Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 26th May 2008, 15:26   #61

I am using charger marketed by DNS Expired and Sanyo 2500 and 2700 MAH battries bought in US as well as from National Market and they all are running in their full strenght even after 3 years .
Instead of battry it depends upon the charger whether its got microprocessor controlled charging system or not as unever charge is the culprit behind spoiled battries.
Old 26th June 2008, 09:40   #62

Originally Posted by akg7091 View Post
Guys, here's a few points to consider when buying NiMh:

1 ) Look at the self discharge fugures ( most important ). Most of us don't realize that fully charged NiMh batteries get drained in a few months and need to be maintained ( i.e regularly charged )
2 ) Try to find out if you can about the actual capacity of the battery if you have a battery analyzer with you. Else, just take a tried and tested battery and compare runtimes in a flashlight
3 ) Ensure that the batteries do not drop below 1 V in storage. This usually causes irreversible damage to the batteries
4 ) Insist on a bill. Most of the popular brands available in shady markets are fakes.
5 ) If you want an always ready battery buy the LSD type which is now easily available like the Uniross Hybrio, Sanyo Eneloop, GP ReCyKo etc
Bloody fabulous info in all your posts in this thread akg7091!!! You sure to add the science factor to buying batteries. I like it.

Originally Posted by akg7091 View Post
Actually it was not me who posted that query.

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR View Post
Mind explaining the "20 days" part? I have a Kodak 662 (or something like that) - not a professional cam. Put in a fully charged battery, and leave for 4 days, and the battery is drained. Dealer says it due to bad batteries.
This is the "LSD" that akg7091 keeps talking about.
LSD - Low Self Discharge.
Read through his posts again and you will see that he recommends certain batterys (eg. enelope) if you want batts that hold their charge for a very long time when unused.
And as everyone has said, your batts probably arent very good.

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
...it has a screw with 6 edges.
If its a perfect hexagon you will need an allen key.
If its more like a star, you will need a torx screwdriver set.

cya
R
Old 5th October 2008, 22:55   #63

have bought uniross batteries and charger for 900 bucks from national market.
batteries:4 (2500mah) + 2(1000mah)
charger:x-press 300 compact charger.

other options available were sanyo and chamelion.
initially was looking to buy chamelion but went with uniross as my friend is also using it from 1 yr without any probs.
Old 7th October 2008, 01:59   #64

EverReady rechargeable batteries are cheap and dependable. If you support Made in India brands.
Old 7th October 2008, 08:44   #65

Originally Posted by 9thsphinx View Post
EverReady .... Made in India brands.
Bought one set of those. They are neither made in India nor good. They are cheap imports rebranded in India. These were supposed to be rated at 2100 MAH.
Old 7th October 2008, 09:22   #66

Sanyo Enelop is the best...

I bought Sanyo Eneloop set of 4 batteries along with quick charger from Singapore Airport while coming back to India for my Canon S5 IS camera.

Earlier batteries were not good and loose their charge in around 40 - 50 shots.
So, I thought to give it a try. Believe me guys once charge Sanyo Enelop lasted 362 shots (to be precise) in mixed mode condition (40 - 45% flash). Charging time for set of 4 batteries is only 3 hours 30 minutes.

It is wonderful battery and I recommend it for any heavy duty operation (Camera etc). But you should get original.

Price of batteries along with charger: US$ 42 at Singapore Changi Airport.

SANYO eneloop | Ready to use Rechargeable Battery - The only battery you will ever need: Home

Last edited by anujmishra : 7th October 2008 at 09:24.
Old 7th October 2008, 12:21   #67

Originally Posted by chetans View Post
have bought uniross batteries and charger for 900 bucks from national market.
batteries:4 (2500mah) + 2(1000mah)
charger:x-press 300 compact charger.

other options available were sanyo and chamelion.
initially was looking to buy chamelion but went with uniross as my friend is also using it from 1 yr without any probs.
i am confused as to how to find out if the cells are charged.
(i am a newbie with using this charger)

i had kept the cells for charging yesterday thinking it will take roughly 9 hrs to charge them as mentioned in the instruction paper. But issue is even after 15 hrs, i am seeing green light on charger.
so what the green light suggest: is it like the charging is going on or does it indicate cells are ready?
the small instruction set/paper that i got with charger doesnt mention anything on this :(
Old 8th October 2008, 01:59   #68

Originally Posted by chetans View Post
...i had kept the cells for charging yesterday thinking it will take roughly 9 hrs to charge them as mentioned in the instruction paper. But issue is even after 15 hrs, i am seeing green light on charger....
Chetan,

Most probably the green light means charged, and a red/orange light will indicate charging.

Its possible your batteries came pre-charged.

Use them for a while (till you are sure you have drained a significant amount of the battery) and then put them back in the charger to see if you get something other than the green light!

cya
R
Old 8th October 2008, 03:37   #69

Mishra ji, chill the pill sarkars.

Eneloop is truly king. 2000 mAH only but almost zero discharge in the device itself so no decay - forget recharges.

The good news is that the set of 2 costs 450 bucks in India itself. You can bargain for a bit lesser. And being eneloop, no one knows, let alone duplicates
Old 8th October 2008, 12:14   #70

Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Chetan,

Most probably the green light means charged, and a red/orange light will indicate charging.

Its possible your batteries came pre-charged.

Use them for a while (till you are sure you have drained a significant amount of the battery) and then put them back in the charger to see if you get something other than the green light!

cya
R
another thing noted was that the cells were getting hot when put on for charging. so i think it came as pre-charged.
Old 16th October 2008, 14:06   #71

I purchased Eveready re-chargeable 2100 mah batteries in May 2008. Last week i charged the batteries and put them in my camera. Within a few snaps, i started to get "battery Low" indication. Surprised, i charged the batteries again and put them in my camera. Just after taking a few snaps, the "battery low" indication has come again. It has never happened before and the battery would last very long.

Yesterday, i put them for charge and after the charger light turned green, i removed the batteries from the charger, put them back and switched it on, to my surprise, the charger light turned red.

Can someone throw some light on this problem.
Old 16th October 2008, 15:15   #72

Your battery is gone buy new one this time try Burma Bazar and there ask for Manoj Bhai Camerawala he keeps geniune Sanyo and Enelops battry. 2700 Mah battry will cost you hardly 200 bucks for a pair.
Old 16th October 2008, 16:35   #73

Originally Posted by Ajaybiz View Post
Your battery is gone buy new one this time try Burma Bazar and there ask for Manoj Bhai Camerawala he keeps geniune Sanyo and Enelops battry. 2700 Mah battry will cost you hardly 200 bucks for a pair.
I had purchased them from Metro Cash & Carry. Very surprising to note that they did not last for even 6 months. Do these carry any warranty? i did not see any on the pack nor on the metrol bill. Any ideas?
Old 23rd October 2008, 14:09   #74

No they dont carry any warranty but my battries are working fine from last 2 years.
Old 23rd October 2008, 16:38   #75

Tough to give a warranty: even the life of the very best batteries can probably be shortened by bad usage.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com