Old 19th March 2008, 08:19   #271

I can't believe that this is a DIY job. Well done Bhagwan. I will get in touch with you when I am in Bombay to take a demo of all your cars if you don't mind .
Old 19th March 2008, 08:49   #272

It shall be my pleasure !!

Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
I can't believe that this is a DIY job. Well done Bhagwan. I will get in touch with you when I am in Bombay to take a demo of all your cars if you don't mind .
Hello MF !

It shall be my pleasure;

Please do drop by. It would be nice to get feed backs.

The strange part is that the car with the simplest and cheapest gear seems to be the 'cleanest' sounding. B & T was there to witness it. Maybe he will comment.....

I will post detailed pictures today.

I need to thank my installer - Balu - 4 Seasons for all their support.

I shall write a proper report with pictures to thank.

This is the 1st time I am excited after an install. More iften than not, in all my previous jobs, the result has not 'tickled' me. This one seems 'special'
That Isobarik - Clamp Shell - is in a different league; Has to be heard. LBM this one is for you !!!
Old 19th March 2008, 09:38   #273

Originally Posted by BHAGWAN View Post
The strange part is that the car with the simplest and cheapest gear seems to be the 'cleanest' sounding.
This is almost always the case. The shortest path often sounds best.

Take any "Juggad" install. Remove the Equalliser, Boss capacitors, ensure all the screws are damped (rubber grommets) and tightened, use common sense locations fo the tweeter (you still wont get imaging on the lines of a home audio install) etc... and voila the sound improves.

There was atleast one friend who told me that one day his car went for servicing. When he got teh car back he found that the car sounded better. Later he was folling around with the HU and found out that while the car was being serviced they had "reset" the HU (they must have removed the battery) and his EQ setting were gone. But the car sounded better right? So what does my friend do? He dials in the EQ settings he previously had!! BOOM macha do BOOM.
Old 19th March 2008, 09:48   #274

Originally Posted by navin View Post
There was atleast one friend who told me that one day his car went for servicing. When he got teh car back he found that the car sounded better. Later he was folling around with the HU and found out that while the car was being serviced they had "reset" the HU (they must have removed the battery) and his EQ setting were gone. But the car sounded better right? So what does my friend do? He dials in the EQ settings he previously had!! BOOM macha do BOOM.

Quite off topic post from me here. When my brother came down after completing his contract on ship he demoed Illusion Audio EL6.1 components in my car. I was running flat with HPF at 80Hz on the Alpine 9830. All other ancillary on the HU was off (like MX, etc.). He was disappointed saying I wasted my money on buying stupid equipment and I don't know anything about audio etc. I quietly apologized and said next time I will try to get something better. We went on to audition setup in his Getz which has an Alpine 9830 HU with some Sony components, Sony 222 amp, Pioneer 2-ch driving a Pioneer sub. He started cribbing saying his audio is not sounding like before and someone messed with the settings on his HU. Here's what he did:

- Turn on Media Expander.
- Set preset EQ to Hip-Hop.
- Raised subwoofer gain to 12 something on the HU.
- And a few more changes, I wanted to run out of the car.
- Next he turned up the volume, stood 10 feet outside the car and said "No punch dude"
- Got inside increased subwoofer gains to 15 I guess and played a bass heavy house number.
- Stood outside the car again and said "Now its coming on". How does it sound? I just nodded my head.

This was not the first time I was seeing someone tuning a car audio system by standing outside and hearing the bass. What happens inside is not of any importance. A friend of mine in Bombay who has a Hyundai Accent also tunes up his system in a similar way but he's lucky to have not lost his remote control. Saves him trouble of getting out of the car and getting inside to change settings on the HU.. He stands behind the car and tunes up his system to be heard outside.

Boom chik boom chik boom chik.... (chick ran away).

Last edited by moralfibre : 19th March 2008 at 09:50.
Old 19th March 2008, 09:58   #275

MF, what say we send all all these "miscreants" to Mr. "B". :-)
Old 19th March 2008, 11:05   #276

LBM this one is for you !!!
Thanks GOD ji would love to audition the same when I come to Bombay. Had a chat with Ajay Bhai yesterday he said the sub section is playing fantastically good. Congrats.

What is your take on the front stage till now ? How is the STEG- Dyna combo playing ?
Old 19th March 2008, 11:20   #277

Too early to comment !!!

Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
What is your take on the front stage till now ? How is the STEG- Dyna combo playing ?
Hello LBM !
News travels fast; I must say.

You know, my exposure to car audio is rather limited [when compared to home audio]; I truly am a 'newbie' !!! However, this damn sub woofer that has been made is 1 step short of a miracle.
It is a mid level Illusion Leccent IM 12 & it has kicked 2 of my Carbons - ND 12 - out of the window. Not the SLP. Just the sheer quality & SPEED of the bass is mad. Trust me, I have never heard bass this fast in a car before !!!! Tall Statement - I know. I have not heard enough.

