Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Technical

Old 8th April 2013, 16:20   #286

Re: All questions for CJ 3B

Dear Soumya - it is better to get stuck with a lumioscent pricol gage rather than getting stuck with a dead engine, so you are indeed lucky! The "old school" Yenkay is still available in one shop in Chor Bazaar oppposite to all the "horns" shops. This shop sells "new" parts and still has an old british motorcycle standing inside it. I got many old school parts from here.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
DHABHAR.BEHRAM is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 10th April 2013, 13:37   #287

As of date there are plenty of yenkay and Pricol gauges available for pretty reasonable prices in the Mayapuri used parts market here in Delhi. In decent working order to add.
Old 12th April 2013, 02:54   #288

Friends, a few days back the prop shaft of my LHD 3B fell off. Negligence (read "cross change karwaana hai yaar.." since 2010) on my part caused the embarrassment and the agony. But I thank God that it happened near my place and I was able to drive the half-km distance gingerly by engaging 4x4 high and, of course, with the power going to the front wheels only.

QUESTIONS:

1) I would be going to Mayapuri (or do I go to Kashmere Gate?) to get the parts needed to fix it. Now, WHAT ALL do I need to get and from WHICH SHOP? Shall I get only the cross-joints (is that the right term?) or the shaft too?
2) I hope that the half-km that I drove in the aforementioned state, would not have caused any sort of damage?
3) What are the things that I need to keep a check on while buying and installing the new parts?

I know that I should have posted the pictures, and I will try to do that by tomorrow or day after, but I thought of sharing before clicking the pics anyway so that help starts pouring in
Old 12th April 2013, 11:57   #289

Originally Posted by Shiraz Shah View Post
QUESTIONS:

1) I would be going to Mayapuri (or do I go to Kashmere Gate?) to get the parts needed to fix it. Now, WHAT ALL do I need to get and from WHICH SHOP? Shall I get only the cross-joints (is that the right term?) or the shaft too?
Ans: I believe your cross (star joint) is damaged, you dont need to either places for the same. Any place where people repair their jeeps (read normal jeeps) can do this job.
2) I hope that the half-km that I drove in the aforementioned state, would not have caused any sort of damage?
Ans: if driven at low speed, it wont do any harm.
3) What are the things that I need to keep a check on while buying and installing the new parts?
ans: Please check alignment of shaft, you need to check you clamps as well. any mechanic with even basic knowledge of Jeep can do this. once everything is fitted back, drive for 2-3 kms in various speed to check vibration, noise from shaft. Thats it
Shiraz Bhai,
Please see my answers highlighted. hope it helps.

Shubhendra Singh
Shubhendra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2013, 12:29   #290

A new cross should be available in Kashmiri gate along with other small fitments. Try there first. Mayapuri parts, specially new products supposidly sold there are to be avoided and installed only in extreme emergency.

The repair work can be done at any reliable mechanic near your residence.
desertfox is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th April 2013, 13:38   #291

Shubhendra, thank you so much brother! Yes, alignment of the shaft is one thing that I am anxious about. I see that the portion where it goes inside (that connects it to the gearbox?) has tilted to one side but I guess it will be come to its original position once the shaft is fitted..

Desertfox (Danish or Shahid? if I have observed correctly) thank you so much and I also felt the same about parts from Mayapuri! Could you please list down the parts that I should procure? I don't want that peculiar scenario where the mechanic tells me "Sir iska 'yeh part' aur aayega"
Old 6th May 2013, 18:26   #292

Jeep Lean

So the CJ used to lean a little to the drivers side. Was taking photos yesterday and noticed that the lean is a bit more pronounced. Like 3/4th to 1 inch.

All questions for CJ 3B-jeeplean.jpg

Was reading on the net and apparently it is apparently a known problem with CJs, partly due to the heavyweight nature of drivers such as myself

There is a solution which involves using a spacer to the leafspring rather than recambering (which will revert back anyway)

Could not understand it fully. Does someone know/Can someone explain.

http://z4.invisionfree.com/CJ3B_Bull...d/ar/t3858.htm

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2278080 (not sure about applicability)

All inputs appreciated
Old 7th May 2013, 16:04   #293

Re: Jeep Lean

Originally Posted by genesis View Post
So the CJ used to lean a little to the drivers side. Was taking photos yesterday and noticed that the lean is a bit more pronounced. Like 3/4th to 1 inch.

