Team-BHP > Commercial Vehicles
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 3rd June 2023, 17:00   #16
BHPian

Re: 3 Trains collide in Odisha | Over 200 dead, 900 injured

Quote:
Originally Posted by condor View Post
Description by the passenger shows a very strong possibility of removal of fish-plate.

(no, I am not an expert. I am sharing what I have come across)
I was of the opinion that fish plates have been shed off long time back with the continuous welded rails or with thermite welding. We used to carry out Non destructive tests on those weldings almost 2 decades ago. At that time, There was a perennial problems of stealing the fish plates and bolts. Though expensive, it was considered the best solution by RITES. Hence the upgrade was suggested.

However, not sure if there was 100% implementation.
NomadSK is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2023, 17:46   #17
BHPian

Salute and heartfelt gratitude towards the people who took it as their own responsibility on how to help the victims and people in need.

According to Chief Secretary Sh Jena, 500 Units of blood was collected overnight.
udzgodfather is offline   (21) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2023, 18:17   #18
Distinguished - BHPian

My condolences to the victims and their families.

I'm glad we are observing a degree of solemness on this thread. If this had been an aviation accident a hundred armchair experts would be expounding on their theories by now.

That's not just 233 dead and 900+ injured but around 1200+ families that have been hit to a greater or smaller degree.

I hope there is an objective enquiry that gets to the root cause so that amends can be made in procedures, checks &balances and systems. I hope we don't end up with another CYA departmental enquiry where the dirt is swept under the carpet.
V.Narayan is offline   (30) Thanks
Old 3rd June 2023, 18:45   #19
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by MyLife_MyCar View Post