Old 24th December 2008, 13:21   #1

Which 5 channel Amplifier?

Hi, please advise me on availability of 5 channel amplifiers in India or good source to import from USA in this holiday offers if any. i need one for a standard setup. about 65w rms for the 4 channels and 300w rms for the sub. Dont want to go for two amplifiers (thought about having two kenwoods 8410 for 10k) dose any of them have all connections in one side like sony zm554zr, then it will go below my seat and connections will be safe from kicks of rear passengers. expected price of 15k.
Old 24th December 2008, 13:50   #2

I dont think any 5 channel amps are available for 15k.You would have to substantially increase the budget. ( would cost you at least 30-40K IMO )
Brands available in India which have 5 ch amplifiers to my knowledge are:
Genesis
Audison
JBL
Old 24th December 2008, 15:07   #3

what EXACTLY do you need a 5 channel amp for? do you wish to have a 5.1 setup?
Old 24th December 2008, 15:16   #4

Its for 4 speakers +1 subwoofer setup. How is crunch 5000.5 or hifionics zxi 8008 for 15200?
Old 24th December 2008, 15:19   #5

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
most car audio (Alpine has a few exceptions) 5 ch. amps are meant to drive 1 sub + 4 speakers so usually have 1 ch prodcing about 150W and 4 ch. producing about 50W. One of the best in this breed was the Audison Srx, followed by the Alpine 450 and Infinity 5350. All exceed 20K.
Old 24th December 2008, 15:21   #6

i asked cos i saw an alpine 50*5 for less than 5000 rupees on crutchfield!
Old 24th December 2008, 15:28   #7

That particular alpine unit (MRA-F350 5-channel amplifier) needs compatible alpine navigation system to use it.
Old 24th December 2008, 16:14   #8

no wonder its selling for peanuts
Old 24th December 2008, 16:16   #9

WoofersEtc.com - The Online Car Audio Super Store, The largest selection at the lowest prices! Multi-Channel

Take your pick
Old 24th December 2008, 16:17   #10

Originally Posted by navin View Post
One of the best in this breed was the Audison Srx, followed by the Alpine 450 and Infinity 5350. All exceed 20K.
Not my Genny? Oh, you cruel man!

Last edited by vikram18 : 24th December 2008 at 16:33.
Old 24th December 2008, 16:27   #11

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
Ahem! The price-range that Navin was talking about was way below the range of your Genny. We'll use a TRU S65 (when it becomes available) to stare your Genny down
Old 24th December 2008, 16:27   #12

There are plenty of 5ch amps out there. Some are the "4.1" variety, designed to run four speakers and a sub, and then you have the "5" channel variety which are meant to run only four speakers and a center channel, with another amp for the sub section. Then there are some "5.1" amps that will do all 5ch (Front, Rear, Center) and a sub.

Multichannel amps are a great way to save space and avoid clutter. But they aren't very popular in India due to the fact that most people want "monoblock bass"!

Around 15K you can get the JBL GTO 755.6 (not sure about the model) 6ch amp in grey. I think its 75x4 + 85 x 2 or something like that.

Originally Posted by gigy View Post
That particular alpine unit (MRA-F350 5-channel amplifier) needs compatible alpine navigation system to use it.
Nope, it doesn't.

Last edited by gunbir : 24th December 2008 at 16:29.
Old 24th December 2008, 16:47   #13

There is also a JBL GTO5355. This is a 5 channel amp - 75Wx4 + 360W RMS at 2ohm. Not sure of the price though.
Old 24th December 2008, 17:14   #14

I would also be very interested in a 5 channel.
Old 24th December 2008, 18:38   #15

Originally Posted by frankmehta View Post
5-channel does not mean 5.1 or surround. Commonly, these are hybrid amplifiers with a 4-ch Class AB section for speakers and a Class D mono section for the subwoofer(s), all built into one chassis.

Originally Posted by vikram18 View Post
20 hajaar ka hai kya?