align projector headlamps?

regards,

Nitin
PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-img00015201105170748.jpg  

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-img00016201105170748.jpg  

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-img00017201105170749.jpg  

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-img00018201105170749.jpg  

Old 17th May 2011, 08:45   #3

Nice install there nitin. As you had mentioned, you need to align the lamps. The focus isnt adjusted well. There are few places in Bangalore where they do alignment of projector headlights. Kindly visit the Auto lighting thread for details. I remember seeing the details of the place where they do these in Blore.
Old 17th May 2011, 09:55   #4

hi nitin,

nice setup, can you post more details on the cost and pics of the Bi-xenon projector HIDs.
Also the pic when lights are off. and if possible back of the headlight how it is placed.
how this was achieved.
Old 17th May 2011, 17:19   #5

Originally Posted by Mr.Bangalore View Post
hi nitin,

nice setup, can you post more details on the cost and pics of the Bi-xenon projector HIDs.
Also the pic when lights are off. and if possible back of the headlight how it is placed.
how this was achieved.

This was a retrofit. The existing headlamp unit was removed, heated till the front cover came off. The projectors were screwed to the reflector. The front headlamp cover was then sealed and fitted back. The lamps were added from the back side. Each unit had its own relay unit.

The price is about 18K.

regards,

Nitin
Old 31st May 2011, 22:13   #6

Re: PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova

Hi Everyone,

Can someone please tell me where I can get these projector HIDs aligned correctly, in Bangalore?
I have checked around but nobody knows.

Its quite difficult for me to drive at night with the HIDs in the current manner.

please help.

regards,

Nitin
Old 6th June 2011, 17:11   #7

Hi Everyone,

Thouqeer (Autofusion) was out of station, hence could not assist me. He gave me a call once he was back and took my vehicle to a computerized headlamp alignment center, near lalbagh.

The projectors are now perfectly aligned. I'm getting a good beam and visibility with both low and high beams!

This is what I call service!

In the meanwhile, I did take the car to Nandi Toyota - not only that they could not help me, they ended up crashing my vehicle (damaging the bumper left corner) in the process. Luckily for me, they repaired it free of cost.
Phew!

regards,

Nitin
Old 6th June 2011, 17:29   #8

Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post

This unit also had angel eyes. The lamps are 4300K. I particularly asked for this lamp as the light would be yellowish hence comfortable for the eyes. The reflectors were left unpainted as they would also aid the projectors.
Did you mean more white by any chance. Because at 4300K it is more whitish than yellow. Stock light is at around 3000K, and as it goes higher begins to get white.

@Edit: In response to Vikram_ds response below

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-colortemp.jpg

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-hid_poster.jpg

PICS : Installed Bi-Xenon Projectors on my Innova-light_chart2.jpg

Last edited by thedreamcatcher : 6th June 2011 at 17:50.
Old 6th June 2011, 17:35   #9

Stock yellow is 3500k and not 3000k. 3000k is almost a greenish yellow. I had 3000k bulbs on my swift. Never liked the colour at all. Finally went to 4200k.

Originally Posted by thedreamcatcher View Post
Did you mean more white by any chance. Because at 4300K it is more whitish than yellow. Stock light is at around 3000K, and as it goes higher begins to get white.
Old 6th June 2011, 19:24   #10

Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Stock yellow is 3500k and not 3000k. 3000k is almost a greenish yellow. I had 3000k bulbs on my swift. Never liked the colour at all. Finally went to 4200k.

I chose 4300K because that seems to be the lowest color temperature available and closest to stock headlamps. These HIDs are initially white when switched ON, but turns slightly yellow after warming up. The common ones are 6K, 8K but these are white and anything above these are bluish. These would be uncomfortable for long drives.

Our eyes are 'tuned' for sunlight and the closest HID to sunlight would be 4300K, hence opted it.

regards,

Nitin

Last edited by nitinbose : 6th June 2011 at 19:26.
Old 6th June 2011, 20:03   #11

Please share the details of where you got the projectors aligned.Also how much does it cost to get the alignment done? What is the procedure,any idea?
Old 6th June 2011, 20:09   #12

Originally Posted by nitinbose View Post
I chose 4300K because that seems to be the lowest color temperature available and closest to stock headlamps. These HIDs are initially white when switched ON, but turns slightly yellow after warming up. The common ones are 6K, 8K but these are white and anything above these are bluish. These would be uncomfortable for long drives.

Our eyes are 'tuned' for sunlight and the closest HID to sunlight would be 4300K, hence opted it.

regards,

Nitin
True. Here's a video of my Projectors with 4300k HID's. They turn out to be white at first then after warming up they are close to the natural daylight color.

Old 7th June 2011, 09:40   #13

Originally Posted by sagarpadaki View Post
Please share the details of where you got the projectors aligned.Also how much does it cost to get the alignment done? What is the procedure,any idea?

I'm not really sure of the shops name, but if you take the road from dairy circle towards Nimhans hospital, pass Brand Factory, you'd reach a traffic light intersection. Make a left and proceed straight for about 500m max., and you'd see a shop on the left hand side with lots of tyres. That is the place.

Hope this helps.

regards,

Nitin.
Old 7th June 2011, 10:49   #14

Hey Nitin just a quick check, are the prices fixed or they vary? for the entire set i mean.

I know the brightness and light would be better than the halogens, how is the spread, were you able to try these out lets say on Nice road at night at around 90-100kph speeds?

Sorry lots of questions because even I am contemplating the projectors for my zen
Old 7th June 2011, 11:06   #15

nitin,good stuff man.
Impressive.
been ooking at doing something similar for a long time, but with that cost, i get close to keeping money aside, and end up getting something else!!

Just one bit of info: did these lamps have signs denoting left and right?
even without focussing, it seems to me that its a LHD unit.
or maybe i am just blowing smoke.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com