Old 2nd September 2009, 14:35   #1

In a budget of 10-15 Lacs which NEW SUV?

As all of my posts i want performance as top priority, but this car being for my dad needs to have goodies.
I had thought of the safari 3.0 but to my utter surprise its not for sale now(new).
Second hand are not in for consideration as dad wont agree to if.
His requirements are :-
Strong looks
Desiel
Confort for even sleeping.
I have gone out of touch with SUVs but would prefer no scorpios but im open to options.
Old 2nd September 2009, 14:40   #2

Originally Posted by abhayshanu View Post
As all of my posts i want performance as top priority, but this car being for my dad needs to have goodies.
I had thought of the safari 3.0 but to my utter surprise its not for sale now(new).
Second hand are not in for consideration as dad wont agree to if.
His requirements are :-
Strong looks
Desiel
Confort for even sleeping.
I have gone out of touch with SUVs but would prefer no scorpios but im open to options.
That is because the New 2.2 is out.
Actually been out for a very long time now.
Old 2nd September 2009, 14:47   #3

I recommend Innova for that budget. Very few can match their overall experience.
Old 2nd September 2009, 15:27   #4

My dad's first priority is the innova due to the toyota badge, but i personly dont like the looks, its not 'manly' enough for me. I would prefer a car like the safari, endevour, scorpio, some thing like a jeep.
Pajero and Fortuner are real nice but a little out of reach for now.
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:12   #5

Originally Posted by abhayshanu View Post
My dad's first priority is the innova due to the toyota badge, but i personly dont like the looks, its not 'manly' enough for me. I would prefer a car like the safari, endevour, scorpio, some thing like a jeep.
Pajero and Fortuner are real nice but a little out of reach for now.
Unfortunately then Innova and Safari are the only options left out in this case.
I think Endy will be above the budget.
I will suggest Innova as its extremely comfortable and dependable vehicle.
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:25   #6

If innova and safari would be my only options i would like to stick with the qualis as its almost as good as the innova and better than the qualis.
Are there no new SUVs comming in as it isnt so important to buy a new SUV but it is quite important to buy one which we would be satisfied for 5 years.
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:27   #7

Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Unfortunately then Innova and Safari are the only options left out in this case.
I think Endy will be above the budget.
I will suggest Innova as its extremely comfortable and dependable vehicle.
+1 on that. Innova matches one of the best performance on the road.

If you donot want to take it offroad, slush, mud etc. Then innova with good interiors will do a good job for you.
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:45   #8

In the 10-15 Lakh budget you only have the Safari or the Scorpio. Safari has more leg space than the Scorpio. have a TD and decide for yourself.

BTW how much is the Grand Vitara new one?

Last edited by MileCruncher : 2nd September 2009 at 16:50.
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:56   #9

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
BTW how much is the Grand Vitara new one?
16.67 ex-showroom New Delhi & it doesn't meet his criteria of being a Diesel.....
Old 2nd September 2009, 16:59   #10

Originally Posted by suman View Post
16.67 ex-showroom New Delhi & it doesn't meet his criteria of being a Diesel.....
This info was for a colleague of mine who wants a 4x4 SUV but is not able to justify his need.
Old 2nd September 2009, 17:07   #11

go for Safari Dicor VX 2.2 VTT. If you have a good Tata dealer around who you can trust, go for it !!

I own one and the experience has been good.

IMHO Innova is not a SUV !!

If you are genuinely looking for the "SUV" badge : your only option is Safari (for the given price bracket)
Old 2nd September 2009, 17:12   #12

Safari VX only seems to fit in bill. However, you may want to upgrade interiors a bit if it aren't upto your taste..

Though 4x4 will be an icing on cake, but as the car ain't meant to enter slush and mud anyhow you can opt for 2w drive.
Old 2nd September 2009, 20:16   #13

1. Innova
2. Safari
3. Scorpio

that would be my order of choice full options/fully loaded!
Old 2nd September 2009, 20:25   #14

the Scorpio meets your criteria perfectly except for the being able to sleep comfortably factor.

The Xylo has seats configured in a way where you can stretch your legs and lie down, however it's not very macho!(compared to the Scorpio anyway)

You could consider a Gypsy......I dont know if they manufacture those anymore.
Old 2nd September 2009, 20:29   #15

Ok looks, diesel, very comfortable for sleeping - try the Xylo...

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com