Team-BHP > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software

Old 6th July 2010, 22:51   #6571

I am using the Nokia E52, fantastic business phone...excellent backup, usb charging....got it for around $290.

Note from the Team-BHP Support Team : Please take the time to use proper punctuation as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid...typing...like...this. Thanks.

Also avoid quoting the entire post, specially if its on same page, Thanks

Last edited by Technocrat : 7th July 2010 at 03:20. Reason: Please read the note in your post, thanks
Old 7th July 2010, 09:10   #6572

I use a Onida V120.It's a basic phone.I use it only for making and taking calls.Not even SMS.I don't text.I am not a tech geek.
What i like about it is excellent battery back-up,clear voice quality and it's sleek and sharp looks.
Old 7th July 2010, 13:44   #6573

Picked up a Motorola Milestone a week back. Have most of the toys from the iphone. My first try with android, so hopefully its a good one. Comes with motonav preinstalled and runs android 2.1 out of the box.
One annoying feature it did have was a constant necessity to reboot. It did that to the tune of 10 times a day. This has now vanished with an update.

It's a power hungry beast; I managed to squeeze about 2 days out of the battery before it went dead. Hopefully its going to be updated to 2.2 and get flash working. That would make the surfing the net a lot easier.
Old 7th July 2010, 13:55   #6574

Guys, with Samsung wave am facing reception issue like the Iphone 4 ones. If the bottom portion is covered by hand, the signal bars drop and call calrity suffers..have tested several times. Unfortunately, have not found any silicon/leather cover for the wave at the moment and desperately searching for a cover to aleviate this issue.
Old 7th July 2010, 16:19   #6575

Sanjay - Wave has its signal receptor at the bottom (after the battery). Try holding the phone from the middle portion. Been using the phone for 2 weeks and have had no reception problems whatsoever. Maybe you are clutching the phone right atop the receptor.
Old 8th July 2010, 00:25   #6576

Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
The OVI maps software in about 8 MB - the India maps themselves are 100+ MB. This is the case on my E72, and am guessing it will be the same irrespective of phone model.

Has anyone tried getting the original / packaged car stand for their phone separately? My E72 did not come with one, and am curious to get see how good the original stand is before going after market.
Yeah I got one with the car stand, as I insisted on buying that only! Only the black colour comes with the stand. It's good enough but comes only with the glass console, and not the dashboard one.
Ovi maps are good, but not as good/detailed as google maps. The only problem with google maps is that they are not available offline, and demand GPRS access everytime.
I don't know if it's normal, but the GPS on my E72 sometimes takes unusually long time to start, and sometime doesn't even start even after waiting 15-20 mins (while driving the car). I'm confused if this is the problem with my phone?!
Old 8th July 2010, 04:23   #6577
aZa

Can we change the OS on the WAVE S8500 to andriod ?????? the phone has awesome specs for the price
Old 8th July 2010, 06:59   #6578

Originally Posted by Cesc View Post
Sanjay - Wave has its signal receptor at the bottom (after the battery). Try holding the phone from the middle portion. Been using the phone for 2 weeks and have had no reception problems whatsoever. Maybe you are clutching the phone right atop the receptor.
Thanks...yes I know. It is not a major issue but while on call, sometimes the reception is not clear when the bottom portion is covered (the call itself does not drop)...a silicon/rubber bumper will resolve the issue, but currently it seems no cover/case has come out in the market.
Old 8th July 2010, 08:45   #6579

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post

need a new phone, preferably within 300$. N85 was perfect for me with some sync issues. now it's broken.
no suggestions?

to add, I don't care about music, movies or touch/HD screen. The phone needs to deliver in terms of productivity. Most of my internet shortcuts would be static and it only takes a few clicks to see them.
Old 8th July 2010, 12:29   #6580

Originally Posted by vivekiny2k View Post
no suggestions?

to add, I don't care about music, movies or touch/HD screen. The phone needs to deliver in terms of productivity. Most of my internet shortcuts would be static and it only takes a few clicks to see them.
E52 is the one which came to my mind!! You can also look at E71!!
Old 8th July 2010, 16:05   #6581

Originally Posted by asethi View Post
my E72 ...
You too have an E72. Can you help me.

I am unable to update the firmware of my E72 online. When I attempt it everything goes on smoothly but at the last stage I get a message that "Nokia Software Updater has lost connection with the E72".

Can you guide me.

P.S - Which version of firmware do you have?
Old 8th July 2010, 16:21   #6582

Originally Posted by skdking View Post
I am unable to update the firmware of my E72 online. When I attempt it everything goes on smoothly but at the last stage I get a message that "Nokia Software Updater has lost connection with the E72".
What you need is Navifirm and Phoenix Service Software. Use Navifirm to download the latest firmware applicable for your product code, and use Phoenix Service Software to flash this firmware to your E72.

I have *not* done this, so I can't give you a step-by-step.

This does not use Navifirm, but posting it anyways: Flashing all Nokia phone with Phoenix tutorial
Old 9th July 2010, 00:00   #6583

found a replacement LCD (not OLED) screen for N85, going to try that. eyes are also set on N900, beyond my target though, and reportedly has the same problem of fragile charging port as n85.
Old 9th July 2010, 02:11   #6584

I am getting a phone from US, please suggest which one to get.

The phone should allow me GPS navigation for free like NOKIA 5800 does. I thought of getting Iphone 4G or Xperia but looks like they don't let users navigate for free.

Seems only NOKIA allows free navigation so kindly suggest which one to get. N900 is in my mind, is it good enough? or I should go with basic phones like X6 etc..
Old 9th July 2010, 09:50   #6585

Ranjan, ever thought of androis OS with googlemaps?