Old 2nd February 2007, 14:30   #61

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Nice enclosure. Nice subwoofer too lol.
I was going to parint the screw heads black but my son liked the contrast so i left it. The car can still accomodate 2 32" bags, 2 carry one bags (with wheels), and assorted smaller bags.

The sub is a 12". Due to a NDA I cant/wont name the brand or model. the 15" feel was untinded. I was experimenting with using a 6mm thick MS ring around the woofer (you can see the step if you look closely) as this was my first attempt at the FRP-Ply-FRP sandwich and I was afraid it might not be stiff enough.

My current lifestyle dictates that there be enough room in the car for my family hence I now tend towards designs and ideas that can reduce box size.

Last edited by navin : 2nd February 2007 at 14:36.
Old 2nd February 2007, 14:34   #62

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
Is it a custom job or does it come that way from Infinity? If it comes with two front-firing drivers as stock (from the factory), I guess it would be the first such sub-in-a-box solution in the market in India?
Not a custom job. A factory made twin 12" assault front firing bass reflex enclosure (I repeat) to die for.
Let's put it this way hydra. 07 will be a very interesting year for Infinity.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 2nd February 2007 at 14:36.
Old 2nd February 2007, 14:42   #63

Not a custom job. A factory made twin 12" assault front firing bass reflex enclosure (I repeat) to die for.
DB(L) Trouble huh? Now you've really got me interested.
Old 2nd February 2007, 14:56   #64

Hmmm.... Sam I would really like to see this!! Maybe when I hit the Lottery Jackpot I'll buy one for my car alongwith a wholesale amount of damping
Old 2nd February 2007, 15:22   #65

Originally Posted by hydrashok View Post
DB(L) Trouble huh? Now you've really got me interested.
Originally Posted by iraghava View Post
Hmmm.... Sam I would really like to see this!!
*cough cough*

I only said the speakers were protos na. When did I say that the woofer enclosure was a proto? I just said that it's not yet released in India. You want to see the woofer I am putting in my verna?

See. And don't ask me specs and price please. I don't know and I wont say.
And don't faint, please. lol

Old 2nd February 2007, 15:29   #66

I thought Infinity was the premium brand? These look like they took their design cues from the Sony Xplode series.

***Don't flame me, I know not what I speaketh***
Old 2nd February 2007, 15:49   #67

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
Sony Xplode!!!

I know not what I speaketh
OK RT I'll agree with you there. Even though that was a low shot. Anyways it's a matter of personal choice. I've seen it in person and it's beautiful.

Anyways, here's another view.

Disclaimer: This is purely product info. This product is not for sale and even if it was, we won't sell it to Team-BHPians.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 2nd February 2007 at 15:56. Reason: forgot to put the picture
Old 2nd February 2007, 15:49   #68

Damn!!! Now I REALLY gotta hear this

And RT shut up, it looks just fine!
Old 2nd February 2007, 16:37   #69

no offence to anyoen or any brand..but the SUB is quite scary looking .....

p.s ive owned a pair of INFinites before..so nuthign personal in my statement....
Old 2nd February 2007, 16:38   #70

umm... now i know why Sam likes it so much... Sam, any topless pics? would like to see "choli ke peeche kya hai" Do they light up? and I'm assuming the jeweled Infinity logo in the centre lights up as well...
Old 2nd February 2007, 16:42   #71

Originally Posted by gunbir View Post
Do they light up? and I'm assuming the jeweled Infinity logo in the centre lights up as well...
Yes they have white light around the rim of the subs. No the logo does not light up. In fact the light is very very subtle.

P.S. These are Reference series FYI and this one is also there

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 2nd February 2007 at 16:51.
Old 2nd February 2007, 17:31   #72

No offence meant, Sam.. it's just my personal opinion, it looks like a mini compo speaker in the picture! I think the CS series enclosed sub looks better than this, clean driver, nice classic enclosure. I'm sure, as you mention, it looks more handsome in person. Is that molded silver section plastic?
Old 2nd February 2007, 17:36   #73

well honestly it IS a matter of personal taste. One man's meat and all that. The picture does no justice. Many LOVE the way it looks. The feedback we have recieved is very encouraging.

No - why should I take offence at your view? I didn't design it.
And I really really like it, wait till you see it in my car and when you HEAR it. Woohoo!

The silver section is reinforced ABS and metal grill.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 2nd February 2007 at 17:38.
Old 2nd February 2007, 18:09   #74

That's one angry looking sub! It is a little over designed IMHO, but I guess it will look better in person, in the boot of a car. That's when we'll get a better reference of the actual dimensions.

The second pic looks better and does more justice, as it is not so close up to the enclosure. As they are 12"s, this must be a pretty big enclosure, something like that dual bandpass thing of JBL?
Old 2nd February 2007, 18:23   #75

Sorry to interrupt. I am wishing to see more of Sam's Verna and the new ICE before this thread is hijacked by Infinity.