About the Steg & Dynaudio.
Well that is a different chapter. I still need to get the tweeter position 'right' I did the time alignment last night & confirmed my settings on the computer on i-personalize [alpine site] & I was off my .1. Not much actually.

X-Overs are still not 'frozen' Still working on 80 Hzs - 2nd order or 100 Hzs - 1st order. Not so sure what I will use.
Even for the subs not sure if I want to use 80 Hzs @ 2nd order or 100 Hzs @ 3rd order. Will have to do extensive listening & then decide.

The Stegs sure have enough power to drive the 240's
More than enogh & still to spare.

Will post pictures in 2 hours. Have to go and click them.
Old 19th March 2008, 12:25   #278

Pictures

I have tried to click some snaps.

Not come too good - too much glare, but should be OK to see;
I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24-ispbarik-clamp-shell-load-sub-woofer-i10-illusion-leccent-2008-1.jpg  

I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24-ispbarik-clamp-shell-load-sub-woofer-i10-illusion-leccent-2008-2.jpg  

I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24-dynaudio-tweetr-custom-housing-assembled-installed-i10-april-2008-1.jpg  

I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24-dynaudio-tweetr-custom-housing-assembled-installed-i10-april-2008-2.jpg  

I10 - ICE Installed - Opinions and Reviews appreciated see page 24-dynaudio-tweetr-custom-housing-assembled-installed-i10-april-2008-4.jpg  

Old 19th March 2008, 12:40   #279

Hi God ji,is this setup an isobrik with subs facing eachother in a common box???? really loved the DIY.. it gives alot of confidence after seeing such brilliant DIY work..very well done... cheers...

Ramie

EDIT:ohh didn't read in the pic that its an isobrik setup..lolz

Last edited by ramie2400 : 19th March 2008 at 12:43.
Old 19th March 2008, 12:47   #280

B,

dont tell me you are going to leave teh tweeters open like that. besides do the stegs have enough room to breathe?
Old 19th March 2008, 13:20   #281

Originally Posted by navin View Post
dont tell me you are going to leave teh tweeters open like that.
besides do the stegs have enough room to breathe?
Sir,

I had a custom housing made for the tweeters;
Yes, they will sit where I have shown them. The Angles may change - depends on the sound. Will keep changing & experimenting.

The Stegs - as of now - seem to have a long way to go.
I have put them 3 o'clock position & 5 is max power. This is for the components.

For the Subs, they are @ 2 o'clock. The Luccents cannot handle too much power. Specifications are best answered by B & T along with LBM. Gentlemen please do oblige.

Much appreciate it.

Old 19th March 2008, 13:29   #282

Originally Posted by ramie2400 View Post
Hi God ji, is this setup an isobrik with subs facing eachother in a common box???? really loved the DIY.. it gives alot of confidence after seeing such brilliant DIY work..very well done... cheers...
Yes Sir;

This is an Isobarik - Clamp Shell Load - bass alignment.
The Inside woofer is in -ve Phase & the Outside woofer is in +ve Phase.

The enclosure was designed by me, built by my carpenter @ my office as per my spec and suggestion. 19mm MDH [good quality] & 19mm Marine Ply was used. It has no parrellell walls & it is a box in a box design. The sides are cement rcc / concrete filled & linned with damping material. Loosly filled with Recron.
The Connection to the Power Amp is in 'bridged 2 ohm' [I think]
or I may be wrong. Maybe Bridged 4 ohm. B & T please do clarify.
This Luccent IM 12 is a 4 ohm woofer ? I think it is a 4 ohm woofer. Hence, it is connected in bridged 2 ohm config.

I recommend & suggest this to all forum members.
Please do not buy 'ready made' boom boxes [that is what they are called].
Please do desugn an enclosure & get it built to spec.
Check the woofers optimum perameter TSP and then decide the kind of enclosre that will suit your need.

Old 19th March 2008, 14:14   #283

Tweeter placement looks good to me. As it is on axis to the listener on the opposite seat.
Old 19th March 2008, 14:19   #284

Spot on !

Tweeter placement looks good to me. As it is on axis to the listener on the opposite seat.
You are perfect; Left tweeter fires @ driver & Right Tweeter is on axis to co-driver.
Old 19th March 2008, 14:36   #285

Wow, you can tell just by looking...

You are perfect; Left tweeter fires @ driver & Right Tweeter is on axis to co-driver.
Wonderful.

Dear "B" Almighty, is the tweeter blending well in this position. I am but a mere mortal but I would like to know, so do forgive me if this is a stupid question.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com