Old 20th April 2008, 18:11   #256

Its rear disc thats circled. Then the hose and also if you carefully observe the brake cylinder assembly hidden behind the foot peg.

Water cooled likely, look closely and you can see the thick black coolant tube beneath the tank through the cowl.

Well i for one is too tempted to pick one up, for the bruised ego from R1
Old 28th April 2008, 18:09   #257

Any news, speculation on the R1-5? May is not far off. Are we expecting the R1-5 seeing the light of the day soon?
Old 28th April 2008, 19:52   #258
A.R

I spoke to the dealer folks on CMH road (B'lore) & they said the lauch will be around June 15th. But one of the guys also said they are waiting for an official memo from Yamaha India.
Old 29th April 2008, 02:11   #259

Shamelessly hijacking the information I found in xBhp.com, posted by Praful.
Check out more close-up pics of R15 here. As per his discussion with Yamee people, the TD's are available from June 14th.
Old 29th April 2008, 02:41   #260

@ tomrider
Huh?
Nothing seems to be hijacked.
If it were posted by someone else on some other forum, how come it is YOUR FIND?
If you are mentioning about the date of the TDs, 14th is the day. knowing about it today or even a month ago wont help ya get a TD on 13th

Last edited by gendarmee : 29th April 2008 at 02:43.
Old 29th April 2008, 09:54   #261

Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
@ tomrider
Huh?
Nothing seems to be hijacked.
If it were posted by someone else on some other forum, how come it is YOUR FIND?
If you are mentioning about the date of the TDs, 14th is the day. knowing about it today or even a month ago wont help ya get a TD on 13th
I think Tom said that he is hijacking info from xphp and not someone has hijacked from there.

The bike looks good indeed.
Old 29th April 2008, 10:36   #262

Yes, the bike looks very good except for the puny rear tires (Ofcourse a lot of thought must have gone into deciding the tire specs, but still they do not suit the overall feel of the bike). A lot of people would go for aftermarket wider tires after the purchase.
Any idea about Yam dealers in Pune? I may want to look at one when its out in the showrooms.
Old 29th April 2008, 17:49   #263

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
I think Tom said that he is hijacking info from xphp and not someone has hijacked from there.

The bike looks good indeed.
O yeah, makes sense

I saw it at the expo in Jan, after gazing at bloody brand new looking RD350, been waiting to see it on the road ever since.
Old 29th April 2008, 22:11   #264

Looks good,indeed. Seems like the bike has a comfortable riding position too.
Old 29th April 2008, 23:40   #265

The pics are awesome. Its going to be the best looking 150cc bike to hit the market.

It sounds pretty ... humm not able to get a politically correct expression for it.

The R1 has a freken saree gaurd. Hahahahahaaha
Old 2nd May 2008, 02:08   #266

One more post from xbhp by anirudhrulz! Found it informative. Hence posting it.

we had a one hour on/off conversation with the owner of the Yamaha lifestyle showroom....
i am posting a few questions and answers provided by him.....

1. Launch date?
A. June 15th for the first batch with a new batch every subsequent week..

2. Any waiting period?
A. Except for the first batch in June people would not have to wait as it is not a "LIMITED PRODUCTION" Bike
(said with a smile meaning we are not bajaj).

3. Is there a dyno we can test the Bike on?
A. Yamaha doesnt believe in dyno's.... we believe in customer's having the real experience on road.
whats the point sitting bolted to one place and seeing some figures on the screen when u cant get the feel of what the Bike is...
we want the customer to experience the road feel of the bike.

4. What are the specs?
A. We are not revealing that until the launch date but it is 18 to 20 bhp.

5. What is the frame made of?
A. Its a delta box frame made of press fitted steel not aluminum like on the R1.

6. What is the top speed of the bike?
A. Till now we havent got the top speed of the Bike as it has only been tested on track.
Cruising speed is around 135 to 137...top should be 10 to 15 kmph more.

7.INDIAN MENTALITY: MILEAGE KYA HAI BOSS?
A. He promptly asks what is the Bike bought for....i say ripping of corz.....immediate answer 30 to 35...
for the first time in my life i was hearing a company guy speak out the truth...
when i went to buy my 220 Bajaj guys told me with full ripping 45 and with slow riding 55

8. What are the colors??
A. Only black and blue black

9.Is this only for the first lot? Are they planning new colors?
A. Nope Yamaha has no plans for other colors at least for 2008

10. Another Indian question: Any freebies?
A. We don't believe in freebies..nothing comes free in this world with a big smile.

11. When can we test it out?
A. I will call u as soon as the test Bike arrives.

12. Golden question: IS the ECU re programmable?
A. Yes. U will be able to remap the ECU to ur requirements
(me and praful looked at each other with the thought..lets throw our 220 and get the r15).

13. Whatz the on road price?
A. Not finalized though it is 80+.... bet 80 to 85 i suppose.

14. What other things can we expect from Yamaha? any performance kits?
A. OFcorz. Once the Bike is launched our life style showroom will have a few performance parts that people can buy.

15. How abt the service?
A. we have trained technicians working on the r1.. they will be servicing the r15's too....

16. Is the booking closed?
A. Like i said its not a limited production bike.
We have completed bookings for June and opened bookings for July so u can book the Bike to get it delivered in July.

I must say he was the most polite and enthusiastic showroom guy i have ever met.
I Remember those idiots at PBK smiling only when they saw bling...
the rest of the time they wud answer questions as if they are doing u a favour.
At the end of it all he even asked us to drop in again and also ask all our friends to come and see the bike...

Last edited by TomRider : 2nd May 2008 at 02:13.
Old 2nd May 2008, 02:17   #267

Good one,Tomrider! Very informative,and that takes care of a ton of questions fellow BHPians had.
Old 2nd May 2008, 10:39   #268

6. What is the top speed of the bike?
A. Till now we havent got the top speed of the Bike as it has only been tested on track.
Cruising speed is around 135 to 137...top should be 10 to 15 kmph more.
Cruising speed is 135!!! Man, thats something. A top whack of 150 kph is awesome! For a single cylinder, 18 to 20 BHP, would that mean translating into a rpm of 11000 and above, isnt it? Seriously high-revving engine!
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:39   #269

Originally Posted by wanderlustindia View Post
Cruising speed is 135!!! Man, thats something. A top whack of 150 kph is awesome! For a single cylinder, 18 to 20 BHP, would that mean translating into a rpm of 11000 and above, isnt it? Seriously high-revving engine!
I doubt the cuising speed part but even if the crusing speed is 120 and top speed is 135, its good enough for me.
Old 2nd May 2008, 15:43   #270

Originally Posted by Proxima View Post
I doubt the cuising speed part but even if the crusing speed is 120 and top speed is 135, its good enough for me.
Certainly. I say even 100 is a fantastic cruising speed on Indian highways. Does not strain the engine at 100-110 and eager to go faster when revved. Awesome! Waiting for June 15th launch date.

Any idea about Yam dealerships in Pune, anybody? There was one near Wakdewaki next to City Motors (Hero Honda dealership), but thats closed now, me thinks.