Old 10th December 2007, 18:45   #1096

Originally Posted by amit_sound View Post
SQL from ported?? Wont a sealed do a better job for SQL.

Else it seems, you planning for loud SQ
Who said ported done not mean SQ ?

Anyways I am doing something new this time. Something part ported and some part sealed.
Old 10th December 2007, 18:46   #1097

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Car upgrade? Yeh kya LBM paaji? Putting it in your new E Class?

But good choice. Because this would have caused your Swift to sag from behind.
Yaar E-class to karab karne ka man nahi kar raha hai.

That is for sure...
Old 10th December 2007, 18:49   #1098

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Who said ported done not mean SQ ?
I am just saying that sealed offers better SQ than ported....Read it a lot of places as sealed enclosures offer better control over the woofers.

Anyways I am doing something new this time. Something part ported and some part sealed.
Sound interesting!!
Old 10th December 2007, 18:53   #1099

Yaar E-class to karab karne ka man nahi kar raha hai.

That is for sure...
Mat yaar, mat kar.....for heaven sakes, it a Merc, and that too E Class.

Daya karo, us pey and just enjoy the luxury that it has to offer.
Old 10th December 2007, 18:56   #1100

Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Oye @iraghava, why don't you pay a visit to LBM's workshop tonight and write a sneak preview to relieve some pressure?
Arrey kyunki sirji I already know what's happening!! You wanna know too??

Originally Posted by ScarySkulls View Post
If the car is the maroon Alto, then that's Harpreet (not Harbir)
Yes, my apologies. His name is Harprit.

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Car upgrade? Yeh kya LBM paaji? Putting it in your new E Class?

But good choice. Because this would have caused your Swift to sag from behind.
Old 10th December 2007, 19:03   #1101

I am just saying that sealed offers better SQ than ported....Read it a lot of places as sealed enclosures offer better control over the woofers.
I don't agree here.

Many High end brands use a ported enclosure. Are they not meant for SQ ?
Old 10th December 2007, 20:32   #1102

The MDF is bought. This time I though of putting a 1 inch instead of the regular 0.75 inch. Will be posting the box building pics very soon.
Old 10th December 2007, 20:44   #1103

Something part ported and some part sealed.
4th order band pass is half sealed half ported :-); Stuffed port (what I call aperiodic) and Transmission line offer alignments that are between sealed and ported. LBM there are quite a few alignments and/or box types that fit that description.

I am just saying that sealed offers better SQ than ported....
It depends on theT/S specs of the drivers. Most high Qts drivers work better in the sealed or aperidoic (lossy sealed) box but if the specs suit a ported box the ported box can offer SQ too.

The MDF is bought. This time I though of putting a 1 inch instead of the regular 0.75 inch..
keep in mind that heavier wood also stores more energy. what you are looking for is stiffness and not weight. I would use a laminate of MDF, FRP and Marine grade Ply. say 2 layers of 4mm MDF, 2 layers of 6mm ply and 2 layers of 3mm FRP = 26mm but heck of a lot stiffer and a bit lighter too.

another way to gain stiffness is to bend the wood a bit to prestreess it. Prestressed materials are stiffer than they unstrssed counterparts.

lastly if you are into carpentry you can build a matrixed box a la B&W.
Old 10th December 2007, 20:49   #1104

Mai keya LBM-pra-ji, are you by any chance making a higher-order (like bandpass) box with 2 subs, one in sealed and the other vented to outside (or something like that; Navin has a name for it)???

PS: Oops, didn't see Navin's post come in earlier; anyhow, that's what I was trying to get at!!!

Last edited by DerAlte : 10th December 2007 at 20:52.
Old 10th December 2007, 20:53   #1105

Mai keya LBM-pra-ji, are you by any chance making a higher-order (like bandpass) box with 2 subs, one in sealed and the other vented to outside (or something like that; Navin has a name for it)???!!!
6th order is when both parts are vented.
Old 10th December 2007, 22:47   #1106

Originally Posted by navin View Post
4th order band pass is half sealed half ported :-); Stuffed port (what I call aperiodic) and Transmission line offer alignments that are between sealed and ported. LBM there are quite a few alignments and/or box types that fit that description.

It depends on theT/S specs of the drivers. Most high Qts drivers work better in the sealed or aperidoic (lossy sealed) box but if the specs suit a ported box the ported box can offer SQ too.

keep in mind that heavier wood also stores more energy. what you are looking for is stiffness and not weight. I would use a laminate of MDF, FRP and Marine grade Ply. say 2 layers of 4mm MDF, 2 layers of 6mm ply and 2 layers of 3mm FRP = 26mm but heck of a lot stiffer and a bit lighter too.

another way to gain stiffness is to bend the wood a bit to prestreess it. Prestressed materials are stiffer than they unstrssed counterparts.

lastly if you are into carpentry you can build a matrixed box a la B&W.
Ya sure but mine will be a plain ported or the bass-reflex one. For the bandpass or TL i would require bigger boot which I don't have.

4th order band pass..

6th order band pass

The driver is having QTS of less than .5 so I think it is good for ported.

Yes sir If the box is not stiff enough it will absorb the sound and the final output will be hampered. Also I am thinking of bracing the enclosure from inside to give added strength.

Mai keya LBM-pra-ji, are you by any chance making a higher-order (like bandpass) box with 2 subs, one in sealed and the other vented to outside (or something like that; Navin has a name for it)???

PS: Oops, didn't see Navin's post come in earlier; anyhow, that's what I was trying to get at!!!
Nahi sir ji simple ported one right now.

Last edited by navin : 11th December 2007 at 09:53.
Old 11th December 2007, 09:54   #1107

The driver is having QTS of less than .5 so I think it is good for ported..
what is the Qts and EBP ratio?

For ported I would think you would need Qts less than 0.35.
Old 11th December 2007, 10:41   #1108

what is the Qts and EBP ratio?

For ported I would think you would need Qts less than 0.35.
SubwooferTools.com [insert slogan here]

the Qts is .4 and the EBP is 48.7 And I think it is good enough for a ported box.
Old 11th December 2007, 13:02   #1109

the Qts is .4 and the EBP is 48.7 And I think it is good enough for a ported box.
it is marginal for a ported box. I'd go with a sealed box with those specs.

I would prefer a low Qes (hence Qts) and higher EBP (70+) to consider ported. in fact most of the ported subs i have built had Qes (hence Qts) sub 0.3 and EBP greater than 100.

An old article for car audio subwoofers.
How to buy a Subwoofer
Old 11th December 2007, 22:53   #1110

it is marginal for a ported box. I'd go with a sealed box with those specs.

I would prefer a low Qes (hence Qts) and higher EBP (70+) to consider ported. in fact most of the ported subs i have built had Qes (hence Qts) sub 0.3 and EBP greater than 100.

An old article for car audio subwoofers.
How to buy a Subwoofer
Navin Ji my main priority is SQL so I think ported is the way to go. And wait for few day you will defiantly agree with me.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com