Team-BHP > 4x4 & Off-Roading > 4x4 Vehicles

Old 29th December 2010, 23:15   #481
DKG

Re: Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!

Does any one know when the Thar gets released in Hyderabad in Jan?
Old 29th December 2010, 23:47   #482

Originally Posted by DKG View Post
Deepak Saab, I just spoke today evening to the Automotive fellows and they said Jan 1st week. Will speak to Joydeep and confirm to you. Would be great if you and Fazal can take the launch car for decent offroading so that the SE cannot do false claims to subsequent customers

Old 30th December 2010, 00:00   #483
DKG

Originally Posted by MileCruncher View Post
I just spoke today evening to the Automotive fellows and they said Jan 1st week.
We can go together and check it out when you have the time
Old 30th December 2010, 00:11   #484

So make yourself the dream offroaders from parts. Just do it, I'll help you by putting you onto this guy who is pretty confident of getting us new parts.
So if one were to ask (purely from an academic point of view at this point, unfortunately) how much would one of these DIY jeeps cost as compared to the fully built Thar? And wouldn't one have to already have a Jeep, duly registered with RTO, to get away with making one of your own? And aren't even those supposed to have chassis numbers etc?

OK, suppose we don't even go there. Suppose we go ahead and build a jeep from all these parts. Now from what I understand, one can get 'kits' for vehicles and even small aeroplanes abroad for you to assemble on your own, at much lower cost than if one were to buy a branded one (I guess you save on all the advertising, marketing, assembly line labour costs etc that a manufacturer would add). So does something like that apply here?

How much would a chassis+engine+tub+Gearbox+transmission+seats+elec tricals+other basic stuff work out to, if some BHPian were to take you up on your kind offer and actually land up at your doorstep? (Don't worry, I am not that BHPian, at least for the foreseeable future!)
Old 30th December 2010, 01:04   #485

Found this link (Picasa Web Albums - rinaldo valvo - Mahindra Thar) online of an album of ~ 160 pics of the international Thar.

Seems to have a lot of the stuff guys here are debating about like the hardtop, AC, better interiors, winch etc.

Attached some pics, but check out the link for all the pics.
Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-varie20076.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-varie20040.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-varie20046.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-varie20032.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-varie20025.jpg  

Mahindra Thar Launch on 21st December 2010. Update: Price on Page 2!-thar20scapottata20011.jpg  

Old 30th December 2010, 01:16   #486

We can go together and check it out when you have the time
Anytime Sir! Let me coordinate and call you ina day or two.

P.S:I Love the HT. Want this!

Last edited by MileCruncher : 30th December 2010 at 01:21.
Old 30th December 2010, 01:26   #487

Originally Posted by anekho View Post
Found this link (Picasa Web Albums - rinaldo valvo - Mahindra Thar) online of an album of ~ 160 pics of the international Thar.

Seems to have a lot of the stuff guys here are debating about like the hardtop, AC, better interiors, winch etc.

Attached some pics, but check out the link for all the pics.
Thanks. This is what I was looking for.

Seeing this makes me wonder what all the hoopla and backslapping going around for M&M is. Months and months (years?) of speculation and discussions for what? A LHD to RHD conversion, and deleting A/C, hardtop and making the interior look more agrarian?

Even the RHD conversion sounds like a botched job with the offset driving position some are complaining about. There are several mechanics in the Gulf that can ENGINEER a better job than this.

I just dont get it
Old 30th December 2010, 06:47   #488

Good Morning Deepak
28th January 2011. With the 2011 batch.
Old 30th December 2010, 06:58   #489
DKG

Originally Posted by Xinger View Post
how much would one of these DIY jeeps cost as compared to the fully built Thar?
It won't be cheap. The reason why I suggested is you then get to choose the components you want. Besides you have all the other issues you rightly mentioned

The only occasion when you do this cheap is when you select parts that are obsolete but new and are getting it for 40% of MRP.

@Fazal thanks !
Old 30th December 2010, 08:55   #490

Spike/Behram sir,

What is the spline count in the front and rear diffs? Please provide for both Mdi and Crde versions.

The ARB Lockers on both front and rear is DROOOL stuff, but will need at least 1.25Lacs for that setup for 2 air lockers..!! Add another 50K for a GOOD winch...!!

M&M - will putting stuff like lockers and a winch, snorkel, shackle lift, void warranty?
Old 30th December 2010, 09:01   #491
AWD

The bonnet to roof gap is huge, bonnet is low & the roof is very high, as evident from pics. This is a trademark of old vehicles, Sumo, Safari also have the same design element. To me this looks awful.

Fazal Ji, when is it launching in Haryana, Punjab, chd?
Old 30th December 2010, 09:22   #492

Originally Posted by AWD View Post
Fazal Ji, when is it launching in Haryana, Punjab, chd?
AWD,
No idea about it. Made inquiries about Hyderabad launch.
Ask Vinod Nookala.
Old 30th December 2010, 10:18   #493

Just to update those interested - costing and design for the sectional HT is complete.

The HT will come in 6 sections -
1) frame
2) removable front cabin section
3) removable rear cabin section
4) removable rear window section - this will be just a frame to hold glass/clear plastic
5 & 6) removable side sections - also will be just a frame to hold glass/clear plastic.

Bad news is that making the molds and parts will not be make cost sense unless we make at least 80 of them.

Also, have asked a couple of times in my posts - but no response from any M&M folks (Spike/Vinod/DB) - will installing a custom HT void any warranties from Mahindra?

Manas
Old 30th December 2010, 10:22   #494

Originally Posted by manasm View Post
Just to update those interested - costing and design for the sectional HT is complete.
Please post the final design drawings/renderings.

Remember, apart from being sturdy/leakproof/well-fitting etc it has to be better looking than the one in the pics above for enough people to be interested!
Old 30th December 2010, 10:34   #495

Originally Posted by Xinger View Post
Please post the final design drawings/renderings.

Remember, apart from being sturdy/leakproof/well-fitting etc it has to be better looking than the one in the pics above for enough people to be interested!
@Xinger - will post the drawings in the new year...for now look at an earlier post of mine in the thread and you will see what look and design we have modeled ours on.

well-fitting and sturdy design is what we think we have done and as far as leak proof - once we get the first prototype made, we plan to test. Right now though, unless we hear from someone at M&M about warranty, we are at a standstill as it costs too much for just a one off.