Attachment 1081400

Was reading on the net and apparently it is apparently a known problem with CJs, partly due to the heavyweight nature of drivers such as myself

There is a solution which involves using a spacer to the leafspring rather than recambering (which will revert back anyway)

Could not understand it fully. Does someone know/Can someone explain.

http://z4.invisionfree.com/CJ3B_Bull...d/ar/t3858.htm

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2278080 (not sure about applicability)

All inputs appreciated
So to answer half my own question:

A spacer (roughly 1 inch) goes between the leaf spring and the axle tube on the side that appears raised more.

The other half question which still needs an answer:

If the front left (facing the jeep) is leaning, as shown in the picture. What would be the right place to put the spacer. The front right leaf spring or the rear right leaf spring (diagonal to the front left) ?
Old 7th May 2013, 19:47   #294

On a stock vehicle you need to put the spacer on the side opposite to the sagging side. With a spring over, you need to put it on the same side, ie. the sagging side.
Old 11th May 2013, 10:17   #295

Dear Soumya - we had done a very detailed study in Kandivli under the guidance of my mentor Mr.Vijay Dandge. Variability on load v/s deflection curve of the leaf springs itself as use progresses is the root cause. Spacers will spoil the setup.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 11th May 2013, 10:24   #296

Originally Posted by DHABHAR.BEHRAM View Post
Dear Soumya - we had done a very detailed study in Kandivli under the guidance of my mentor Mr.Vijay Dandge. Variability on load v/s deflection curve of the leaf springs itself as use progresses is the root cause. Spacers will spoil the setup.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar

Thanks for the input Behram jee.
So what is the way to straighten this mini leaning tower of pisa?

Rearch the patas (and risk breaking them) or get new ones at some point in time.
Old 11th May 2013, 11:38   #297

Dear Soumya - look for obvious deficiencies and correct as required. CJ3Bs as OE had torsional bush design with dry assembly. Aftermarket fits all sorts of nonsense with metallic bushes with grease nipples etc which needs to be undone and thrown out. First start by trying to buy a set of OE bushes and OE shackle plates (U section, not just a plate). Then inspect the shock absorbers. If one of them has "jammed", then the tower of Pisa will lean to the opposite side. After both these options are explored, look at the springs and confirm that some after market "pattas" are not inserted! OE spring assembly life is around 60000 kms under normal use. This issue is continuing for a very long time.

Best regards,

Behram Dhabhar
Old 11th May 2013, 20:27   #298

Re: Replacement Radiator

What would be a good 4 core replacement radiator for the CJ?

Would something like what fits in a 540 work or would it be too big and the fan shroud/cowl will have trouble being refitted back?

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/4x4-ve...ml#post2614838
Soumya - how've you been my friend?

Get in touch with Rajesh bhai at Lawrence radiators - if the Jeep is drivable, just drive it over to his compound and have his guys take a look at it - I've just done this very recently to my 550, and it's working!
Old 11th May 2013, 20:38   #299

Re: Replacement Radiator

Originally Posted by lugnut View Post
Soumya - how've you been my friend?

Get in touch with Rajesh bhai at Lawrence radiators - if the Jeep is drivable, just drive it over to his compound and have his guys take a look at it - I've just done this very recently to my 550, and it's working!
Thanks. Radiator was fixed a long time ago. Just needed some real good flushing and soldering. Apparently it was a four core and i was a ignoramus!

Jeep is very much drivable and many changes since then
Old 30th March 2014, 09:31   #300

Got tired of getting stuck in muddy/watery obstacles while classics, 550s and even gypsy's zoomed through.

Gave in to letting go of 'originality' and installed a contact less electronic ignition system which gets rid of the distributor breaker and point system.

Procured from Kiran Bhide of Autoescorts (Kolhapur). Have installed it a while ago but finally got to cleaning up the arrangement. Not done water fording yet

Mr Bhide used to make these for Maruti 800's, RD 350s and enfields many moons ago and the passion still shows. Impeccable customer service.

Here are some pics of the install.

The spark plug wires are mine. The kit is designed to be installed on the engine block and has shorter wires.
The spark plug wire separators are anodised aluminium ones, procured from Aliexpress.

All questions for CJ 3B-ignition2.jpg

All questions for CJ 3B-ignition3.jpg

There is a marked feel of increase in power (placebo or not I dont know)

Now waiting for the rains!
genesis is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com